Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
28
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 February 2013
I bought this as I saw this first when I was 12, and got reminded of it on a museum trip.

This was a lot darker and a lot more mature than I remembered, but that didn't take away from its enjoyment. It's completely enrapturing, such a basic but intense story, and imminently enjoyable. Don't show it to kids younger than 10 though as the imagery is, as I mentioned, mature.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2012
This is one of those classic movies you can't forget. This is the movie of my childhood and its amazing, made by the same people who made the animated lord of the rings so you know its going to be pretty cool. I would recommend this film to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2008
This IS a classic! I loved Ralph Bakshi's Lord of the Rings when I was growing up but I missed this one. The script written by Roy Thomas and Gerry Conway is simple but not flawed like LOTR. The action is sooth and fluid and wonderful to look at. I gave this DVD 5 stars because of presentation and extras. The Frank Frazzetta documentry is worth a tenner on its own!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
There was a certain time in the 1980s when barbarian fantasy movies were the movie trend du jour, which is presumably how Ralph Bakshi and artist Frank Frazetta got the go-ahead for "Fire and Ice." It's basically a gauzy wisp of a plot that is filled with hilariously cheezy dialogue, semi-nude damsels and other fun things dredged from the imagination of a 13-year-old swords-and-sorcery geek.

After the Ice Age, evil queen Julianna and her son Nekron (?!?!?!) decided to conquer the world with his giant telekinetically-controlled iceberg. The only place they haven't squished or conquered is Firekeep, so they kidnap King Jarol's almost-naked daughter Teegra -- but she escapes, and ends up encountering Larn, a strapping young barbarian whose village was wrecked by Nekron. They fight, she runs away, and two minutes later they're prepped for the horizontal mambo.

But after a Random Monster Attack knocks Larn out, our inept hero wakes to find that Teegra has been taken by Juliana's subhuman minions. So he joins forces with a mysterious hooded man named Dark Wolf, who apparently is POed at Julianna for reasons never explored in-story, and wants to kill Nekron (again, for reasons never explored in-story). Together they plan to take back Teegra and save the world, blah blah blah.

"Fire And Ice" is is basically your run-of-the-mill barbarian fantasy story, so it doesn't have much of a plot beyond Save The Shapely Damsel And Defeat The Threat Against The World. Blatant sexism ("Waa, nobody takes me seriously, so I'll roll around in a string bikini!"), hinted racism, a designated Evil Gay Villain, and a seemingly endless list of plot holes (Teegra is unable to escape an OVERHAND KNOT?) and inconsistencies (why can subhumans scale a cliff but not a TREE?).

And the whole thing is CHEESY. The dialogue is cheesy ("You may have caught me, but you'll never give me to Nekron!"), the monsters are cheesy (pirouetting kraken attack!), and the cheesiness of the climax could make enough grilled sandwiches to feed the entire world for a year. And it's pretty funny at times in its earnestness, with dialogue filled with unintentionally hilarious moments ("Give me your love," Teegra's dad says to his almost-naked daughter) and action scenes (two guys in speedos whacking each other with swords! Hello Freudian symbolism!).

And the whole thing is done with mind-blowing seriousness. Well, except for a few scenes of sexual symbolism that just have to be tongue-in-cheek -- like Nekron writhing and screaming as his magically upthrusting pillars of ice explode in sprays of liquid. That can't possibly be serious.

The reigning character here is Dark Wolf, a butt-kicking and level-headed guy who wears a cat-eared executioner's mask and STILL looks tough. He also sneezes more brain cells than our hero ever did -- despite being The Designated Hero, Larn never actually succeeds in anything he does. And Teegra is basically there to scamper around the woods in a child's string bikini and writhe around suggestively to get male attention, like a pornographic Snow White.

"Fire and Ice" runs neither hot nor cold -- it's just a vast oozing mass of cheese, with lots of naked women and vaguely offensive undertones. But it's tailor-made for a nice drinking game.
33 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2013
Never stop enjoying this.exactly as I remember it.anyone that loves fantasy or anime should watch this.action, adventure a good ole battle of good vs evil.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
Classic film , more edging towards adult animation in terms of violence and scares .... love the animation style.

Classic 80s film .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2011
Best review is to say "excellent" enjoyed the mayhem,fighting and storyline. Fire versus ice.Alla man meets woman.Ugg Needs! Woman like That!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2004
Excellent animation, which beats every present day computer made graphics. Thrilling story. Really an epic work. Shouldn't be missed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
dated animation that not stood test of time, animator got cult following.not patch on 70s animated version of lord of the rings
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
i chosed this rating cause it was interesting,there was nothing i disliked about this dvd and would recommend to my friend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)