Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 October 2003
Super Mario Bros. 3 was a milestone in gaming upon its original release for the NES in 1990, and still holds the world record for game sales. Now it comes to Game Boy Advance with new features galore.
Boasting vastly improved graphics and sounds over the NES original, plus never-before-seen special features, Super Mario Bros. 3: Super Mario Advance 4 will give everyone a chance to relive - or experience anew - a true Miyamoto masterpiece.
Strap yourself into the red or green dungarees of Mario or Luigi as they jump, bounce, slide, fly and swim their way across eight enormous worlds. Their mission? To battle the forces of Bowser and his troublemaking kids, who have turned all the local kings into animals.
What makes Super Mario Bros. 3 so special? Is it the pixel-perfect controls? Could it be the superb level design, packed with secrets and surprises? Or maybe it's the cool power-ups like the flying Tanooki Suit, sea-swimming Frog Suit, or the whirlwind-summoning Warp Whistle?
Super Mario Bros. 3 also includes the original Mario Bros. game for some multiplayer madness. Simply connect to any of the other three Super Mario Advance games and take part in fun frolics for up to four players.
All in All, the controls for this game are very easy they couldn't be easier. This game is a top buy!
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2008
I was fortunate enough to play this on the nes as my brother had one. I remember being with my sister and brother in the parlour late at night, being glued and trying to complete the game in one go. I also remember being annoyed when i had to keep blowing in the nes and game to make it work for 20 minutes at a time. Finally, there is a god and it had been brought out on GBA. I must have played this game at least 100 times when i was younger and just discovered it on gba. I loved the colours and graphics and the music of the nes and still remember it like i was playing it now. I can not wait to get this game (i paid £20 for it but hopefully it will be worth it, going by my old memories and reviews!) and hope it will come soon. Game recently did the greatest game ever poll for all formats and this came in at no.16 (i voted for it!) when it should have been a lot higher, but mario was crowned as the best game icon ever (with some people confessing they actually fancied mario!).

So, if you are a kid (or an adult who han't grown up yet like me!) or those who were never fortunate enough to have a nes, then do yourself a favour and please buy this game (or buy the nes and the original if you have a few quid!) as the box speaks for itself- eye catching, exciting and very fun to play!!! You have to play it to feel the joy that millions have felt, and much better than most of the games out today (exceptions being other mario games and sonic). It will be worth every penny, plus you can play it in the ds, which is why i bought it! The only way you you can understand how fantastic it is if you play it. It may be a hard game to find with everything, but worth it- it will be the best game you will ever buy.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
I would firstly lie to tell you all this is a realy good pack HMMMM ho very good hmm ho fly just like captin rye he has to fly!!! the donky will not go out at midnight and i dont have a clue why? althou its just like the fork i bought today i dont feel very well ho god hmmmm leeeee wee i have pet flee that sits on my knee . Shuger pufs are evil things .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
This game brings me right back to the first time I played it NES as a child.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 November 2010
Super Mario Bros. is certainly an impressive game for 1988 standards and holds up as an innovative platformer even today. The graphics, level design and gameplay make for a truly great playing experience.

I never did finish the first Super Mario Bros. (as of yet) and I've never even played Super Mario Bros. 2 but now, after liking this so much, I will seriously have to consider it.

In terms of originality you won't find anything particularly amazing about the jumping of one platform to the next and collecting power-ups but it's how it all comes together and works so well that makes SMB3 stand out from the rest of the competition.

Some levels are tough, but stick at them and you'll memorize and master the tricky bits pretty quickly. However, that didn't stop me from crying out loud in sheer, hopeless frustration every now and again.

The GBA version adds a save function (a godsend for those who hate having to spend 86 hours finishing a game in one go), slightly tweaked levels and compatibility with the Nintendo E-Reader that offers bonus levels.

Considering how good this game is it's no wonder Sonic had such tough competition from a short, fat Italian plumber. Definitely one to hunt down.

Graphics A
Sound B (only because the famous Super Mario music is not featured)
Gameplay A
Lasting Appeal A
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2006
This is a fantastic game! The fun factor of this is an all high!! Every level, every enemy, every boss, every item, its all fun to see and to use and to fight against!! This is probably, excluding the new super mario bros game for the ds, is one of the best super mario bros games and games of all time! This is a 13 year old title but it is so much better than certain games that are released today!! Seriously saving the Princess hasn't been so much fn before!!!!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2004
Although i expected this to be dated, jaded and far to old to cut it in the gaming industry now, how wrong was i?
This is much better than 90% of the platformers on the gba now, high praise indeed, considering that spyro, crash and sonic are all on their third games on the gba.
The difficulty, style and superb controls of this game will keep you coming back for more. So stop reading this, and just go get it okay?
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2011
This is a game providing hours of fun.The sheer amount of creativity in the levels and the game play sets this apart from any Mario game.A must have for anyone who enjoys platform games!!

Compared to the New Super Mario Bros DS, this game is hard.You will spend hours on it to get to the end!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2004
Not only is SMB3 the definitive Mario Game but it's also the best platform game ever which is some statement considering it must be about 15 years since the original NES version was released.
This game is the only reason why I'm about to buy a GBA.
PS - If you know how you can complete the game in under 15 minutes thanks to the warp whistlesm But where's the fun in that?
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)