Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
34
4.7 out of 5 stars
Comin' From Where I'm From
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.87+ £1.26 shipping


on 2 January 2006
Anthony Hamilton's now 4th studio album for most will be his debut. Either way this is album stands out among a sea of neo-soul artists. His rootsy, gospel approach to neo-soul/r&b gives him a sense of genuiness (he writes and produces most tracks) that is unparalleled among male artists for the most part by capturing that essence of soulful urban music. It's true, its real sounding. It emmulates the proverbial elephant: you know it when you see it (or hear it) but can't describe it. If you didnt know where you're bones were before, you feel this album to them now.
His slightly gravely voice is yet so silky and seduces you through this 12 track album. 12 is the magic number to give you just enough and yet makes you hit repeat each and everytime. His sound is southern, no doubt. "Cornbread, Fish, and Collard Greens" epitomises that. While "Charlene" is the most popular song off the album it, unlike other albums of today, does not a pariah to the rest of the album.
This is what music should be like now and makes you think of Bill Withers, Curtis Mayfield, and Bobby Womack. On a more modern tip, he sits comfortably with his better contemporaries like Leela James, Erykah Badu, Angie Stone, and D'Angelo. I thoroughly look forward to his future work.
BEST TRACKS (really hard pushed here): 1) Cornbread, Fish, and Collard Greens 2) Charlene 3) I'm A Mess, 4) Mama Knew Love, 5) general tie with the other tracks.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2004
Anthony Hamilton is the future!! this album is simply unbelieveable!!
his voice is a original urban feal.. its a husky style!! it works brilliantly!! he is here to bring new versions to the rnb/soul industry.. and he does it without a doubt!!
before i bought this album i had only heard 'charlene' but that was enough to make me go and buy it!!
my favourites on this album is 'lucile'!! which i have heard over and over again and never lose the feelin i got the first time!! also 'charlene','comin from where im from','im a mess' and 'i tried' are outstanding songs.. with new soul beats that will beat anything ive heard before!!
the smooths beats are relaxin and make anova level to music!!
if you like soul at all and want a modern version which is simply the best out get this!!!!
also people like carl thomas, dwele, maxwell, tevin campbell are for you!!
if u agree and fink this album is gd then no doubt the biggest thing the rock the music world will be JOHN LEGEND!! trust me!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2003
This is a great debut album, from Anthony.
He has a great soul voice sounding somewhat similar to the late Dino Conner from H-Town.
Pretty much all the songs are great on this CD and I would recommend buying it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2004
I borrowed this from a friend of mine a couple of months back and it hasnt left the CD player yet (I bought my own of course). If you like 2.35pm (Calvin) and Musiq then you will love this. It has a couple of excellent slow ballads, Charlene and Lucille. You may have your favourite tracks after buying this but I guarantee you will not skip a track, it really is that good. Early days but I'm calling this the best album of 2004 already !!! BUY IT NOW !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2003
I first heard Anthony Hamilton on Roy Hargrove's "RH Factor" album, and thought wow who is this guy?
When i heard he had a new album out i just had to have it, & i wasn't let down.
This is a smooth feelgood album that won't leave you disappointed, my favourite track is number 8 "Lucille", just dim the lights and float away with this beautiful song.
It's a must for soul lovers everywhere.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2004
First things first, believe me, YOU HAVE NEVER HEARD ANYTHING LIKE THIS. Anthony Hamilton, more so than any other artist, including people such as Ruben Studdard and Musiq, is going to completely revitalise the soul genre.
This album is perfection from start to finish. Every song is oustanding in terms of lyrics and performance from Anthony. Literally, this guy puts everything into every song and his voice is one of the best and most unique I have ever heard.
Personal favourites include 'I'm a Mess', 'Comin' From Where I'm From' and especially 'Charlene', although any of the songs could be included in this list. Everyone should own this album and it should go down in history as one of the most accomplished albums by one of the world's greatest singers.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2005
I have had this album for about 4 months now, and I cannot describe to you the deepth of it... some albums have "fillers", this is not the case with this. This guy sings from his soul!!!! NO DOUBT ABOUT THAT!!!!
Anthony has a unique voice, and the production is stop on. Do not sleep on this album, it was my best buy of 2004, and it is one of my best cds. If someone stole it, or god for bid I lost it....it would be back in my basket asap.
Buy it!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2004
I first heared Anthony Hamilton in his work with the Nappy Roots. He has a rare talent, his voice and sound oozes the blues and his sound is so soulful. He is a must for any collection.
Chyna Black is so beautiful, everything is perfect the vocals and the instrumentals.
If you desire an album you wish to relax to and have your emotions worked buy this album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2004
I came across Anthony Hamilton after getting a free ticket to his gig at the Jazz Cafe and this led me to buy the CD. From start to finish this CD is excellent. I love all tracks from 'Lucille' and 'My First Love' to 'I Tried' and 'Float'...All tracks blend effortlessly into each other and to top it all off, this guy is a great showman.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2005
Claimed to be one of the greatest soul albums of the last 10 years. I'd have to disagree with that. Its good, and its good because Anthony Hamilton possesses an awesome voice which has got a Bill Withers feel about it.
Raw and full of emotions he could sing the words on the back of a shampoo bottle and make it sound fantastic and oh so soulful.
The tracks on there are indifferent. There are some out of this world songs and then some average middle of the road ones.
"Mama Knew Love" Kicks off the set. More of a hip hop feel than the other tracks, but once that voice hits, your attention is grabbed. "Cornbread Fish and Collared Greens" is clever in its lyrics but lacks a real platform for Hamilton's voice to be heard to its full potential.
"Since I seen't You" is better on that scale. The frail sounding deep south voice is beautiful as its rides over a down tempo tune. "Charlene" is a continuation of that, and probably one of the albums finests moments. Again lyrically its clever and Hamilton proves he is a good story teller.
"Im a Mess" is a soulful swayer with heartfelt lyrics performed to perfection. The Title Track "Comin From Where Im From" gives us an insight in to his childhood and how it effects his life now. Again great lyrics, great vocal ability as he doesn't go to over the top. Nice hook, great song.
"Better Days" is a continuation of that.
But the tracks absolute stormer is track 8. Now this album is worth buying for this alone. "Lucille" is one of the most beautiful tracks I've ever heard. Another fantastic lyrical song, but its that voice once again that makes it's a great song. Superb in fact. I've had that on repeat many times.
"Float" is quite average, nothing new going on this one. Nice enough, voice again is top notch. Same can be said for the duet with Latoya Williams on "My First Love". Just kind of middle of the road.
"Chyna Black" has the same sort of feel as "Lucille" with the acoustic gutiar playing in the background, although the chorus becomes more upbeat. "I Tried" is the final track, which is more blues in its style and has a Ray Charles feel about it.
Overall, it's a very good debut album and I can't wait to here more from this very talented singer.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

What I'm Feelin
£7.84
Soulife
£146.48

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)