Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 May 2017
It arrived in one piece, and plays exactly how I remember. Not really much else you need to know.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2007
When somebody bought me Spider-Man 2: The Movie game, I must admit that I was thinking "Here we go... another over the top and childish superhero game." Now I can admit that I was wrong.

The first thing that I loved was the liberty. As Spiderman, you can go anywhere in New York City. The whole island, along with Brooklyn (and if your lucky Liberty Island) is interactive. Unlike the first of the Spidey games, you can go both on the ground and in the air- onto any rooftop and down every alley. The feeling of just being able to swing high above the pedestrians shouting you praise (or sometimes abuse!) is so rewarding that sometimes you can forget your missions all together and just swing and plummet for the sake of it.

That is another good point: the game gives you a chance to explore in between each chapter i.e. you are not always being forced to go to your next mission. Also the missions are either part of the film storyline, invented storyline (where you meet a few of Marvel's old favourites) or random pedestrians crying for help.

The fact that the New-Yorkers interact with you really enhances the feeling of being Spiderman along with his "witty" comments while fighting and the times where he audibly reflects on his life.

On the down side, the game is quite easy verging on too easy. It may take you only a day or two to complete the storyline missions. Although that's only 50% of the game done, the other missions get repetitive and boring without them.

If I had to compare this game to another, it would be to any of the newer Grand Theft Auto games. Although less vast in the scale of the game, Spider-Man 2 makes up for this by the aerial acrobatics and Spidey's super abilities (which can be upgraded using superhero points that you obtain by doing missions). This game is obviously less explicit!

Overall, I think that if you're thinking of purchasing a Spider-Man game, this is the one. It's great on all consoles and you won't come away thinking that it's only a "kid's game". Even after completing the game, you'll still want to play it from time to time- believe me, the feeling of swinging in New York and beating up thugs and criminals is very therapeutic!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2004
Unlike most of the "reviews" for this game, I have actually played this game and so I can actually rate it fairly.
First things first, this game as a whole is unlike any of the spider-man games, or other game for that matter. However, it is sort of pieced together from aspects of other games, which actually has worked surprisingly well. You (obviously) play the role Spider-Man, with the unique ability to sling web to attach yourself to buildings, tie up enemies and fight crime the superhero way.
However, there is a distinct element of Grand Theft Auto in this game. You now have the entire Manhatten area to explore at your disposal, meaning rather that follow fixed routes and paths, you can go wherever you want, whenever you want. So you could, for example, be in the middle of a mission, get bored after failing miserably and just go for a pleasant swing many feet above the road. Fantastic.
And, similair to GTA, you have the option to complete "mini missions", in which you can help the regular citizens of manhatten by halting the actions of petty thugs in true superhero fashion.
However, these missions tend to get very repetitive, you can be asked by pretty much the same child 5 times in a row to rescue his balloon (it makes you wish you could web sling it to his hand ;) ), and unfortuantely the boss missions are done pretty badly.
There is also an element of Tony Hawk's Pro Skater in this game ( and any other game involving Stat rising), in the form os Stat points, or "Hero Points", which can be traded in so you can learn new abilities and tricks to help you fight crime.
Another disappointment is the length of the game, only 16 missions (aside from the sub-missions) mean you could complete the story in merely hours. That's not to say there isn't any replayabiltiy, you could scour the rooftops for hours just messing around without getting (too) bored. If not you can continue your small vigilante missions.
The combat system is not bad to be honest. Combining your brute strength and your trusty web powers you can beat up your foes in many different styles, personal favourites include tieing an enemy to a lampost to make sure he can't fight back, and latching a web to they're foot so you can swing them around and throw them away like the trash they are :P. The combat can get repetitive however, as you can find yourself adjusting to one speical move and ignoring the others, so you should make sure you take a different approach everytime you face an enemy, otherwise you may find yourself dropping off tapping the same button over and over again.
All in all, an impressive game in the fact you have an entire city to do what you will, but let down by it's length.
Try it before you buy it really, but I'd doubt you'd be too dissapointed :)
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2004
This is the best supe-hero game on the market. No Contest. I bought this a few days ago and have been playing it none stop. I wouln't say it is a particuarly challenging game, button bashing, but there is just so much to see and do. You can just jump straight off a building and rush through the air on a web, unlike previous versions the web slinging is great. No more holding a shoulder button and walking through the air, you actually fly on your web, around buildings, over skyscrapers, everything. You can run along the sides of buildings like in the film.
Content wise: the mini tasks do become repetitive. But stopping an old lady from getting mugged hasn't lost it's edge with me yet. The boss's are easy enough to defeat, and Mysterio in paricular is just downright silly. The script isn't too bad, not up to the film standard but worthy enough for a gane. Graphics are exceptional, apart from character models. When you talk to someone in the street, they don't move, they are almost flat.
Playability: There is so much to do in this game, challenges to complete, things to collect, people to save. Even after completion, just swinging around the city stopping crimes is still fun. It's like being a full time super-hero.....
I thought this would be a huge dissapointment, but it isn't. it is well worth adding to any gamers collection. with slick graphics and superb gameplay, this is the best game i own, and i own a few! And Black Cat is a babe!!!!
WARNING- Stay away from the PC version, it is totally different and very very pants.
Now i wish they would make a marvel super-hero world game, create your hero and protect the city, come on Treyarch make me proud.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2004
Finally we have a comic hero game with Polish, with gameplay, graphics , sound and vast area to play over. You have the entire map of New year, A collection of all of Spiderman foes. Will spiderman save NY and lose the Girl. This is a great game, all the reviews in the magerzines will second that. Its a steal at 29 notes. If you want something play with while Halo 2 is still microsoft's stockrooms, this is one for you.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2015
I had this game for the Ps2 when i was 10 and i loved it! Sadly my siblings took to it with a fork and i haven't played it since, Until i bought this. It was everything i remembered and it holds up pretty good. Definitely the best Spidey game out there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
I wish this game was longer, this was the best movie game i had ever played, and by far the best spiderman game you can buy, free roam was so fun i put hours into getting extras (like tokens) and achievements, if you liked the movie, BUY THE GAME.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2004
New York is the hero of this game. I have spent hours web slinging across New York and diving of the empire state building however with great power comes great responsibility and this is where it gets boring. The graphics aren't great and the fighting is dull and repetitive. I have completed the game twice and still play it to travel around New York as spider-man but the moment I have to fight the game loses interest for you find yourself fighting of more villains with the same old moves. Hopefully by the time the third movie comes out they will have improved the fighting system and graphics to the game.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2004
when i first played this game i wasn't quite sure what to expect, but after i shot my very first web, i never looked back.
The graphics engine is stunning and allows you to see for miles into the glorious city of new york; as you progress through-out the game you'll gain abillities which allow you to kick some serious but! including some fantastic moves like catapuling yourself across the city, or cucooning your apponents with your web, and hurling them in circles around you untill they hit something (or you let go).
The best thing about the game however, is the fact that you have the freedom to swing yourself absolutely anywhere in new york, so if you fancied delivering pizzas like in the movie, then you can do, or swing around in central park; looking for crimes to solve-which eventually gets very repetative-you can.
All in all, it's certainly worth buying and playing to death, which i still haven't done. happy gaming!!!
ps i like milk.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2004
Spiderman 2 is looking very good at the moment, it has been far more than upgraded from the first game, its a total change. They have now added free roaming (as seen in the GTA series) and it seems like a dream come true for any spiderman fan. They have also added new features such as spider sense when you use this it goes into a matrix style bullet time, and theres no more webbing meter so you dont need to look around for it any more.
But the most exciting thing that is making me look forward to this game is the exploring, you really have to see it in action to basically see what they have done with this game, you can swing on poles run along walls theres so much you can do in this game and it looks to be one of the hits this year, unless the original makes people sceptical on buying the sequal.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)