Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
270
4.6 out of 5 stars
Flight of the Navigator [DVD] [1986]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 January 2013
Flight of the Navigator is directed by Randal Kleiser and is adapted to screenplay by Michael Burton and Matt MacManus from a story by Mark H. Baker. It stars Joey Cramer, Veronica Cartwright, Cliff De Young, Sarah Jessica Parker, Howard Hesseman and the voice of Paul Reubens. Music is by Alan Silvestri and cinematography is by James Glennon and Eric McGraw.

Young David Freeman (Cramer) is out in the woods near his home in Fort Lauderdale when he falls down a ravine and is knocked unconscious. Waking up he finds that the world around him has advanced by 8 years but he hasn't. After being reunited with his overjoyed parents, it becomes apparent that David has had an encounter with a extra terrestrial life form, which of course greatly interests the authorities...

It's a family friendly sci-fi with a difference, in that it doesn't have to take us into space for its tale, yet this in no way detracts from how enjoyable Flight of the Navigator is. It is told from young David's perspective (with Cramer impressionable), thus it firmly engages the kids in the audience. The relationship between David and the Phaleon computer system (Reubens) engages with witty chatter and educational purpose, and the effects work should not be taken for granted either. If we are to be picky then the build up is a touch long before the pic goes "extra terrestrial", and Cartwright and De Young are barely given time to impact as parents coming to terms with a family life turned upside down. But small complaints really and this is a lovely film, one that isn't just for 1980s nostalgists. 7/10
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2014
I watched this film when i was younger and loved it! Of it`s time the special effects are brilliant!! Made in 1986 and still hasn`t aged!! It is about a 12yr old boy who trips over in the woods and wakes up 20yrs later, but for him it had been a few minutes! Then the story continues with him trying to go home and his family do not live there anymore. Government get involved when a spacecraft appears and contacts the boy etc etc etc. A brilliant film by Speilberg, if you love sci-fi this ones for you, i would recommend it to other fellow fans! @:0)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2000
Not being a big fan of Sci-fi I didn't want to enjoy this film but what can I say, the film is a gem, with the main characters and the space ships appeal I was totally enthralled from start to finish. A cult classic to be and a real heart warmer.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2015
This is a quality family film. Nothing sinister, nothing sexual, nothing corrupting. It's just a really nice film that all the family can sit down and watch together. The special effects are decent enough for the era and the casting is perfect. The story revolves around a young boy whom goes missing in the woods behind his house and his adventure before returning home. It includes missing time somewhat like Interstellar and a likeable visitor from way beyond our galaxy. I love the film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2016
I bought this to reconnect with my childhood or something like that. A great watch, takes me right back. Arrived fast.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2014
Great film but terrible transfer. Hence the 3 stars. (I wish Amazon would have two different star ratings, including one for production quality; the film itself deserves at least 4 stars, 5 stars for ET.).

I had to pump the 'sharpening' on potplayer all the way up just to make it viewable.

It's delightful and light hearted. I first saw it when I was 20 and it was a joyous movie moment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
I love all the old films from my childhood and this is one of them, you just cant beat the 80's, thank you
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
luv luv this film remember watching it as a young lad when it first came out and it been a fond fav ever since i have now introuced to my nephews who also luved it. it a classic alongside the goonies, it has,nt dated the effect still look amazing and the story line is strong get this if you wanna have a flashback to your youth or any family member age 10 to 15 will find this a great film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2003
An excellent film with a good cast. Sarah Jessica Parker (Notable for her role in the film 'Somewhere Tomorrow') is great.
I gave four stars for the film. Unfortunately the DVD version does little credit for the viewer! Firstly the film has been crop to give a widescreen appearance as it presented in the cinema. However the vhs version is the Full/Screen 'whole' print of the film therefore you are missing out if you are used to the TV broadcasts when it is shown or the vhs.
This film deserves better on DVD.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2016
Bought as a gift - i have never seen the film but the recipient was very happy! :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse