Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
76
The Young Ones - Series 2 (1984) [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 14 June 2014
I love this program. No other TV program has influenced my humour more than these two shows. It was and still is the pinnacle of these people careers, the writing, the gags, the weirdness of it, the stupendous strangeness of it, the violent slap stick that goes back to the early days of cinema. It is all here in this true classic comedy.

The scene is simple, four college Students share a house that is populated by talking furniture, killer socks and Poltergeists Time travel, bank robbers, a mass murdering female, South African Vampires with Pot Noodle fetishes and finally Trevor, the man who lives in the bin are all of the many occurrences in this house, and the lads flit around swearing, fighting and eating lentils oblivious to it all. The occasional bands that show up to play a tune include the ever lethal Motorhead, Madness, Amazulu and The Cult.

The list of comedy hero's is endless with Jennifer Saunders, Dawn French, Lenny Henry, Helen Atkison Wood, Hale and Pace and Alexie Sayle are all here in one form or another and add to the fun.

This show brings out the rebel in you, and hell it may even make you want to go on a road trip in a big red bus with Una Stubbs!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 December 2015
'The Young Ones' is still an iconic sit-com in British comedic history. BUT, there is definitely a feeling that you had to be there at the time, man. I'm not saying it's dated (although, being honest, it has somewhat). It's just that it is so nascent in a new era for British comedy that its impact is lost in its legacy, if that makes sense.
Also, Rik Mayall and Ade Edmondson, were only part way down their journey. Rik and Vivian are clearly continuations of the Dangerous Brothers, who eventually become Richard Richard and Edward Elizabeth Hilter in 'Bottom', the apotheosis of Rik and Ade's slapstick and crude, but oh-so-funny, routines.
Even Christopher Ryan is under-used in 'The Young Ones'. Mike, the cool person, is the worst character, and seldom even a suitable 'straight man'. Again, he's much funnier in 'Bottom' as Dave Hedgehog.
BUT, having watched the series 'back in the day' and again, more than once, in recent years it's become apparent that Nigel Planer as Neil is THE standout character. Yes, Rik and Ade, doing their thing ('ha, ha, missed both my legs') is funny, but we'd seen it before and would later see it perfected, but Neil is funny from the get-go and remains the most consistently funny character throughout.
Look, maybe I've sounded negative, or at least over-critical, but the fact remains if you haven't seen 'The Young Ones', why not? If you have seen the series before, it's ALWAYS worth another look.
This is where SO MUCH British comedy was born from. At the risk of invoking cries of heresy 'The Young Ones' is as important as 'Monty Python'. Nuff said!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 August 2017
Crap, literally looks and sounds like it was taped of the tv in the 80's, then direct transfer to dvd. Grainy picture, cheapest possible disc almost paper thin and it skips. So unable to watch every episode in its entirety.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 June 2016
The young ones was like bottom untouchable and will remain that way forever, nothing like it has been or will ever be seen again, sadly Rik Mayall is no longer with us, but his comedy will keep us laughing for ever, shame Nigel Planner vanished thought he would have made a good replacement for Rick if their was ever a chance of making another Bottom series with Ade Edmondson.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2014
At the time, there really was no other comedy show of its type.
We would memorize the script, and see who could spot the subliminal clips.
To prevent cheating, friends had to write the clips down then show on count of 3.
Indeed, the only thing that appears to have dated is the musical acts, but since the inclusion of music, to make the show an entertainment show, was required to fund the programmes, I can live with this.

If you don't know the Young Ones, and are not of that generation, get an "uncool" oldie to sit with you to explain the cultural references (for example, Manpower Services! YTS ... Thatcher's Britain ... no wait .. it has all come back but with a name change to protect the guilty!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 March 2017
This series changed TV forever
The rules changed and the post punk humour, beat the establishment.
Happy to be able to watch them all again
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 March 2006
From the witty satire to the foul-mouthed toilet humour and the nail-on-the-head social commentary to the randomness of the period spots thrown everywhere, the Young Ones has it all. While some of the episodes have undoubtedly aged somewhat, amy are still pure gold. From this series, Bambi, Summer Holiday and Nasty are the real standouts, while Cash and Sick are also superb, with only Time letting down the side a little (despite a brilliant intro). What would happen to a major oil corporation if Neil manged it? How did Mike help ruin one of Disney's greatest legends? What does Rick wear in his spare time? How does Harry the B****** manage to con the boys out of £500? And what does Vyvyan do when the money runs out? Watch in horror to find out!
Buy it!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 August 2014
We have just been re watching after the sad and premature death of Rik Mayall. Iconoclastic, ground breaking, anarchic, wacky, hilarious, like nothing else. In many ways it is beyond Monty Python - although probably owing a debt to them. The Young Ones is a humour that will never fade, that bears watching and re watching without ever going stale. My all time favourite.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 January 2018
I can't wait to watch this on dvd as it's been many years since iv'e seen this series, many thanks Amazon!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 December 2017
I adore this, as a kid this show is what helped define my sense of humour, it's old it's dated but it's still funnier than pretty much anything the BBC is spoon-feeding us now. This also made me reflect on what a huge loss Rik Mayall was to comedy, gone way too soon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)