Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
49
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 June 2017
great music and value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2017
Just ok.no problem with cd heard better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
I remember Yes from 70's, but only got into the chart songs i.e Going for the one, Owner of a lonely heart etc. - having these songs on 45's I decided to purchase a 'hits' CD - love these tunes, but can't get into their more obscure - i hope over time i can but hey that's my taste.
So can't complain - I now have my favourite Yes tunes anyway.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2016
Great value for money. A real trip down memory lane, and included most of my favourite Yes tracks. I really only followed them up to the late '70's so, apart from "Owner of a Lonely Heart", I wasn't familiar with their more recent work (and gave 4 stars only for that reason). Overall, I would recommend this compilation to anyone wanting an 'overview' of this incredible group of musicians before launching into their individual albums.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
Fabulas selection of Yes music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
The case and the CD itself were in excellent condition but that is what I have come to expect from this seller, so whenever I'm looking for used cds I always check out Zoverstocks first.
As for the music, what can I say - BRILL-I-ANT!
I've been a Yes fan since the early 70s. This cd makes listening very easy as it has some favourite tracks from different albums all in one place.
Thank you Zoverstocks and thanks you Amazon!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2004
Yes, the Prog Rock group to top all Prog Rock groups, have celebrated their thirty fifth year with this sumptuously packaged greatest hits collection which studiously catalogues the highlights from the early albums - Time and a Word, Roundabout South Side of the Sky etc. - and ties up a few loose ends with treasures from the 90s albums - Homeworld is the stand out track here. Where the compilation lets itself down is in the "middle" years (1974-1980). There is nothing from the underrated Tales From Topographic Oceans album, just one track from Relayer and two tracks from Going For The One.
Disc Three is a bit of a mish mash of acoustic versions of old favourites and a few solo efforts which have either been re-edited or never been released; Chris Squire's "version" of Dvorak's Ninth Symphony should have stayed on the drawing board.
The Ultimate Yes will please many old fans and maybe win a few new ones but like many compilation albums it does have its faults.
Perhaps in another four years we'll have the fortieth anniversary Ultimate Ultimate Yes CD which will rectify these omissions.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2016
Program rock.. Great
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2004
Yes have been well served by anthologies over the years but there was every reason to bring out an authoratitive collection for the bands 35th anniversary. They are the sort of band who suit collections of this kind well, they have a formidable back catalogue and an impressive, if at times bewildering, array of styles and eras. From the naive but charming space pop of their first two LPs through the glistening Trevor Horn power pop in the mid 1980's via their trademark prog rock epics, Yes have had a go at just about everything. So it shouldn't be too hard to cherry pick the best of each era and provide a meaningful introduction / celebration of their three and a half decades. 'The Ultimate Collection' sadly is far from that, ignoring five of the band's studio albums and concentrating far too much on 'The Yes Album' and 'Fragile' - nothing wrong with these two landmark releases - but they have been so well anthologised in the past that it would have been sensible to make way for something from 'Magnification' or 'Drama' at least.
The other problem is that there are too many excerpts, perhaps inevitable considering the length of many of their songs, but it gives the collection a fragmented feel.
The worst crime though is the inclusion of the 'alternative' version of 'And You And I', perhaps the bands greatest moment is representated by what can only have been an outtake in rehearsal. Guitars drop out of the mix, Anderson sings flat and without any studio treatment such as reverb - it's horrible. Wakeman still seems to be writing his part and there are no overdubs. It's shocking frankly and should never have seen the light of day.
So, a star lost for that alone. Overall, it's a fair primer but the band deserve so much more.
22 Comments| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)