Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 January 2006
this is snoop dogg when he was good, this is real gangsta rap, this album is laced with very catchy hooks and beats, and snnop dogg has a great flow, also good guest appearances from kurupt, lady of rage, daz, warren g and nate dogg, though this album is no great lyrical masterpiece and the lifestyle it projects is violent and sexist it was revolutionary for its time and its just oen of those albums you can put in your car stereo and play the whole way through, this is a must have any rap fan
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2003
this is quite simply one of the best rap albums of all time, fact. dirty bass lines, thumping beats, catchy melodies, great lines all from a guy with a colonel sanders beard. with dr dre producing the whole album theres not one bad tune. its packed with classics like gin and juice, who am i, and the awesome aint no fun. if you get the chance to hear that song listen carefully to the lyrics of nate dogg opening up the track. he raps like a 50s lounge singer with lines dirtier than hugh hefner. if youre just getting into rap music and want to build up a good foundation of the best rap then doggystyle is the perfect start.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2003
"I've never heard a perfect album, but I'd like to make one."
A direct quote from Dr. Dre immediately before the sessions for this album began. Did he succeed in making a "perfect album"? Of course he did.
With Doggystyle, he took everything which made The Chronic a classic and improved on it. The main difference between the two is that Snoop Dogg does nearly all of the rapping and Dr. Dre focuses strictly on production. I won't claim not to like Dr. Dre's rhymes. I get a good laugh out of them sometimes. But Snoop Dogg is perfect for this kind of material. This production suits no-one better than him. So it's only fitting that Doggystyle became one of the top 20 greatest Hip-Hop albums ever.
Even though it came so soon after The Chronic, Dr. Dre seems to have improved on his production by 120%. There's not a bad beat on here. They're all good. From the hypnotic "Lodi Dodi", which pays homage to Slick Rick (and sounds great when stoned) to the laid-back party track "Doggy Dogg World", everything is perfect.
And Snoop Dogg is just Snoop Dogg. An unbelievable vocalist who can flow over Dr. Dre's production effortlessly and with considerable class.
A true masterpiece. Buy it immediately.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2006
now, even though now snoop dogg is just another average rapper, is 93 he was the man, this album is a classic in every sense of the word, first off, the production is simply amazing, perhaps the best production on an indivual album of all time, all the beats are melodic g-funk, and every beat just makes you want to dance, thats whats so great about doggystyle, its so funky. snoops butter smooth flow and unbelievable wordplay is immacualte, this album also has extremely catchy choruses, and athough the lyrics may not be deep or meaningful, they are very catchy, and snoop actually has quite a good vocabulary on this, overall, this is a classic, and one of the best rap albums ever, if you dont have it, then you cant call yourself a hip hop head, peace
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2003
doggystyle is a work of tremendous importance,a influential album beyond belief.doggystyle represents more than a entrance to everything that is good about rap music,it has a style,taste,flavour and above all a big mind filling sound that makes you happy to be privelidged to listen to this work of art.
snoop is so good,yet so unselfish.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2016
I first bought this album as a teenager and it was the album that got me into Hip-Hop. Sometimes you listen to the music you did when you were young and it's just not as good as you remember, but that is really not the case with this album - it's still a classic. Snoop's lyrics are smooth, seamless and catchy, and the production values stand up very well even with today's hip-hop. While people might point to Straight Outta Compton as the album that really caused gangster rap to take off, this album really thrust it into the mainstream in the UK. It's just a shame that Snoop was never again able to reach the heights of his debut album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2004
Back in '93 Snoop Dogg and his little crew were real big. Him, Dr.Dre and the Dogg Pound, gangsta rap was the way forward. Nowdays, he is not respected as much for his music and as a result we tend to forget some of his earlier work. Some of these songs are classics, like Gin'n'Juice and Ain't no Fun. The song Lodi Dodi (originally by MC Ricky D and Doug E Fresh) is brilliant and I am struggling to find which one is better but in the end I always end up on Snoop Dogg. His smooth East Coast rapping stlye is a contrast to some of the recent works of those like DMX or 50 Cent. This is a welcome change nowadays. His lyrics are as silky as ever and are not all about how he shot someone a few times in the face but they are of trivial matters as well. Also, one of the brilliant things about Doggystyle is his links to other famous rappers. He raps amazingly with people Like Warreng G and in many of his songs his smooth voice goes well with Nate Dogg's orthodox style. All in all, I believe this album to be one of his best ever and in comparison to other Rap Albums, this one scores pretty high as well.
By Alecbizzle the Swizzle Dizzle.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2001
not only is this snoop's best cd by far, its also one of my favourite rap albums ever.
the music is just so good (dre stands tall), and the tight verses and hooks by snoop and co make this an absolute gem.
classic songs: gin n juice, murder was the case, serial killer, whats my name, ain't no fun, doggy dogg world, gz and hustlaz.
thinking about a rap cd, get this one
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2005
Well, what can I say, other than sorry im late. This album is old, but still beats the hell out of anything the likes of G-Unit or Cash Money released. However, I would have to disagree with a previous reviewer who said that lyrically, its one of the best of all time. The reason I disagree, is because of artists such as The Coup, Dead Prez, Talib Kweli, Mos Def, 2Pac and the outstanding Sage Francis. Dre, as far as a producer goes........well, I know he is good, but it just seems to me he takes one type of sound and changes it, which is admirable, but not too creative. As far as an MC goes, he should really leave it to the professionals like Snoop.
As far as the album goes though, it is excellent. For the time and genre, it sounds amazing, even now. The smooth flow of snoops rhymes are flawless, from one lyric to another he is the John Shaft of hip-hop. How can I not mention "Lodi Dodi" as an all time classic, with the flow that was originally Slick Ricks, and also the song title inspired by the same man. "Pump Pump, also another great track aswell as "Gz and Hustlaz".
My advice is, if you are just starting out on the road of hip-hop, go back to its roots, being Digital Underground, LL Cool J, Tower of Power, Gill Scott Heron and not to mention Kurtis Blow!!! These guys were the real 'OGs' of hip-hop. Then proceed into the realms of snoop and Dre.
But if not, buy this album, very good, amazing even.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2001
I bought TOP DOGG before i bought this and loved that album so i just had to have more. People i knew told me about this album and i knew i was gonna have to have it. I was not dissapointed at all with smooth west coast rapping and the best production possible by the great Dr DRE this is a classic from the G Funk Era.
Some of the best songs i have ever heard are on this album two of them being " Who Am I" a bit of a ghetto anthem but ever so good. the other joint that will blow your mind is "Aint No Fun" you know the Mariah Carrey song with the video featuring Snoop Dogg and Da Brat i could never figure out why he was there until i heard this. This is the original and so much better than mariahs the catchy tune is still there but with the gangsta rapping over the top ot is so muh more than she made of it. The rest of the album is just as good with the best rapping i have ever heard and with complete DRE production this makes this snoops best album to date which says something because it is his debut. When he does better than this it will blow up the gangsta rap scene again keping snoops place as one of the kings of west coast rap very firm for a long time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)