Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
76
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 May 2003
Anyone who has giggled at least once during South Park will enjoy this on some level. The Parker/Michaels combo can bring "underground" US comedy down to it's basest level, and still have you rolling about on the sofa in laughter. One-liners, visual comedy, slapstick and pastiche are all here without relying too heavily on running jokes (Mike Myers), Profanity (Kevin Smith), or excessive face-pulling (Jim Carrey)
The aim of the game is to score home runs using a basketball hoop, while the defence has to try to distract the "batter" using any means possible (and these get very diverse!). The two heroes of the film, the inventors and star players of the game, have to contend with a corporate big-wig who wants to "sell-out" the game. In addition, they must win the league to keep their team as bequeathed in a will of the game's founding financer.
Add to that a love story, a bunch of goofy sidekicks and some pretty warped humour, and you have a film with an admittedly generic plot, but who cares? When you're having this much fun, the plot is dispensable anyway....
Brilliant stuff!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2017
If I had, I must find someone like the hero. The film's camera switch is too montage. The ending was unexpected. Not bad. If there's one next, I'll be looking forward to it. I watched it with my other half. The story comes from life, higher than life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2017
A great classic from Trey Parker and Matt Stone, hilarious, especially the Eric Cartman cameo.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2005
About 2 young guys who have generally wasted their life, who suddenly find that a game they made up on their own drive way could be the most popular sport in the world.
Not only is this film hilariously funny, its gets better every time you watch. The reason simply that after watching this film, and liking it you can't help but want to play the game- BASEketball. The film isn't very explicit of the rules but after watching this DVD about 5-10 times you'll know the rules like that back of your hand and be playing with your mates in no time. BASEketball is one of the greatest films ever and being able to try the game out your self makes the whole experience much funnier. Buy it and never look back...Unless your television is behind you for some reason.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2003
And customers this has to be one of the most exciting videos in recent memory, hard to beleive that 5 years ago this film was only released in cinemas, And its hard to believe that 5 years ago i was in grade school. Anyway, this is the best movie i have ever seen, it is funny, witty and fun to watch. The comedy is brilliant. The scenes of the video tape of road kill, the hospital scene and the end scene are both hilarious to watch and moving as well. Once you see this film you will keep wanting to watch it over and over because it is one of the greatest films of our time and it is such a dissapointment that it is not that well known. Buy this video and show it to lots of others so they can experience "BASEketball".. DUDE!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 November 2010
I've never been one for sports dramas or comedies. Anything from A League of Their Own to Space Jam just doesn't work for me, mostly because of the Deus Ex Machina nature of happy endings. Kingpin [DVD] [1996] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] has been the only movie that avoids this overdone cliché.

BASEketball doesn't avoid the ticking clock, last-minute win, but it does give us lots of sight gags and random madness. Though I don't want to sell it short, the film is also a biting satire on modern sports and corporate sponsorship, something that I feel has spoiled sports across the whole planet. Many players no longer play for the love of the game, but for themselves, for obscene amounts of money.

As with his other movies (such as Airplane or Naked Gun), David Zucker makes sure there's at least one gag every thirty seconds. Many fail, but most work, so the film stays on our good side if you only want laughs and couldn't care less about satire.

Trey Parker and Matt Stone are a great comic pair, and have absolutely no shame or delusions. But an even funnier comedy duo are the real life sports commentators Bob Costas and Al Michaels, who have the funniest lines and most perfect delivery.

It's become a little dated now, a fault of movies that have too many pop-culture references, but there's still plenty to laugh at and enjoy with BASEketball.

This ancient DVD is not very good-looking, even for standard definition. It's very muddy, dark and has dull, washed-out colors. Universal needs to make a Blu Ray and give us a decent transfer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2012
Although Trey Parker and Matt Stone are best known for the very successful television series South Park, they have also made several movies. Personally I don't like South Park so it really surprised me a few years ago that I enjoyed the movie Orgazmo and since then, I had been meaning to check out BASEketball. Again, I was surprised with what I got. Parker and Stone invent a new sport that becomes a huge success, but with it brings squabbles with regards to what the game means, the money involved and the unscrupulous owners/agents. Yasmine Bleeth and Jenny McCarthy are the totty on offer and both suit their roles well, though nobody in the film gives an outstanding performance. The humour is based mainly on gross-out dialogue but it still made me laugh several times and made this a worthwhile watch. Recommended. 3.5/5
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2002
I have seen the many other reviews that have all been consistently good... this one is no different! I first saw Baseketball on TV but as soon as I saw it I just KNEW I had to buy it! Absolutely hilarious comedy that both me and ALL of my friends found both genius and top quality entertainment! While those of us who don't wish to have much fun may not like it... the others most definately will! A definate must for your movie collection!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2001
This film is so funny and at the same time interesting in a funny sort of way. South Park creators Matt Stone and Trey Parker are hilarious as the main characters. These 2 "dudes!" invent a new sport called BASEketball. Its a cross between basketball and baseball as you may have guessed. the game is a huge success and as usuall the film ends with the main team needing to score 1 basket to win the championship. This film may seem abit predictable but the humor makes up for this. I would most definately recommend you buy this video, i certainy am going to.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2001
If you are a big fan of south park, then you will love Baseketball. Starring the producers of South Park Matt Stone and Trey Parker, this film brings across the realism of a kind of ordinary group of friends who go from semi-ordinary to national superstars in no time at all. From the creation of a new driveway game to a new worldwide sport, this film provides tou with laughs a minute and also abit of seriousism thrown in. A must get!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse