Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
17
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 October 2014
Great
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2003
At last!
All those B-Sides collected in one place for your listening pleasure. I managed to track down a copy of More Wood the Japanese release just last year (after much searching) and here are some of the best of the tracks on a UK release along with countless other titbits.
My personal favorites are 'Shoot the Dove', 'Bang Bang', 'Black Sheep Boy', and 'Instant Karma'; the last of these rocks with an energy of which Lennon would be justly proud. The cover of Dylan's 'I shall be released' is a joy of understatement, acoustic guitar underpinned by light dobro work.
This body of work spans many years but is fresh and bright as the day it was recorded, though anyone who has read this far is probably a Weller fan too so I'll be preaching to the converted. This is a great document of a star maturing and growing in confidence, the rawness of the voice gains in maturity and the growl just gets better. The attitudes remain from the Jam days but with perhaps, a more reflective side as befits one of the elder statesmen of the modern music movement (there aren't that many who were there when Weller started who still have the same influence or fan base).
Despite being someone who owns just about all of this already in various forms, it's worth owning again to have it in one place. One man, three discs, a lifetime of listening pleasure, ladies and gentlemen, Mr Paul Weller.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2006
Lets gets the flaws out of the way.

Jazz-funk is a much maligned form and when delivered by the likes of Lonnie Liston-Smith then fair enough. When done by Paul Weller aided by Brendan Lynch and Jacko Peake it can become tedious. And there are a few of those knocking around here that are slightly self-indulgent.

The rest is quite simply quality.

Tracks like "Fly On The Wall" and "It's A New Day Baby" bustle with energy and style.

The covers on here seem to work too, far better than on 2004's patchy covers album. Maybe it's because they are fresher and more random. Check Weller's beautiful cover of Ben Harper's "Waiting On An Angel."

An interesting collection on the whole.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
FLY ON THE WALL.
If You didn't purchase the singles etc you should probaby lget this, it also contains some rare-ish tracks.
Some nice stuff on here,not a bad selection a good spread,some fans may own a lot of these tracks already ?
If not ,buy it now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2015
Paul Weller is from the old school of artists who put out B sides of their singles that were as good as the A sides, as illustrated way back with The Jam's Carnaby Street, The Butterfly Collector, Dreams Of Children etc. This box set features his solo B sides and rare track from the period of his first five albums.
Highlights include; The Loved, Fly On The Wall, The Riverbank (a reworking of another classic Jam B side - Tales From The Riverbank).
The third disc contains Weller's take on some classic tunes, including Lennon's Sexy Sadie, Instant Karma and Don`t Let Me Down, Dylan's I Shall Be Released and a great live version of Neil Young's Ohio which was originally on The Weaver E.P.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2015
Can't believe these gems had past me by
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2016
A very good introspection of Paul Weller from quite a few years ago now, his voice was probably at his best and an eclectic mix of tunes mixing nostalgia and excellence into a fine CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2016
Best 'Black (all of November) Friday' Buy from BHF Heart Foundation shop - (£2.99) - I ever bought, Thank You.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 May 2006
The fly on the wall mini-box is a compilation b-sides and rare songs from Weller. It has some really satisfying moments, specially the live songs and covers were my favorites; but also some very good b-side recordings with a nice and warm feeling that could easily be included on a very good album.

The only thing I didn't enjoy much was the remixes and some of the instrumentals, but in a box like this there's always this element of unpredictability.

The set still has some nice gems (fly on the wall; a cover of Sexy Sadie & don't let me down ... and a lot more) ... listen to the third disc definitely worth getting a hold of, the best of the set!

Let the music play!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
My husband is a MASSIVE Paul Weller fans and it's hard to find him albums he hasn't got when it comes to birthdays and Christmas. This is one of those rare ones that hadn't made his collection yet and he LOVES it!! it spans the whole Weller career ( I get educated by the husband as we listen to it, like a running commentary!) from early Jam era, to Style Council type stuff. Weird ones where he was trying to find his sound, and more classic stuff. It's constantly on in the car and I am now a Weller fan to because of it, he's a talented artist. :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)