Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
150
4.5 out of 5 stars
Mario Kart Double Dash (Nintendo Gamecube)
Format: Video Game|Change
Price:£86.00+ Free shipping


on 12 May 2017
Good game with lots of replay value and unlockables. It doesn't have all the new shiny gadgets and tricks of the newer games, but it is just as solid with memorable tracks and music.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2017
Who doesn't love Mario Kart. Game was as described. Happy Days!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2017
Came quickly and works perfectly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2017
Enjoying it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2013
this was for my son to play on his wii, it works great a previous one ordered did not work,so i ordered this one as my son was so disaapointed, will definatly buy again thanks your a life saver!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
Mario Kart: Double Dash is the continuation of the much loved Mario Kart series and, despite me reviewing it 10 years late, it's still brilliant today. When I dust off the Gamecube, this is one of the first titles out, and even holds its own to Mario Kart Wii!

With a whole slew of tracks, different game modes (aside from racing, there are battle modes) and combinations of characters, there's a lot here to keep it going - not including the unlockables. It's a brilliant social game that everyone feels like they can play due to being so well balanced. There's been points where the veterans have even lost due to the newbies getting the upper hand!

If you're getting a Gamecube, make sure this is part of your games collection. It's essential!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 July 2017
Mario Kart Double Dash was the ultimate party game. The excellent idea to be able to connect 2 Gamecubes and 2 televisions together to produce 8 racers at the same time in the same place made it an unforgettable experience. Later iterations of the Mario Kart series have focussed on online gaming which is an unfortunate departure from what made this game so great. There was nothing better in party gaming than having 8 people all side by side racing on this game of mostly skill but some chance.

Double Dash had some flaws like the ability to use self-generated boosting which in turn made a mockery of some of the different textures to race on - self-boosting over grass was often quicker than using the track unfortunately. As with all racing games there was a tendency to favour the leader as the other players bash each other more often. Fortunately the flying blue shell which was practically unavoidable did bring a small amount of balance back in. Balance between the different racers was not equal so random selection of karters was much better.

Despite the flaws this game was outstanding. There was enough of a sense of speed and some organised chaos. Tracks like Baby Park were an amazing scramble with projectiles flying around the track in all directions. Some of the trickier tracks like Bowser's Castle and Rainbow Road could go on a bit and required perhaps a little too much concentration and not enough action. Still there were plenty of greats like Wario Colosseum which combined skillful racing, decision making, and the chaos of Mario Kart's weaponry. There were very few places to get stuck as the track layout was generally well designed.

What sets Mario Kart apart from other racing simulators is the chaos. Double Dash had this down well. Weaponry was effective but not over-powering. There was still skill involved and the best racers would tend to win more often but managing the chaos was a key part of the success.

This iteration of the game stuck mostly to tried and tested characters. Not too much inappropriate use of Nintendo universe characters. The special characters were pretty good.

The visuals were of course a treat. Sure graphics have improved in the past 14 years but Double Dash was vibrant, colourful, and full of character. A real treat to experience. The sound tracks were a bit cutesy but in a group of 8 with so much banter and abuse going on between racers, a soundtrack is much less important.

Double Dash holds a special place in party gaming history. For those of us who had the pleasure of running tournaments and bringing back groups over time to run 8 racer games it is a truly incredible game, one of the best of all time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2003
The latest in the Mario Kart series is here, and this time, you won't be racing alone! Each kart holds two racers and you can chose from the 16 following characters and pair them up any way you see fit:
Mario, (Special Weapon - Red Fireballs)
Luigi, (Special Weapon - Green Fireballs)
Peach, (Special Weapon - Golden Muchroom)
Daisy, (Special Weapon - Golden Mushroom)
Baby Mario, (Special Weapon - Chain Chomp)
Baby Luigi, (Special Weapon - Chain Chomp)
Yoshi, (Special Weapon - Explosive Egg)
Birdo, (Special Weapon - Explosive Egg)
Wario, (Special Weapon - Bo-Bomb)
Waluigi, (Special Weapon - Bo-Bomb)
Donkey Kong, (Special Weapon - Giant Banana Skin)
Diddy Kong, (Special Weapon - (Giant Banana Skin)
Bowser, (Special Weapon - Spiky Green Shell)
Bowser Jr., (Special Weapon - Spiky Green Shell)
Koopa, (Special Weapon - Three Green Shells)
Paratroopa. (Special Weapon - Three Red Shells)
The character in front handles the driving duties, while the character in the back doles out damage with six normal items and eight special items that only specific characters can use. Racers can swap places at any time, so switch it up on the fly to make the best use of your items as you tear around curves and over huge elevation changes. With the Vs. mode now playable online (up to 8 people playing) and the fantastic battle mode where you duke it out with power-ups and items in new battle arenas, this game is bound to be the greatest in the series and one of the best on the Gamecube for a long time to come.
A Must Have!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2011
It is hard to say an unkind word about any member of the Mario Kart series of racing video games. They provide unlimited fun for all ages, and the 2009 Gamers Edition of Guinness World Records stated that a panel of judges had voted the series the best in the history of video games.

By that year, sales of the GameCube version of Mario Kart had reached seven million copies. Named `Double Dash!!,' the game, which takes up three blocks of memory card space, is now sold (pre-owned) at between nine and fourteen pounds. It differs from other Mario Kart games because `the authorities of the Mushroom Kingdom' have made a big change in the rules. The change is the fact that there are now two riders per kart - one driver and one weapons operator. Of course, this invites a new sort of multiplayer mode, where 2 players man one kart.

Today, there is a limited market for GameCube titles, but the Wii is backwards compatible with the console. Is this game worth buying for a Mario Kart Wii owner?

In two words, probably not. There are only 12 courses in Double Dash, compared to the 32 in the Wii version. As well as this and despite the unique multiplayer mode, the fact that there are two people in one Kart does not bring much to the game play.

However, Double Dash is still an excellent family racing game, in which the graphics are vibrant and the controls are simple.

SCORES: (out of 20)

Presentation: 13
Graphics: 17
Sound: 14
Gameplay: 16
Lasting Appeal: 13
Total out of 100: 73
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2003
Well, I've been waiting for this to turn up for ages, and it finally dropped on the mat on Saturday morning as I was on my way out to my mother-in-laws 60th birthday party....noooooooooooooo.....all day I had to spend couped up eating cake, being polite to relatives etc. knowing that DD was there waiting at home.
Having now spent the remaining hours of the weekend playing it, I can definitely say it is worth the wait. What's it like? Well, it's like Mario Kart of course! And that is exactly what we all wanted, isn't it?
The improvements are subtle yet worthwhile - improved graphics etc. The handling of the karts is superb, and playing around with the character/kart combos gives endless possibilities. There is nothing else in life quite as satisfying as power-sliding around a 180 degree hairpin, preferably knocking off a quick red shell in the process.
Make no doubt, I've loved every minute of this game so far, and I haven't even got onto multi-player yet! However, I do have a couple of concerns. First, I'm worried about how long the single-player appeal will last. I'd managed to win gold on all but 150cc star cup after only a couple of hours playing (of course, I've spent many an hour on previous versions of the game, so I'm pretty good.) That said, I haven't finished yet and I'm sure I have more to unlock. Only time will tell on that one. My other moan is about the use of the Z button to swap characters. To me, that button is the only fault of the cube, and it's use during high speed shenanigans can be tricky (I constantly keep firing power-ups when trying to switch drivers and vice-versa.) I'm sure I'll get used to it, though.
But forget those worries, this is still brilliant and a must-have, whether you're new to Mario or a karting die-hard.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)