Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
19
4.7 out of 5 stars
Thug Life
Format: Audio CD|Change


on 3 March 2004
This album is one of his best but not the most well known of his works. His work with other rappers on this album really amplifies the feel of this album and makes for pure rap, at its best.
All the tracks are excellent but my personal favourites are "Bury Me A G", "Stay True" and "Str8 Ballin". I advise you to listen to "Bury Me A G" in your car, at night, after a hard days work, with the low-end bass amplified and at a moderate volume. Do this and you'll know what I mean! :)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2017
The gift arrived quickly and my fiance loves it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2003
This is a superb album organised by 2pac for west coast rappers to collaberate together before he joined death row. Lots of classics like "pour out a little liquor" from the great film above the rim. "how long will they mourn me" another hip-hop masterpice. The first track "bury me a G" is perhaps my favourite it has a good fast smooth flow and demonstrates the "thuglifestyle". Stay True is also very good with a great hook by 2pac - "Thuglife - y'all know the rules, you gotta do what you gotta do, STAY TRUE." Its not a particularly well known album but it really should be, I think its better than me against the world. Volume 2 would have been a real treat especially with the resources of death row records behind it. thankfully 2pac gave us alot of material and most rappers wouldn't do what he did in 7 years in 30 years.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2004
This album, like "R U Still Down?" is for fans of pure West coast rap. Almost every track has brilliant, smooth, uninterrupted flow. The collaborators 2Pac, Syke, Macadoshis, Mopreme, Rated R and Big Stretch co-operate effectively to make the album gel together well.
There are a few real rough tracks like "Under Pressure" and "Street Fame". "Bury Me A G", "Pour Out a Little Liquor" and "Str8 Ballin'" provide the smooth, chilled-out side of the album. "How Long Will They Mourn Me" is a heartfelt (well, thug-style heartfelt) dedication to the dead homie Kato that makes a brilliant track. "Cradle to the Grave" presents a mildly amusing narrative on thug life in general with a funky beat. In fact, every song is worth a good listen. My only gripe is with "Shit Don't Stop" where the beat and hook are a little lame. Other than that, this is flawless and seamless West coast rap and beats.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2000
For those of you who don't know Thug Life is actually a group lead by rap icon 2Pac and this album features some of his most underrated work. I feel the reason that this album was so widely ignored is the fact that when it was released 2 Pac was not the superstar we all know and love now and the record company did nothing to promote the fact that he was the leader of this group. Overall the album is brilliant and has a more traditional hip hop feel to it than any of his other work and in my opinion is his best to date. The album, as with all of his albums is incredibly strong and features a musical genius rapping about life in the ghetto, drugs and sex, with this album having less of a political feel to it than some of his other early work. The highlights of this brilliant album include "Pour Out A Little Liquor" (from the "Above The Rim" soundtrack), "How Long Will They Mourn Me", "Cradle To The Grave", "Str8 Ballin' " and the brilliant "Under Pressure". Overall it's a great album and is a must for all hip hop fans.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2004
This album is a pure classic, one of tupac's best. Bury me a G, Str8 Ballin just 2 of the best tracks on there but there are also many more. (those are just my favorites). RIP Pac
The late great one. if you love pac as much as i do, you MUST BUY THIS ALBUM.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2008
Have to agree with all the other reviews. This is probably my favourite 2Pac album.

Made at a time when West Coast rap was at its pinicle with Snoop, Dre and Warren G all producing such classic albums this really does show 2Pac to be in that crowd. For anyone that loves the old G Funk beats this album is a demonstration into the production of that time and still sounds timeless when compared to todays emotionless commercialised beats!

Created with the rappers who would later go on to become the Outlaws and featured heavily on the Soundtrack to Above The Rim this is probably 2Pacs lesser known works but one loved and adored by anyone who owns it. When I bought it back in 1997 I didn't even know he was on it until I got it home, just thought it was a West Coast compilation!

My favourite tune has to be Bury Me A G such deep lyrics and with the smooth female vocals reflect what I loved about rap at that time and what made me purchase the old West coast material. How Long Will They Mourn Me features the unmisstakable talents of Nate Dogg and again reflect how good West coast rap was.

An essential purchase for all 2Pac fans, all West Coast rap fans, in fact anyone that likes quality music!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2011
A must for every true Pac's fan. This cd is very well put together and has an original sound. If you looking for his famous tracks buy "The greatest hits" but if you looking for good rap music with original sound and good lyrics take this one. You won't be dissapointed. 5 stars!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2016
this is an old skool album you have to appreciate how listenable this album still is regardless of its era you get sick of hearing new artists after twice of listening to there album if you can bear it once r.i.p tupac.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2005
Virtually unknown compared to some of pac's other releases, but im telling you this is possibly his finest work. Pac's got plenty to say on his usual subjects: political issues, 'thug life' and death. The production is perfectly suited to pac. Every one of these 10 tracks is quality, stand outs include: 'Bury me a g', 'how long will they mourn me', 'str8 ballin' but my personal favourite has to be 'pour out a little liquor'-what a beat.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)