Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 31 July 2003
Well, just watched the first season box set - FANTASTIC!!!! It was great to go back to the first episodes and remember what they used to be like.
The first few epsiodes deal with Pacey starting an "affair" with his teacher while Joey, Dawson and Mitch discover Gales affair with Bob. All very exciting stuff!!! This is ontop of Joeys growing desire for Dawson while he wants Jen who's not sure what or who she wants. Dawson and Jen start dating, Joey dislikes Jen for this, she eventually gets her first kiss from a rich kid.
Then Jens New York boyfriend appears and then she ends it with Dawson. He mopes about for a bit before realising that he loves Joey and at this point Jen realises she made a mistake. Joey visits her dad in prison and finally confronts him, with help from Pacey, about how she hates him for what hes put her through. Then the season ends with the first Dawson/Joey kiss.
This is definately a must see for all! Roll on season 2 box set!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 August 2003
Thank God series one has eventually found its way to DVD! Now I've watched it, I can't wait for series two to do the same. Anyone have any ideas when it's due out? This box set has to be my best buy this year - a must-see for all DC fans. Relive the early days over and over again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2003
re-live the first season of Dawson's Creek with this great DVD box-set. commentaries on the first and last episodes are interesting and provide an insight into the thoughts of creator Kevin Williamson. a must-have for all fans!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 April 2000
Dawsons creek arrives on video, and it did not actually take that long comparing to buffy. Though season one does not live up to seasons two and three there are still some fairly good episodes here. Many of you will not have seen Friday the thirteenth as it needed to be shown after the watreshead on channel 4, so it has only been shown once. But it's a god and scary episode that even mimicks scream due to having the same writer. Beauty contest is the first sign of dawsons love for joey, so it is definatly a key episode. though it's also rather comical. If you are a fan and like resseing these episodes it's definatly worth a buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 July 2005
First of all, I've only watched this First Season, so I cannot compare it to the following seasons. One of the many reasons I love Dawson's Creek, is that this show is much more realistic than other shows, such as Beverly Hills 90210. The characters are not rich kids who just happens to experience everything there is to experience in this world. These are middleclass teenagers living in a small town. Another important reason is that this show sympathizes with the underdog. Of course, Dawson's Creek is a commercial, mainstream show but these teenagers are not the cheerleaders and the jocks. These teenagers are the losers, the geeks, the underachievers! In my opinion, this show takes a lot of risks. The first episode ends with Dawson (James Van Der Beek) confessing to his best friend, tomboy Joey (Katie Holmes) when and where he prefers to walk his dog! To me other highlights include the Tamara-Pacey (Joshua Jackson) affair; it's one of the hottest on-screen relationships! To newcomers the show is, of course, exciting and fresh with all these new characters and situations - in the beginning, the show focuses on these kids' transcendence into adolescence and it's all really innocent and blooming. Gradually, the show becomes more serious and it becomes apparent that the Dawson-Joey relationship is developping and that they can never go back to being "just best friends". Especially the two last episodes, "Beauty Contest" and "Decisions" are really exciting; in "Beauty Contest" Dawson finally realizes what Joey means to him, and "Decisions" is probably the episode with the highest scale of action. SO many things happen in this episode; Joey visits her imprisoned father, which makes for the most tear-jerking moment of the whole season. And Dawson and Joey's kiss is really intense! All the actors and actresses are really great - of course, it's individual who you like best; I prefer Joey and Pacey. Katie Holmes is so convincing and I believe Pacey's character is highly underrated - he brings a lot of humour and excitement to the show. But not only that, he and Joey are the real underdogs of the show, with their dysfunctional families! They both possess a sarcastic sense of humour which they often use to disguise how they really feel... The humour is also one of the show's strenghs. It's really clever - provided by all the characters dialogue, which, admittedly, is a bit unrealistic, but all the better for the show - and often risky and biting! All in all - Dawson's Creek is a MAGICAL show. It is SO engaging and clever and witfull! It's a MUST!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 July 2003
It's funny how you associate a cetain past-time in your life with the songs and TV shows that were popular at that time. When I was 16, I watched the entire first season of Dawson's Creek. Much to my surprise, I got hooked and ended up watching the second, third, fourth and fifth seasons as well and currently watching the last season ever. Sure, the show was a little unrealistic. For example, when Pacey dates his English teacher and she never gets put in jail, or the constant coaching that Dawson's gives his parents and that other teens seem to give other adults in the show on a regular basis. Most 15/16 year olds don't have it together better than the adults around them. I guess a show needs to be a little unrealistic, otherwise it wouldn't be telivision. With that aside, the show was amazing! It flawlessly captured certain moments that all teens go through on their journey to adulthood. The excitment and confusion of love, the strong bind of best friends, the times when you know things are changing but you just can't figure it out, it's all here in the first season. Although seasons 1 through 3 were all great, season 1 stood out and captured those moments that make you smile and make you cry. When I popped this DVD into my player, it brought back memories of being 16 again. It wasn't just because I was watching Dawson and company struggle through adolescence again, it reminded me of where I was in my life when I used to watch this show. If you watched the first season back in 1998 like I did, go get yourself this DVD. You won't be disappointed. I can't wait till the other season's are available on DVD. Its a shame this show had to come to an end!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 May 2003
It seems strange to think that six years ago we where introduced to Dawson,Joey,Pacey and Jen.
In those six years we have witnessed these four characters go through every emotion,situation possible that a teenager could,but still without question Season one of Dawsons Creek has to be the best out of all the six years.
We witness early signs of a Pacey/Joey attraction,the famous jargon fuelled scripts and Dawsons fascination of film.
Not many people might have seen this particular season,but when you do you'll realise just why Dawsons Creek became a sensational hit,not only in the U.S.A but in England too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 May 2003
It seems strange to think that six years ago we where introduced to Dawson,Joey,Pacey and Jen.
In those six years we have witnessed these four characters go through every emotion,situation possible that a teenager could,but still without question Season one of Dawsons Creek has to be the best out of all the six years.
We witness early signs of a Pacey/Joey attraction,the famous jargon fuelled scripts and Dawsons fascination of film.
Not many people might have seen this particular season,but when you do you'll realise just why Dawsons Creek became a sensational hit,not only in the U.S.A but in England too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2003
This is brilliant. For all you Dawson's Creek fans out there this is a must have. The first series was by far the best and I had forgotten lots of the things that had happened since I watched it last. The over-analysing, long worded conversations are still as unbelievable as ever but that is one of the things that Dawson's Creek is all about.
The best of series one and two dvd was very frustrating as the story was lost due to the selection of the episodes. This new dvd set more than makes up for this!!
I can't wait for the series two dvd set so that I can continue with my Dawson's Creek marathon sessions
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 May 2004
This is the best series and the release of it on DVD has finally happened. It's set at the stages when the Capeside kids realise that they're growing up! It's just the four, Dawson, Joey, Pacey and Jen. It gives a great insight into the four main characters throughout the series and the goings on in the Creek which makes a rather interssting watch. Gradually other characters are introduced throughout the years, and thats why this is the best as it's gripping from the start.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse