Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
20
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.65+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 January 2008
A variation on the theme of Scrooge/Christmas Carol, where Susan Stone (Ally Walker) is visited by the "ghost" of her past, herself at the age of 7, and makes her realise just what a grump she has become! Little Suzie convinces big Suzie to make changes. The spirit of Christmas is alive and well!! A lovely movie which does make you wonder, just how would you react if your younger self came to visit you? Loved it!.... every household that loves Christmas should own a copy of this!
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 December 2007
After having watched a few humdingers this Christmas in the straight to video stakes, this one was OK (just OK, mind).

After settling down with my mince pie and almost persuading my husband to join me (I told him that the cheerleader from "Heroes" stars in it, which got him half way to the couch until he found out she's 8 in it and made a hasty retreat) I actually managed to get to the end and heave a tiny satisfactory sigh. Brilliant is certainly isn't but it did warm the cockles for an hour or two.

Susan is a 40-something, divorced, bitter workaholic who hates Christmas and just as she's been cast out of her brothers house for telling her 8 year old neice that Santa isn't real, she slips and bangs her head. When she gets back to her appartment she meets her 8 year old self (Cheerleader from Heroes - who is very overly dramatic and stage-school brat in this, by the way) who wants to do all the stuff they used to do like go ice-skating and to the opera. Of course, grumpy Susan thinks she's going mad and is having none of it. To cut a long story short, Susan discovers that being a scrooge isn't such a good life afterall and even manages to fall in love.

It's cheesey, not the best acting in the world or the best plot, but it put a smile on my face and made me feel a bit Christmassy so it can't be all bad.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2015
If You Believe is one of those feel good films....susan, a book editor.....has become a bitter divorcee who hates anything and everything to do with Christmas....those that are left of her family distance themselves from Susan....one night she falls and bumps her head to find her younger self has returned as a ghost to haunt her and tries to make Susan understand that the inner child is crying out to be that child within her life again....Susan is sent to work with an author to edit his story and goes to stay at his home, she experiences the joys and happiness she once felt as a child and later realises as she leaves the author that she has fallen in love with him.
There is a moral to this film as younger Susan just wants to show Susan the things she loved as a child and to listen and become that younger child once more....
Some may say that this film is one of those cheesy made for TV films, but to be honest, I loved it and still own this DVD....it comes out anytime of the year as a pick me up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2009
As a collector of Christmas films, it is a lovely way to pass a miserable rainy day and with all of this genre, there is a great deal of morality, actually it is a film for any day of the year, enjoy!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2008
I really enjoyed this film...much more than I thought I would.
The premise of the film is that an unhappy thirtysomething woman is banned from her brother's family Christmas for telling her niece that Santa doesn't exist. She's then visited by a ghost of herself aged 7 with the aim of showing her just how grumpy she has become.

What sets this apart from the normal 'straight-to-video' film is the acting from the two female leads. I normally can't stand 'cute' kids in films. Fortunately cute wasn't called for. They played off each other wonderfully and for that reason it was very easy to accept the idea of a ghost.
I would recommend this for Christmas Eve viewing....grab a hot chocolate and relax!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
a good story line to bring a sense of reasoning to a bitter workaholic her marriage (if you can call it that) had failed she fell out with her brother and his family but then her work started to fail was she really visited by her seven year old self or was it the bump on the head which brought her back to the real world
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
From a cute little ghost to a handsome hero, the chast of this charmiming Christmas tale does its best to bring joy into a jaded young lady's life. Watching this will become a regular event for me around Christmas each year.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2013
Susan Stone a 30 something workaholic has stopped believing in Christmas. When, one night, she slips and bangs her head her seven year old self appears as a ghost to remind her of who she once was and about the spirit of Christmas.

This was too much of A Christmas Carol meets the Scrooge for my liking - I can't stand either film. It was a slow paced film and a bit boring in places. There was some entertaining scenes but they were few and far between. The two main female actors worked well together, almost as if they were playing off of each other. It definitely had the cheese factor with a not so great story line or the greatest acting but like most Christmas films you just can't help but smile.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
Yes this film is old now but I love it. Watched on tv so was delighted to find I could order. Look out for Hayden Panettiere as the young girl who is now one of the stars of Nashville.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
Received in excellent order and what a bloody good film with excitement and thrills to keep you engaged and watching, brilliant and enjoyed from start to finish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here