Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
102
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.87+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 October 2004
It's about time his first series was released! And I'm sure he's been waiting for it as well, joking about the wait on the featured commentary with Patrick McGuinness(Paddy) and Craig Cash (Early Doors & Royle Family fame).
Six episodes with 15 different characters played by Peter Kay, before his Phoenix Night's fame. Including Brian Potter at the Neptune Club, Marc Park the soon failed pop 'star', Leonard the oldest paper boy in Britain (Based purely around a old friend of Peter's), Matthew Kelly and his first night as a steward at the M E N Areana and the famous Keith Lard, the fire safety officer.
The series has it all. All of Peter Kay's best creations on one DVD, even Max and Paddy make an appearance a long the line.
The DVD also has commentary, superbly done by names already mentioned, out-takes and alternative endings which are best left as out-takes and the pilot episode 'The Services' where you can see how Peter Kay's fame started brewing.
If you're a Northerner, you'll love it!
0Comment| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2004
I remember this series going out way before Phoenix Nights and to my amazement nobody seemed to have seen it before the Phoenix was opened. I was delighted when I heard that this DVD was coming out because it shows Peter Kay in another situation other than in his wheelchair as Brian Potter.
Basically it is a spoof documentary series broadcast during the height of pointless documentaries. It features the fore runner to Phoenix Nights with 'In the club' with all the actors from the Phoenix but this time in the Neptune for Talent Trek. You get to see much of what was to come for Phoenix Nights.
There are 6 more episodes equally if not more hilarious as a hapless Boltonian is at the centre of the documentary.
Very clever and hilarious, if you like Peter Kay, or if you are proud to be Northern, then you have to buy this DVD. I demand you.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2004
Following the lives of people from Bolton in a documentary style this is the Peter Kays first comic masterpiece.
Although I don't think this is as funny as Phoenix Nights its just as entertaining. Its where all his creations in P.Nights stemmed from; and most the actors pop up in it somewhere too. Kay plays all the lead characters in this series and you start to forget its him under it all. Set in a bingo hall, working club, service station, paper shop, M.E.N arena, ice-cream van...the variety he plays is incredible. If you love Peter Kay, you'll love this!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2007
This is Peter Kay's first series. This then runs into the two series of 'Phoenix Nights', which then run into the series of 'Max and Paddy's Road to Nowhere'.
It is typical Peter Kay...absolutely fantastic, and brilliantly narrated by Andrew Sachs (Manuel from 'Fawlty Towers'). Not as good as Phoenix Nights, but then they were exceptional. Six briliant episodes set in and around Bolton, with the first episode being set in the 'Phoenix Club'.

One of my favourite sections is from the fifth episode, which introduces Leonard-Britain's oldest paperboy. It is as follows:

Leonard: People around here may think I'm a bit odd, but then I ask them 'What hand do you wipe your bum with?' (to cameraman) Go on, which hand do you use?

Cameraman: Erm...my right hand.

Leonard: Yeah, well I use toilet paper. Who's the odd one now?!

Classic stuff!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2006
This was the series that first brought Peter Kay to my attention and I would recommend it to any fans of his. Its as good, if not better than the follow up series to one of the episodes, Phoenix nights. Each episode has a different setting in or around bolton, and follows people of various professions in their day to day lives.

Each episode, whilst following wildly differing characters, has the distinctive Peter Kay stamp on it, and is invariably full of very dark humour and pathos, as well as the more mainstream comical scenes. I would say its darker than some of his later offerings- the scene with the ice cream man and his raspberry sauce in a darkened room is bordering on the surreal. But its never anything less than brilliant- Peter Kays incredible character acting means that all his characters are imbued with a real depth and usually a vulnerability which makes them likeable. The observational comedy is, as in his standup, faultless. I'm pretty sure Peter Kay could have taken any one of these episodes and turned it into a sucessful series, as he did with Brian Potter. Hilarious from start to finish.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2004
I encourage anyone to buy this. Its so amazing. Basically for Phoenix Nights viewers it Brian Potter, Max and Keith Lard. Plus a whole loda of other characters. A MUST BUY
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2004
Well, it's been a long time since this was on telly, but it's well worth the wait. This show spawned the full series of Phoenix Nights, so if you like Brian Potter and chums, you'll love this.
Basically it's 6 episodes of comedy 'mockumentarys'. Those of you familiar with Phoenix Nights will recognise a few characters. Who could forget Keith Lard, the Fire Safety Inspector who has a reputation for liking all things canine...
As if that wasn't enough, on the bonus disk is the equally outstanding one-off show called 'The Services'.
All in all, another classic from Peter Kay.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2004
Long ago, in the days when Max & Paddy were still bit part players, Peter Kay was experimenting with all sorts of exotic Bolton characters and this is their story.
As an announcer with Channel 4 I had the pleasure of introducing many of these brilliantly observed vignettes first time around, yet to see them again with all the little extras is pure pleasure.
Highlights are The Services, Kay's celebration of the British motorway pit stop, along with plenty of out-takes including an amnesic Jim Bowen. Just don't let my voice-over on the trailers embedded on disc 2 put you off; I'm still hoping for an overnight slot on Chorley FM!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2005
This is a brilliant DVD and the 6 eps are cleverly crafted to fit together with certain characters re-appearing in other eps along with the constant mention of Bob and spit the dog!
Loved Leonard the oldest paper boy in Britain and also Marc Park the failed pop star. Some brilliant lines and this is one DVD not to be missed.
Excellent!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2015
Oh my god this one killed me - Peter Kay plays his characters brilliantly and his ability to change his accent is fantastic. If you have read his first book 'That Peter Kay thing' you will see connections between that and this DVD with some of the skits in it.

Very cleverly done, very funny and well worth the purchase if you are a Kay fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)