Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
28
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.45+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 January 2009
Well I will start with the positives of the film.

Well the first scene consists of an underwater sex scene. Female nudity within the first 60 seconds is starting to set off a warning in my mind that the film I am about to watch will be awful. While this has to be one of the most random sex/death scenes I have seen in the start of a film.

Now the film does not get started until half way through it seems they buffed out the first half of the film with female nudity and a total lack of plot.

So you managed to watch through that? Well now the plot begins well what little there is. To be fair the killer fish create the small enjoyment there is in the film. For some reason the flying piranhas always go for the neck which allows you to laugh at actors holding plastic fish to their necks.

For some reason there is a scene of cannibalism by the fish yet they are not eating all the humans bodies and a few times only the tissue round the neck. So a major question has to be if they are so hungry they are eating each other why are they not eating the humans they kill?

One of the major positive things about this film has to be it at least has a connection to the first film not much but some. It comes in the form of a brief conversation which was nice considering how many sequels to films do not even do that, Troll 2 would be an excellent example.

Ok the negatives.

1. The lighting was too dark.
2. The acting.
3. Female nudity for no reason except to try to increase the film length.
4. The lack of a plot until about half way in.
5. No special features on DVD.

I recommend watching this if you are interested or enjoy B movies but apart from that I simply say avoid, could be worth picking up for under a £1 for a cheap laugh.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2011
Before I begin I'd just like to point out that this is actually "Piranha 2: Flying Killers" (a sequal to the original version of "Piranha") with a different title.

Once again unsuspecting holiday-makers are threatened by flesh-chomping fish. But these piranha can fly around in the air due to humanity fooling with nature (or something). So there are more killings and mayhem. This is quite a fun film to watch. It's nothing spectucular, but it's nothing too demanding and it entertains. The ever-reliable Lance Henriksen is good in his role and the flying piranha are kind of amusing to watch.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 March 2006
... it's a fish.
"Piranha" was borderline stuff , but this film totally goes over the top as mutant piranha fish return to terrorise a beach resort on a tropical island. This time however , they all appear to have interbred with flying fish , so restrain your disbelief as you watch bat-like ,carnivorous fish flying around the resort causing all kinds of mayhem. This is a crazy film and it is a pity that they never got round to filming "Piranha 3"; maybe if they had they might have had the fish grow little arms and legs as well and that really would have been the icing on the cake. Is there any chance of a Hollywood CGI based remake of "Piranha" in the near future ?
22 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2002
Most of us have considered the possibility of dying in a horrific flying accident; a thought chilling enough to bring anyone out in a cold sweat! In his film 'Pirana II - Flying Killers', the director, James Cameron, lends another dimension to our fears, as he depicts the very real possibility of fish evolving into flying killers! Throughout history, fisherman have reported sightings of strange, 'fish like', flying creatures. Although these fish can only fly at around ten feet above sea level, for a distance of only a few yards, their intensions are obvious; the persuit of human flesh. Throughout the film, the director deals with this delicate issue in a very professional manner. The film is a thought provoking portrayal of the extremes
of human nature. Firstly the viewer is subjected to the realisation of human greed, coupled with the depiction of our tendancy to go 'into denial' over matters that we find to terrifying to face. This occurs 'Jaws style', as the autorities refuse to listen to the advise of people who have not had their priorities clouded by averice. Although the director shows the darker side of human nature, some brilliant acting from both: Tricia O'Niel, and Steve Marachuck, restores the viewers faith in mankind, as they battle to save the world from this terrible foe. The outcome? I recommend you find out for yourself, and, after watching this, I wonder if you'll ever feel safe to go near the water again!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2000
the best b movie type horror film ever. because if its cheap budget, this film is the funniest film in the world, well worth buying.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2010
Well what can I say about this film? It's one of the most humorous/ridiculous/terrible films I have ever watched. It's hard to believe this is directed by the same man that brought us The Terminator and Aliens.

The plot, what little there is, could barely fill 30 minutes, much less 90 of them. The first half of the film is a complete waste of time and it's only when the titular flying Piranha appear that anything close to entertainment can be gleaned from this horrible mess. But oh what fun can be had, approximately 2 stars worth out of 5 for me.

All of the death scenes are hilarious, flying piranha have to be amongst the most absurd 'monsters' ever considered for this type of film. I can picture the discussion now as to the plot:

"So Piranha are scary, but what if nobody is in the water?" says Producer One.

"Well let's make them fly!" says Producer Two.

"That's amazing, now let's blow the budget on beer and sweets and try to make the whole thing for £5" says Producer Three.

My advice? Only watch this after consuming ridiculous amounts of beer with your friends and if you're able to obtain a copy either for free, or less than 30p. If not give the money to charity and use the 90 minutes of your life to do something beneficial for the human race.

Let's just be thankful that Cameron learnt from this and was allowed to move on to bigger and better things.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
Was a let down after watching the initial Piranha film (which was a black comedy). This was supposed to be scary but was frankly OTT by a long mile! Big yawn!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2015
A Terrible Early entry in James Cameron's directing career that He'd rather forget.Its only saving grace is an appearance by the Great Lance Henriksen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
Sadly the directors messed up big time! Nowhere near as good as the first piranha film made, I would give this a miss
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2015
James Cameron first movie is not that bad I enjoyed this b movie and is a good sequel to the original piranha movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here