Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
44
4.5 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 January 2014
The most famous sketch is that of the dead parrott ("just resting..."), but I preferred the planned expedition to Kilimandjaro, with a guy having to hide one of his eyes, so as to avoid seeing everything in double... Imagine his trouble when at the end he sees a
woman in swimming suit, with her two breasts... Also liked Ministry of strange walking.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2011
As 'didi-5' (via IMDb website) said about this film:

"Monty Python used this collection of sketches from their first and second TV series (re-packaged and staged again) to break into the American market. A gamble, but a successful one.

All the greats are here - Parrot Sketch, Dirty Fork, Hell's Grannies, Fresh Fruit Self Defence, Marriage Guidance - and more besides. The animated links, specially created for the movie, are funny and well put-together: and new versions of Killer Cars and the story of the Spot are excellent. In many cases the film versions of the sketches outshine those in the TV series and are more memorable, particularly those which first appeared in series 1.

This is a very good introduction to the team and a strong reminder of their early work for the BBC."
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2001
monty python has always een one of my favourites and i would strongly reccomend this video to any fan. look out for wonders like the dirty fork sketch and classics like ,the upper class twit of the year.and the,dead parrott. a fantastic compilation of all the best sketches.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2000
Monty Python has always been one of the comedy greats, so this video should come as no surprise as to the legendary wit and humour that all those involved had. Although a collection of sketches and skits from the series Monty Python's Flying Circus, 'And Now For Something Completely Different' still has areas in which you will laugh in. One of the best comedy compliations I've ever seen.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
1971 and Python release this movie at the cinema!!! I wish I had the chance to see it on the big screen and sharing a laugh with the rest of the cinema goers! Anyway, this is some of their good to best sketches from the televison series. I actually prefer these ones, there is more effort and polished feel to the sketches (especially the "dirty fork" and "wasn't smelly" clip just so much funnier). Yeah, ok, we've seen them all before on TV but it's Monty Python and the movie just about stands up today. Some sketches are ok, some are just as funny as when we first saw them. Most of the time I know what is about to happen and I still laugh, just a little gem of a movie. Also, if you are not familiar with Python then it's a great start to one of the best British comedy ensemble there ever was!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2013
If you are into Python, then you will love this sketch based film, with some of the very bestest sketches shown here. Many of my personal favourites in fact! ( killing Joke, Blackmail, upper-class twit of the year, trouble at mill, etc ) plus some of Terry Gilliams superb animations ( killer cars, old lady at the bus stop ....) completely brilliant and never fails to have me in stitches!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2004
My friend recently introduced me to monty python and I'm glad he did!
The first film I saw was 'Monty Python and the holy grail' followed the next day by 'Monty Python's Life of Brian' (By the way these are both classics, buy them ASAP!) but next in line was 'And now for something completly different.' What a great film!
I give it four stars as it doesn't make you laugh all the way through the film, but the bits that do make you laugh are very funny. Especially the dead parrot scene, which I feel is the best scene of the lot. Anyway, make your own mind up, and buy or rent this film!!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2004
This film consists of reworkings of sketches from Series 1 & 2 of Flying Circus. If you havnt seen the TV series then this sums it up really. It includes classic sketches such as The Hungarian Phrase Book, Dead Parrot Sketch and Self Defence Against Fresh Fruit. Great stuff!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 January 2017
Nigh on half a century later and this Monty Python’s Flying Circus sketch-based film of 1971 still demonstrates that Messrs. Cleese, Chapman, Palin, Jones, Idle and Gilliam remain almost unique in the world of comedy with few obvious comparators. Their mix of the surreal, manic, silly, grotesque, camp, tasteless and risqué (the latter personified here by the delectable Carol Cleveland) had at least some of its roots in the likes of The Goons, Pete n’ Dud, Marty Feldman, etc., plus contemporaries The Goodies and Kenny Everett, and writing contributions to That Was The Week That Was and I’m Sorry I’ll Read That Again, but really the Pythons were much further 'out there’, pushing the boundaries of taste and censorship more akin to the modern-day Chris Morris.

Particularly innovative, of course, are Terry Gilliam’s animations, which are typically used (in both TV series and this film) to link the sketches, and are as defining a feature of Monty Python as the sketches themselves. Watching again, it is notable how much the focus was on parodying the middle and upper-classes (an influence, no doubt, of the team’s time at Oxbridge) and there are a number of legendary (and otherwise memorable) sketches here, including The Dead Parrot, 'Nudge, Nudge’, The Lumberjack Song and The Upper Class Twit of the Year, plus Hell’s Grannies, the film director interview, dirty fork in a restaurant and the accountant interview. Well worth revisiting, as are, of course, the even better follow-up films, Monty Python And The Holy Grail and Life Of Brian.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2015
Monty Python Comedy Geniuses? No Doubt.The sketches in this Movie Brilliant ? Without question.All new material made specifically for this Movie?.......Nope.Most of what we see has already appeared in the Brilliant,Groundbreaking TV Shows and One gets the feeling that this Rehash (Though Really Funny) was put together to appeal to an American Market or similar area that would widen their appeal.Like I say,still Amazingly Funny but nothing we've not seen before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)