Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
51
Ma Kelly's Greasy Spoon
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.86+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 6 June 2013
A superb album from the 12 bar demons. Full of neat bluesy, chunky riffs and some cracking bits of harmonica. This is the album that announced Quo as a proper rock band and it is a fine piece of work. Surprisingly heavy in places as well. Nice to see that they've been playing a few tunes off this - 'April, Spring, Summer and Wednesdays', 'Junior's Wailing' and 'In My Chair' - in the recent reunion gigs. Cracking tunes, all of them. If there's one annoyance, it's this: the fade outs and introductions over the top of the extra tracks. Ban fade outs! Fade outs should only be permitted for 8 minute long closing tracks (for examples of this stuff, see The Foo Fighters); they should never be in the middle of an album. If a song is worth starting, it's also worth finishing properly.

Anyone currently despairing about supposedly ill advised film projects, adverts for Australian supermarket chains and the current line-up's tendency to pander too much to the cardigan brigade and not the hard-core nutters (I mean this in an affectionate sense), should listen to this. It will restore their faith.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 March 2016
The colour of the liner notes is like a sepia colour whereas my copy was more like a black and white photo.
My copy had only the original 10 tracks, the newer version has those and another 10 tracks with a few different versions, rough mixes, early working mixes, original versions and BBC sessions.
A nice bonus for all dedicated Quo fans, especially with the recent news that the band are not going to do any more live concerts with amplification, but who knows, I'm sure they have said this before, but just like one of their tracks they always seem to be finished and then fade back in again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 April 2013
This is where Quo found their real sound. Superb mix of blues and rock-boogie.

The only exception, I think, is their attempt at Paul McCartney's 'Yesterday' with 'Everything'. A bit cheesy.

Other reviewers say all the important bits, but my personal favourite tracks are 'Lazy Poker Blues' and 'Down The Dustpipe' (which wasn't included on the original album, I believe).

The bonus live tracks are excellent and a real insight to the developing Quo's sound. 'In My Chair' is an absolute belter - check it out on 'Quo - Live' album where they raise the roof AND bring the house down, all at the same time!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 March 2013
This is the album in which STATUS QUO started to develop their now familiar chugging guitar sound. The album opener, Spinning Wheel Blues is a real driving rock blues number and is a great introduction to this rocking little album. There are several other rocking numbers - Junior's Wailing to name but one and of course the original Down the Dustpipe is included as a bonus track. This is early Quo, far before they became too poppy, and whilst not as good as some of their best stuff it's certainly a great record.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 October 2014
This one got me started loving Status Quo after the initial flirtation with Matchstick Men. And I still dig it heaps. I has a full range of moods and plenty of sing along songs too. I often awake in the morning with one of the tunes running through my head after 40 years of hearing it! Have now owned it on record twice and on CD twice. This latest bought for the remastering and bonus tracks. Sadly only the singles Dustpipe & In My Chair are of interest. The rest is just filler. Never mind. Programme your CD player and you'll forget the dross and enjoy the rest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 August 2015
As someone who tends not to buy CD's any more, preferring vinyl records or high resolution platforms such as DVD-A and Blu-ray Audio, I just wanted to leave a short note congratulating Status Quo and their record company for not using the awful Loudness Compression Limiters on this CD. The recordings are fully dynamic and a represent a good introduction to early Quo, just as they were transitioning from pop to rock, with songs that already show some of the sound that would be developed on the 'Dog of Two Head' and 'Piledriver' albums. If you have not yet checked out their back catalogue, this would be a good place to start .... and NO loudness crap, so you will be able to listen to this without your ears getting tired or the clipping damaging your speakers. Nice one, son!

(Please note that this is a review of the 2003 expanded issue and not the 2015 re-issue, as this was not available at the time of this review)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2017
Just love this album,the first real Quo album after the pictures of matchstick men type stuff.After listening to this album you know in which direction they are going
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2015
It's OK. I bought it for nostalgic reasons and because it was missing from my Quo back catalogue, but there aren't many great songs on it, to be honest. Try Hello, On the Level, Quo or even Aquostic if you're just getting round to listening to some of their old greats...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 November 2016
forgot this existed
happy memories of early quo
fair price and smile worthy insert
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2017
Early Quo great stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Quo
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)