Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
135
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 April 2017
I'm in the process of increasing my collection of music to include more jazz, my collection of music is quite varied, based on other customers reviews I purchased this, and I'm glad that I did, getting three albums for the price one is, I think a bonus, very relaxing to listen to. good sound quality. The only reason that I have not given it 5 stars is because I don't consider that I have enough knowledge of this genre of music, and I'm giving myself some leeway for any future reviews that I might make.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 9 July 2017
If you are a jazz lover on a budget (as I am) or simply wanting to get to know about the great John Coltrane this double CD set is a great investment. Featuring ‘Blue Trane’, ‘Soultrane’, and the relatively unheralded but still highly enjoyable album ‘Dakar’ in their entirety with a few bonus tracks from another 50’s recording ‘Black Pearl’ this collection is nothing but wonderful value.

I have compared a remastered official release with a Mobile Fidelity remastering of ‘Blue Train’ and found that the difference in audio quality is not particularly apparent. The Mobile Fidelity release might be a little warmer, ‘rounder’ sounding but this release sounds perhaps a little punchier and direct. So plenty to celebrate here: unquestionably great Coltrane relayed in very good audio quality and all at a wonderful price.

If you don’t have these albums – get this set. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
Scratchy recording - obviously not been near any Masters!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2017
Good blue stuff from Coltrane
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2017
Great record
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
Excellent album. Sound really great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2017
What's not to like?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
Great jazz - enthusiasts have to buy this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2009
This is one of the latest of Membran's cheap "no frills" offerings, taking advantage of the EU 50 year copyright expiry. Some of their previous offerings have been a bit hit or miss. The Parker for example, is now the best available introduction and is in more or less chronological order. Whereas the Mingus "Mysterious Blues" collection of his earliest tracks, although containing rare and valuable material, looks as though it was compiled by a teenager on 'job experience'!
No worries here though - this one is meticulous, even if missing session details. It covers 'Trane's earliest sides sides for Prestige in 1956, under his own name or in "All Star" sessions, up to September 1957. Prestige was known as the "junkies' label", where players would record a session with minimal rehearsal for a fixed fee. It looks like initially they took no risks with 'Trane's reliability as the earliest sessions were "All Star" affairs pairing him with at least one other tenor player, and often a trumpeter, presumably on the basis that someone would show up and the studio time would not be wasted.
Whatever the reason it served him well at that time. In fact the first CD and about half the second have him with Hank Mobley and Donald Byrd (from the 'Two Tenors" date - originally released under pianist Elmo Hope's name).
All of the "Tenor Conclave" session is included in discs 1 and 2 - this time with Cohn and Sims as well as Mobley.
Even at this stage Trane is clearly moving in a different direction and takes a few more risks than the others, pushing the edges of his own technical limits of the time. Of course it all only serves to him make him sound even more interesting! Mobley in particular suffers time and again by sounding conservative, even a throwback, in comparison (It happened again in 1961 on Miles' "Someday My Prince Will Come"). Sensibly, Coltrane solos after him on almost every track. Rollins fares better on disc 2 on the "Tenor Madness" duet - He clearly had developed his style in the previous 4 years.
It's interesting that Rollins, although about 4 years younger, had come to prominence as a soloist about 4 years before Trane, basically from age 21 or 22. My own take on this is that Rollins was born and lived in NYC and was "around" constantly when Parker and Miles were developing the new music, whereas Trane was in Philadelphia and spend a lot more time touring with blues (like Vinson) and 'popular music' bands (eg Bostic), and only began recording as a soloist at age 30.
Paul Quinichette, who appears on a few tracks, also sounds like a throwback and lacking in presence, just as he had with Parker in the 40s.
Also hidden away on these 10 discs are 2 of my favourite Trane dates from the time - "Traneing In" (originally under Red Garland's name) and "Blue Train" - the Blue Note sextet date on which he first showed is chops as a composer. But there's much more than this here, including the studio sessions with Monk from 1957, and (worth the price alone!) the recently-discovered Carnegie Hall concert with Monk.
None of the '55 and '56 Miles' quintet sessions are included, but most of these are included Membran's excellent Miles' 10 CD "Just Squeeze Me" (you'll need to add a copy of Miles' "Cookin" for 'completeness').
All in all an excellent set and a far less expensive alternative to Concord's "Fearless Leader" box.
Just a thought: There should be enough excellent material in Trane's remaining 18 month Prestige tenure, (the EU copyright of which expires this year!) to fill another 10 CD set! ...Please!!!!
Just Squeeze MeWalkin'
11 Comment| 67 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)