Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
46
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.35+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 August 2017
11th album from AC/DC, and it's great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2017
As expected, quick delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2017
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2017
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2011
Following the career low point of Fly On The Wall, and the stop-gap Who Made Who, Blow Up Your Video was an album I'd written off years ago. I bought it as an LP back in the 80's and don't ever remember having particularly fond memories of it. I recently decided to update my AC/DC back catalogue. This is an album that had some surprises.

It starts as I expected. Heatseeker and Thats The Way I Wanna Rock n Roll are as I remembered - catchy enough, and worthy singles at the time, but fairly formulaic 80's fair from AC/DC. The next 5 songs remind me why I lost my way with this album. Meanstreak, Go Zone, Kissin Dynamite, Nick Of Time, Some Sin For Nuthin are all very, very average. They're not awful, but they don't stand out in any way, and at this point you could easily give up on this album (as I did all those years ago).

Then, 2 very pleasant surprises. Ruff Stuff is a really fantastic bluesy groove. The subject matter is typically sleazy, but it swings along brilliantly, with a really cool, understated riff.
The standout comes next - Two's Up. A song I had no memory of at all, but is now one of my favourite DC songs ever. It is reminiscent of songs like Hells Bells and The Razors Edge in it's style - dark, moody and very, very heavy. It builds slowly and menacingly, and then explodes into one of Angus Young's best ever guitar solo's. It is such a good song it makes the hairs on my neck stand up. A truly fantastic song, an overlooked classic.

The album ends on This Means War, a quick burst of a song, a poor man's Rocker from the Bon Scott era. Overall the album is nowhere near their best, but it has two hidden gems. For those who never gave this album any time, skip past the tedious stuff, and enjoy the highlights.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2009
Product came in excellent condition, and is a fantastic listen, as is the norm with any AC/DC album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2015
CD comes in a card/plastic package with a booklet insert. As far as the music goes, 'Heatseeker', 'Thats the way I wanna rock n roll', 'Meanstreak' (nice funky riff running through that one), 'Go zone' and at a stretch 'Kissin' Dynamite' are the best tracks here. There are some nice bits here and there on the remaining 5 tracks but nothing like AC/DC at their rip-roaring best. There's a song called 'Two's up' - typical bawdy title from AC/DC, but listen to it - it's an odd one because there's nothing upbeat or jaunty about it. In fact, musically, it struck me as sounding vaguely melancholic in it's delivery really! I bought this album for the first 2 tracks anyway which I had on 7" singles in the 80s. Agree with other reviewers who say the production is a bit flat, but still, even on a bad day this band piss from a great height upon a majority of yer modern rubbish. A half decent album then.
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
Bought this when it come out on vinyl and was instantly underwhelmed. 26 years later I decided to give it a whirl on Cd as it was only £3 and wow! Back in '88 I thought it was under produced, almost demo like but that was in the context of the overblown production around at the time. Now I think the production is excellent the only quibble being the vocal sometimes gets a little lost in the mix. It sounds organic, nice drum sound and of course guitar sound. Check out the rhythm playing on go zone. Lovely and crisp! So to the tunes. Heatseeker is the stand out. No other classics but nothing I would tar as filler either. Its a solid album that tries to capture the spirit of the Bon Scott era much more than For those about to rock. Every DC fan should have this.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2000
Like most, I kinda lost AC/DC during most of the 80's as the big haired swagger of Yank HM bands of that time seemed far more exciting (& how silly does that seem now?).
But a tongue in cheek video, a good pop tune & we were back interested. This one is often overlooked which is a real pity as it's the second best BJ effort, only spoilt by the muddy sound & BJ's singing which get's more strangulated as time moves on.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2010
This 1988 album was pre-ceeded in January of the same year, by the big hit single 'Heatseeker' - which from a launch-pad in Australia, struck the UK Top 40 at number 12, causing widespread carnage and fear amongst the Milli Vinilli manufactured pop brigade. Further casualties were sustained when a follow-up single, 'That's the Way I Wanna Rock 'n' Roll' reached number 22. Those who listen to the UK radio now (and especially then) will know the DJs do not like it when Hard Rock hit the charts. The whole Hard Rock scene and lifestyle were lookded down on by the expensive training shoe crew, so it was a delight when AC/DC released this album. It was - at the time - their best since the classic 'Back in Black' album. The average song time is just over four minutes. Production is by Vanda & Young (who always recorded AC/DCs albums in a very crisp and clear way - nothing murky on these tapes - the complete oppostie from most music from the same period). It was a very melodic vocal album by AC/DCs standards (even some clear Australian backing vocals on one song), but off course most melody from this band is via the guitars, which non-fans don't really understand. It was an angry album, a statement of intent, packed with heavy metal ammo - songs like 'Kissin' Dynamite' and 'Nick of Time' gave the album a real sense of AC/DC urgency, but a couple of surprisingly slower track like 'Meanstreak' and 'Some Sin for Nuthin' showed the band shifting into another gear. I don't always appreciate the slower album tracks on other AC/DC albums, but they all sound great on 'Blow up Your Video' - and then all of a sudden we are at the last tracks 'Two's Up' and 'This Means War' and you are left with a sore leg from tripping over the DVD (oh the irony) during an over ambitious air guitar move involving a badminton racquet and a parrot.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse