Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 May 2010
If you're going to be using a good quality lens or any lens in fact, then a UV filter is the essential piece of equipment.
When fitted it performs two very important functions.
Firstly it filters out UV rays, exactly what it says on the tin, this makes your photos look better to some small extent.
It also protects the lens from scratches and knocks, making it easier to replace and less costly.
I use Sigma EX DG range of lenses, so that is why I use their filters.
Stick to the well known manufactures, to get the best results.
As well as the filter, the lens hood should also be attached at all times, as this gives added protection.
One last thing, before you purchase any filter check the size, it is shown in m.m. on the front of the lens.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
Good quality filter at a sensible price. Its not a good idea to buy to cheaply as the optical quality may not be that good. You can pay £30-£40 plus for a top end filter. Which I do have, but these are fitted to pro lenses.

Can recommend The Sigma range, good value and well made from a known maker
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2015
Top quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2016
good value product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2015
Good value, no noticeable image degradation.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I bought this as all do for the double reason of cutting UV issues and protecting my lens. On both counts I'd say that this filter works perfectly.

UV effects have been removed and of course I now have a first layer of defence against damaging my wide angle - and expensive - lens.

It appears to be very well made and comes with a good box if you wish to store it off the camera.

The price is almost half of that of the Sony version that I was considering, but certainly not half the quality.

Overall I'd say an excellent value for money item that anyone with a penchant for outdoor photography should consider.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2010
What can one say? It does its job of protecting the lens. Because it's big and therefore presumably exponentially more difficult to make than a smaller one, it's very expensive, but at least it's a little less expensive than its competitors.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2012
I recently blought a Sigma 10 20 F4 super wide angle lens for my Olympus DSLR and wanted a UV filter to protect the glass. Lots of reviews and forums on the internet warned of the dangers of adding filters, saying that they may touch the lens glass. Well thi is just fine and initial results look good for image quality for a filter at this price.
Just right and even looks good on the lens, matching the gold writing. The Sigma lens cap fits snugly too.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2012
I have an ultra-wide lens that needed protecting. I have a polarizing filter which would fit but this is no-no for ultra-wide lens so I opted for a UV filter. Sigma is known for its quality products and this filter was well reviewed. I have used it for approximately 100 images and it has not interfered in any of them. It is well manufactured. So far I am happy with the filter so it gets 4 stars. More use will determine if its worth 5.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 16 September 2010
If you've got a lens with an 86mm filter thread, you're almost certainly going to want to protect the front element and that's pretty much what this filter is intended for. It's fairly pricey, but nowhere near the cost of a replacement lens.

It's well constructed. The glass doesn't rattle or rotate in the frame. The matte black finish of the metal helps minimise reflections. It's even supplied with a faux-leather, felt-lined wallet for storing it when it's not on the camera, which seems a bit of a waste as most people will likely never take it off once fitted.

I've not been able to find any discernile difference in image quality with/without the filter so it really does everything I could want it to and for a lot less than the competition. for that it gets full marks.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)