Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
31
4.5 out of 5 stars
The Very Best Of Gershwin
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 23 April 2017
great selection gift for family member
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
Quality is awful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 August 2004
Absolutely sublime collection of George Gershwin covers. Some of the tracks may not be the best versions of the old songs and instrumentals that you will ever hear (Larry Adler's somewhat eccentric rendition of "Rhapsody In Blue" for instance lacks the seering emotional punch I'm used to with this piece, but I daresay it will grow on me). After a very stressful time lately Ella Fitzgerald's rendition of "Summertime", and Diana Krall's wickedly cool and smooth "S'Wonderful" (begs to be listened to with a cocktail in hand!) was just what I needed!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2009
Having been collecting versions of George Gershwin's music over many years, I am always looking out for the lesser known tunes. To find "In the Mandarin's Orchid Garden" among the 32 tracks of this CD was a very great find!
When I played the CD the surprises were many. Elton John singing "Someone to watch over me", Jamie Callum "It ain't necessarily so!" (Even if he does get the words wrong!) and,joy of joys, Audrey Hepburn "How long has this been going on?". The last one still makes the hairs at the back of my neck rise!
This selection is a must have!
11 Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2003
This album encompases the best of Gershwin, by the best artists in the business. It provides one with a sense that he or she has bought "The album" that they have seached for their whole lives. A Gershwin lovers' collection will never be complete with out this one.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2010
An amazing album... a genre hopping work of art..... GERSHWIN WAS A GENIUS... THIS IS A "MUST HAVE"....It doesn't disappoint
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
a good mixture of gershwin, who sometimes gets forgotten about a little in todays modern world. But nothing better than some Gershwin to relax to after a stressfull day.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
fab! not too keen on instrumental side but great value none the less.willl listen more often perhaps it will grow on me
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
classic songs sung by classy artists on cd1, modern classic music powerfully performed on cd2, cannot be faulted. a must have. rcs
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 13 July 2016
Here we have yet another collection of Gershwin’s music – 32 tracks in total, both songs and orchestral pieces - which does make a pleasant surprise. This gives added value to this particular recording.
Just like Cole Porter, Gershwin wrote some truly wonderful music though both I‘ve Got Rhythm and Fascinating Rhythm are surprisingly omitted!
The likes of: Summertime, The Man I Love, But Not For Me, Someone to Watch Over Me, Oh Lady Be Good, They Can’t Take That Away From Me & Nice Work if You Can get it are all such great songs.
You also get the likes of Fitzgerald, Holiday, Vaughan, Larry Adler, Sinatra, Elvis Costello, Elton John and rather surprisingly Des O’Conner!
All in all this is a stunning album and I’m sure all Gershwin fans will adore it, being truly beautiful music and very uplifting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)