Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 11 October 2015
Paul Weller is from the old school of artists who put out B sides of their singles that were as good as the A sides, as illustrated way back with The Jam's Carnaby Street, The Butterfly Collector, Dreams Of Children etc. This box set features his solo B sides and rare track from the period of his first five albums.
Highlights include; The Loved, Fly On The Wall, The Riverbank (a reworking of another classic Jam B side - Tales From The Riverbank).
The third disc contains Weller's take on some classic tunes, including Lennon's Sexy Sadie, Instant Karma and Don`t Let Me Down, Dylan's I Shall Be Released and a great live version of Neil Young's Ohio which was originally on The Weaver E.P.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2016
Delighted with my purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2015
Can't believe these gems had past me by
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2014
FLY ON THE WALL.
If You didn't purchase the singles etc you should probaby lget this, it also contains some rare-ish tracks.
Some nice stuff on here,not a bad selection a good spread,some fans may own a lot of these tracks already ?
If not ,buy it now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 April 2016
A very good introspection of Paul Weller from quite a few years ago now, his voice was probably at his best and an eclectic mix of tunes mixing nostalgia and excellence into a fine CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 January 2014
My husband is a MASSIVE Paul Weller fans and it's hard to find him albums he hasn't got when it comes to birthdays and Christmas. This is one of those rare ones that hadn't made his collection yet and he LOVES it!! it spans the whole Weller career ( I get educated by the husband as we listen to it, like a running commentary!) from early Jam era, to Style Council type stuff. Weird ones where he was trying to find his sound, and more classic stuff. It's constantly on in the car and I am now a Weller fan to because of it, he's a talented artist. :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 January 2015
great album perfect condition. very happy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 October 2014
Great
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 May 2006
The fly on the wall mini-box is a compilation b-sides and rare songs from Weller. It has some really satisfying moments, specially the live songs and covers were my favorites; but also some very good b-side recordings with a nice and warm feeling that could easily be included on a very good album.

The only thing I didn't enjoy much was the remixes and some of the instrumentals, but in a box like this there's always this element of unpredictability.

The set still has some nice gems (fly on the wall; a cover of Sexy Sadie & don't let me down ... and a lot more) ... listen to the third disc definitely worth getting a hold of, the best of the set!

Let the music play!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 August 2003
A very disappointing collection of B-sides etc. Discs 1 and 2 contain the Paul Weller originals and to be honest, only about half of these songs should ever have been allowed to see the light of day. The remix of Kosmos on Disc 1 is, quite frankly, atrocious ! The instrumental tracks (which could almost have filled a disc themselves) are all well and good for a serious collector, and indeed some of them are enjoyable, but after a few minutes of each the skip button comes in very handy. I have no complaints with the original songs - these could all have made the respective albums - but the instrumentals and remixes are pretty uninteresting.
The final CD however is well worth the money though. Aside from the plodding version of Neil Young's Ohio there songs are given a great treatment. I'd Rather Go Blind is, in my opinion, better than the original and Sexy Sadie is a joy.
This collection would have been much better as a double CD with the instrumentals and remixes removed and the "songs" and cover versions left.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here