Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
36
4.1 out of 5 stars
Less Than Zero [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 26 April 2017
Great dvd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2017
Brilliant film, Robert Downey Jr is incredible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2017
A great cinematic encapsulation of drug addiction within the rich and famous of Beverley Hills during the 1980s. I've always wanted to see this movie since I was a child after watching it's great trailer, now that I have watched Less Than Zero (1987) the movie itself doesn't quite live up to the thrilling potential shown in the trailer. Robert Downey, Jr is amazingly charismatic as Julian, fizzing on-screen whenever his character's high on narcotics or displaying fragile vulnerability when he's at several low ebbs. Andrew McCarthy and Jamie Gertz are great also, the trio of these characters pining for lost dreams and optimism forever lost somewhere from the moment they graduated from high school, to their present standing in adult life. James Spader as the drug dealer, Rip, also shows his future leading man charisma to full effect. On the DVD extras front, there are no trailers or commentary tracks or even an EPK making-of. The English soundtrack is presented in Dolby Digital 4.0 and the picture quality is good overall.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
Clay, an eighteen-year-old freshman, comes back from his first term at a college in New Hampshire to spend Christmas with his wealthy family in Los Angeles.

His former girlfriend, Blair, is now involved with his ex-best-friend, Julian. She warns Clay that Julian needs help: he is using a lot of cocaine and has huge debts....

Anything to with the Eighties, and I'm already sold, as you may know if you read my other reviews. Bret Easton Ellis novels are difficult to turn into movies, but I've loved everyone that has been produced (even the Informers).

And this is no exception.

It's a film about greed and excess, and spoilt little rich kids getting into trouble and not getting their parents health.

As expected, Downey Jr. Is the best thing about this, totally believable as the young man living the high life, only depending on being high to live it. Eye make up and barking attributes are the order of the day for him, and he excels.

The same cannot be said though for Gertz and McCarthy, they are pretty terrible in this, just spending the film looking worried or a little bit distant, this may be trying to be cool and reckless, but they just looked moronic and boorish.

But funnily enough, they are not the pivotal part of the movie, yes they get back together and try to conquer the excess of the eighties for love, but its the Julian and Rip relationship that is the movies core and heart.

It looks good, a typical eighties movie where people stand on expensive looking balconies trying to find themselves, with a great soundtrack, and good looking people.

Shame about Gertz and McCarthy though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2008
I felt the young cast was actually not badly chosen, Andrew McCarthy as the college boy possibly following his families footsteps, Jamie Gertz portraying an insecure girl and Robert Downey Jr as a guy who went on the wrong path going downhill by the minute. The vulnerability is genuine and for example with their (especially rich) parents being either widowed or divorced or else, it is believable how these kids develop post school.
I liked the film, but I can imagine a bigger potential with the book. Though Downey and Spader are definitely worth watching.

However there were two things bugging me about the film.
After 5 minutes plot the film moves on "6 months later", which I find given the circumstances and story unrealistic. These rather dramatic developments are unrealistic to happen only '6' months after graduation, it should have been a year to make a difference. A few months is just so naff, sorry. So I watched the film a second time, just pretending to myself it would be a year later, and things made more sense.
Secondly the party/clubbing scenes - were the dancing people out of rhythm, was the post-dubbing just bad or what was going on? And why would one hear tapping dancing feet? Any club would have played loud music so one could not really get this sound effect. This really distracted me and just did not convince me.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
It wasn't a film I thought I'd be moved by. However, I think it is extra poignant due to the real life struggles Robert Downey Jr had reflected and drew upon in his personal life. His role was moving and surprising. He doesn't come across like you might expect (for example in Iron Man, Holmes, etc) but he makes the character have many layers exploring the depths an addict will fall. Watching him use on film, showing the way a persons essence is consumed by a drug, made a personal impact on what we may know about this subject matter and what you may know. I recommend this film, but advise that the frank subject matter may be shocking. I know that RDJ mentioned that this film was a reflection of many *aspects* of his own personal struggle with heroin addiction, which explains how this film has additional emotional resonance to me, the viewer. It is like looking inside a goldfish bowl, of another persons life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
'Less Than Zero' is a 80s film that takes an intimate look at addiction, teen drug use and how it impacts relationships. Although its not quite on par with say American Psycho, less than zero is great way to spend 90 minutes. I lean toward's Robert Downey's performance as its rather compelling and always nice to see him in a role that he owns (as always) and his character seems to mirror himself or later self in regards to his own drug addiction and personal struggles. So in summary check this film out if you're curious - it is what it is. its hip to be square.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2016
This is a very tough film to watch, as it is the story of one mans fight ( as well as the fight of his friend's ) against the onslaught of addiction. Yet, it is brilliantly written, filmed and acted. I highly recommend that anyone who adores RDJ ( as I do ), give it a viewing pronto.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2002
Fans of Brett Easton Ellis will probably be disappointed that this film is not a direct copy of the book, in fact, it's nothing like the book, but to this we say, "tough luck".
The story centres around the life of Julian rather than Clay in this film, and Blair is much a part of the limelight as any of them. There's still drugs, money and of course, that eighties rock and roll but it lacks the devastating emotional rollercoaster Mr Ellis is always determined to drag you on.
All in all, the cast is flawless: Robert Downey Jr. plays Julian, the 18 year old who just can't stay off drugs, Andrew McCarthy is the ever understanding Clay and Jami Gertz plays the mixed up beauty Blair. Definitely one to watch.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
This film can be quite harrowing and Robert Downey Jr.'s performance as a drug addicted rich boy is honest and heartbreaking. A film I strongly recommend.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Less Than Zero
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)