Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
45
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 November 2015
The Police's debut album contains all the essential ingredients needed to serve up a heady brew of pop, punk/New Wave and (most noticeably) reggae - all of which are also strong features of their classic follow-up LP, the superb 'Regatta De Blanc'. The evergreen singles 'Roxanne' and 'Can't Stand Losing You' are joined by 'So Lonely' and a number of highly impressive songs including 'Next To You' and 'Truth Hits Everybody'; although somewhat raw in places, this is definitely worth picking up at a bargain price as I did.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 August 2011
After hearing the 'Roxanne' and 'Can't Stand Losing You' singles on their initial release in 1978, I couldn't wait to hear their debut album. As it was, a friend beat me to it and when he played it to me, I wasn't as impressed as I'd expected. 'Outlandos D'Amour' is the work of a band still looking for a focus. Ultimately, it was the way they wrapped their pop music in a mix of rock and Caribbean rhythms that gave them a distinctive, winning sound. At first, they got nowhere with this stuff, but in those days songs about prostitutes and suicide didn't get much airplay. Soon after, they toured the US and broke through there, after which BBC Radio couldn't ignore them.

They were never described as a new wave band, but this album is heavily influenced by the likes of Elvis Costello. 'Next To You', 'Peanuts' and 'Truth Hits Everybody' all have that stamp. 'So Lonely' features rock and reggae rhythms alternately and was an obvious third hit single. All of the aforementioned songs, plus the straight pop of 'Born In The 50s' are fine tracks.

'Hole In My Life', however, is somewhat monotonous, while Andy Summers's novelty song, 'Sally', is really only worth one listen. Moreover, the long final track is little more than a filler jam with Sting yelling improvised words in the background. For the most part, this a very good album, but it's rather uneven.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2011
This, Regatta de Blamc and Synhcronicity stand as the very best of the band's output. As the first album it has a pleasingly under-produced feel to it and rarely delves into the reggae well creatively. Instead this feels more at home as a rock/punk record. And it's pretty consistently great from start to finish.

'Next to You' is an excellent opener and sadly the type of song they forgot how to do after a few albums were in the pan. It is a short, punchy, catchy pop tune with punk sensibilities. The classic Sue Lawley... sorry 'So Lonely' needs no critique. It belongs to the ages now and is a near perfect song. The same can be said for 'Roxxanne' although that could divide opinion. It's not one of my favourites but you cannot argue with its popularity. 'Hole In My Life' is more akin to 'Next to You' only at a less frantic pace. Very good but no classic. 'Peanuts' is one of my favourites. Again a great little pop tune.

'Can't Stand Losing You' is another one of the 'classic' variety. It is definitely good enough. 'Truth Hits...' is another of my favourite tracks. It's the chorus that gets stuck in your head. 'Born in the 50s' is another cracker with yet another great chorus. It's less well known but just as able as 'So Lonely'. 'Be My Girl' is both amusing and, yet again, as catchy as heck. A lot of the tracks here have a real singalong quality to them. Unfortunately 'Masoko Tanga' is merely ok. It's probably the only real reggae inlected track on the album but also the only one without a killer tune. But it's a minor quibble as the rest is all so good.

Arguably they went and topped this with Regatta. But whatever your favourite is, Outlandos was where it all began...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2000
"Outlandos D'amour" was really the album that thrust the Police into the rock mainstream and the main reason for this was the album's huge hit "Roxanne", a track which along with "Every Breath You Take" is possibly the most famous Police track of all. The song's catchy guitar riff and nagging bass line along with Sting's high pitched vocals was certainly a winner and turned this band from a pub band to rock gods. This is definitely the most upbeat of all the early Police albums and has a positive feeling running throughout the album. I have built up my Police collection in reverse (I bought their later albums first and then slowly started picking up their early material), but I would definitely recommend that this be one of the first Police albums you get. Along with "Synchronicity" this is by far their most "commercial" sounding album and will also allow you to get a feel of what this great band is about. Look out for the tracks "So Lonely", "Can't Stand Losing You", "Truth Hits Everybody" and "Next To You", which are among the bands best work.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2009
The best Police album and the first! I've had this for 30 years and never want to be without it!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This debut album by The Police is interesting although the songs are of varying quality. The best tracks include the melodic reggae-influenced numbers Can’t Stand Losing You, an emotionally gripping song about suicide, the hit Roxanne, about a lover that turns to prostitution, and So Lonely. The rythmic textures here are a novel blend of rock and reggae and these songs have tuneful hooks. Tracks like Truth Hits Everybody and Next To You are energetic rockers, whilst Masoko Tango has a more experimental feel with world music influences. This debut definitely made The Police stand out in 1978 and became a cult classic. Outlandos as a whole isn’t consistently satisfying although it certainly shows the promise that would later make them one of the most popular bands of the 1980s.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2006
Every album The Police released gets five stars. But Outlandos D'Amour is where their mainstream fame started, and rightly deserved. Three consumate musicians coming together to produce such a perfectly crafted masterpiece. I was 6 when I first heard Roxanne blaring from the radio when it was first released. Maybe too young to appreciate good music, but it made my ears prick up. Such a beautiful track. Such a shame people have tried to cover it and failed badly.
There are some real classics on here from a bygone musical era. They would blow away the Artic Monkeys of our day. Thanks to Stings fantastic song writing, Stewart Copelands sublime drumming and Andy Summers brilliant guitaring. Three gods of music on CD. Anyone with any appreciation for real musicians and how they interact will love it.
If The Police reformed for just one gig, I would sell my house and a kidney to be there.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 April 2008
This was one of the Police's best albums.

I always found I was more impressed with their earlier hits such as; 'Roxanne', 'So Lonely' and 'Can't Stand Losing You' - all of which are included on this album. Surprisingly, none of these great songs made it to number one - as much of their later material did, indeed 'Roxanne' did not even reach the Top Ten...

In my experience, A & M produced some of the poorest quality vinyl in terms of surface, and often the LP records were extremely thin, and so it was of a slight compensation to find that this album was released in limited blue vinyl at the time, and has since become a Collector's Item.

Ten great tracks here, and any early Police fan would not be disappointed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2005
The strange musical journey of The Police starts here - the group being an unusual comibination of a schoolteacher-turned-jazz-bassist, a slighty-ageing blues guitarist and an American AOR drummer. It's difficult to be objective about albums which you grew up with, because they represent part of your life, but I think Outlandos just edges it as my favourite. The recording and production is deliberately minimalistic - often it's just drums, bass and guitar, with imaginatively multi-layered vocals - and this allows the songs to shine through. Roxanne is easily the best and it's a crime the way a certain British broadcaster banned it from their playlist (one of three such bans the band experienced) - it's just a tragic tale, rather than some smutty song. The album is quite diverse, and ranges from the punky energy of Next To You and Peanuts, to the unusual (almost) instrumental Masoko Tango. Along the way they also show their white reggae roots in So Lonely and their sense of humour in the silly Be My Girl - Sally (which we as young teenagers found very daring and amusing - it just seems a bit naff now.) The jangly guitar rock of Truth Hits Everyone and Born In The 50s are also great tracks, even though one could perhaps get the group under the Trades Descriptions Act with the latter number! All in all, one of the best debut albums ever.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2015
Very good album. Brought back lots of memories from the 70s & 80s. Some of the songs are more relevant to todays political environment than in the 80s. Maybe some people will ''get it'' this time lol. I give this album 9 out of 10.
Enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)