Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 17 November 2013
In 1957, at Camp Crystal Lake, a young boy, Jason Voorhees drowned.

As the years go by, two camp counsellors are murdered. Fires and bad water thwarted the camp's reopening.

In 1979, Camp Crystal Lake relaunches with the help of a few new counsellors.

Ignoring the warnings from good old Crazy Ralph, popping up everywhere, the murders start again while a mysterious stalker prowls the area.

Even though the film is in my opinion the epitome of eighties slasher movies and the beginning of one of the best horror franchises ever, its not the most fun movie to watch from the series, unless your one of the lucky ones who saw the movies in chronological order.

Its a shame if you saw Scream before this, because there is a major plot spoiler in the opening scene.

Its a simple set up that has been homaged, ripped off, and copied several times, especially in the eighties with the likes of The Burning, Sleepaway Camp etc, but this has never been bettered.

But what makes it hold up, is the actual plot and narrative, and its very sinister, even by today's standards. And the killers revelation and their rationale, is totally brilliant.

The sequels after part two were very tongue in cheek and virtually threw the sinister parts away, but they were and are still, a lot more fun for a group to watch.

The cast are great and add to the nuance, and even 33 years later, its still one of the best stalk and slash movies ever made.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2015
Sean S. Cunninghams classic finally see's this American's eyes and ears. Ari Lehman IS jason voorhee's a mentally challenged child and mongeloid. this film made "feel" for the real people whom are like jason voorhee's(whom asks to be born like this?).

great story, great beginning for Kevin Bacon. the most shocking part of this film which did make this jaded horror film fanatic's jaw drop was the 100% uncensored killing of Mrs. Voorhee's by the immortal Betsy Palmer(much more pronounced than even that of the American domestic release by paramount <= shame on you!), yet we only got to see Mrs. voorhee's head fly off NOT here "beheading".

Walter Gorney as crazy "death curse" Ralph
SPFX by the "the 1980's icon of horror" Tom Savini = still beloved!
the music in the ending credit can make one feel a false "an all's quite on the water-front" sense of insecurity.
silly = hairstyles by six feet under(?) in westport connecticut.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2012
The year is 'fifties according to how some bloke remembered it'..some religious types gather round a fire strumming a guitar, all is wholesome and homely. Edit in some killer POV shots as some of these holier-than-thou's get their clothes in a rumpus and you have the opener for a standard flick designed to abruptly moisten seats across america-land..

Cut to modern day..loads of pleasant type late teenage 'tykes' decide to help out at the same summer camp.. Most of them meet dreadful ends. Tom Savini is on hand to make sure that their demise is great to look at in the special effects department.

Warner Brothers with this dvd of Friday the 13th (part the first, not a remake and original 'maybe thats all they'll want to see'), in 2003 released an uncut and actually pretty clean picture. Its got good framing and feels just eighties and seventies enough to be nostalgic. The tempo is designed to make you wait for the next neat bod to go half-clad into somewhere alone and get offed.

The dvd has extras of trailer and documentary, but really the appeal is in seeing the quality of film and the uncut Savini work. There is an american Paramount release now with 'deluxe' appended. Ok. Yet they zoomed in 10% on the image and zoomed out 10% with the price. Go figure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 January 2011
Ok, I might be biased towards liking this film as I've been a huge fan of the whole franchise since I saw the original 30 years ago, which has lived with me ever since because of one of the most scariest and unexpected endings in cinematic history. This is the first film I've bought on Blu-Ray and although on my TV the picture looks the same as my upscaling DVD player, the sound quality is slightly superior.

Friday the 13th has always been a slasher flick, the plot lines have always been poor to average, and as with the other films in the franchise, you tend to just fast forward to the killings as a lot of the film is taken up with getting to know the characters and plot, but if they're all going to die anyhow, then why bother.

What I like about this version is the fact that the opening 20 minutes are arguably better than the final 20 minutes. You have to settle down and catch your breath before witnessing Jasons rampage all over again.

And as stated in the title, no other film has captured a death sequence with such chilling accuracy as this. I squirm every time I see it. I kid you not it could have been actual footage. It's the one on the water walkway.

The extras are what you'd expect, yet I've just bought "His name Was Jason", which should satisfy every die hard fan.

I also have this film on DVD. As this is the extended cut, there is more footage, yet, for me this gives the film a diservice as it just extends the dialogue and the film suffers for it. They could easily have put this extra footage in the extras and kept the film tight as in its original form.

My only gripe about the film is the ending. It was sold as being a compilation of parts 1-3, and without spoiling the ending all I would say is " Why the mask?". That was a missed opportunity to have real impact like the original version.

Although the original in todays world might not be as shocking to view as back then, I still recommend it to see how slasher flick horror film franchises began 30 years ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 April 2011
I use to watch this has a child and loved it, twenty years on I still do. It is a little dated in the terms of 'horrors' today but they never had as much to work with as they do today,So you cant complain about some of the special effects. The story line works well and the cast is ok, I never realised as a child Kevin Bacon was in it (mainly due to the fact I never knew who he was) so there will be one familiar face amongst the cast for all you film fans who are dubious of films with no star actors/actresses in them.

The Blu-Ray quality is good along with the sound for a film from 1980.

Special features include:

*Commentary from director Sean S. Cunningham
*Featurette Return to Crystal Lake: The making of Friday The 13th
*A Friday The 13th Reunion: Cast members Betsy Palmer and Adrienne King, Writer Victor Miller and Composer Harry Manfredini reunite.
*Fresh Cuts: New tales from Friday the 13th: New recollections about the making of the film.
*The Man Behind The Legacy: Sean S. Cunningham
*Lost tales from Camp Blood part 1: New vignette styled after the original movie.
*Vintage Featurettes The Friday The 13th Chronicles & Secrets Galore behind the gore.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 July 2016
Not my favourite,parts 2 and 3 were but a decent horror film with a creepy camp by the lake setting and a maniac offing the camp leaders one by one in gruesome fashion.(SPOILERS) 2 things that did frighten me as a kid was jason voorhess mums shrill voice and the boat/dream bit at the end with the deformed jason lunging for the last surviving girl.Definetly a classic and worth checking out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 2013
I remember as a projectionist, running this film through at the cinema where I worked, the thing was it was 4 am in the morning, I knew the cinema was haunted, so I should have known better. I was particularly shocked by the dream sequence at the end, I must have dozed off, so it was a rude awakening when the guy comes out of the water, a bit like the hand coming out of the grave at the end of "Carrie" still sends shivers down my back.
Anyway, seeing the film once again on this great little DVD from Zoverstocks, no less, the place to buy your second hand DVD's from. I am reminded that this is classic horror material, although they ripped the music off from "Psycho" many others have done that!
"Friday The 13th" certainly was, and is a new day for the horror genre!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2017
Not the original..totally misleading cynical info.Avoid!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 June 2012
This new enterpretation of the classic "Friday the 13th" movies is truly amazing. I personally find it much creepier, since Jason is much more calculating and sneaky. In the older moves, I often found him to simply be a dumb brute, though immortal, who could be seen coming from a mile away. However, this new Jason just suddenly appears out of nowhere, is incredible fast on his feet and seems to plan further ahead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 May 2016
I love this old-school horror feel to this film don't need to say much about it with it being a such well known film around the world. But it's always going to be a classic flick.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)