Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
40
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.52+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 July 2006
Dont listen to these bad reviews, its a great album from start to finish. Nothing out sounds quite like this really! Sian's voice is haunting which is probably why the band have gone down this route rather than the old fashioned Drum and Bass, I think its still a very dancable album in places too! 'Wasting My Time', 'Recovery', 'Crawling' and 'all in my head' are proof of this

Cant wait till the new one comes out later this year!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2007
What an album, carring on from where they left off, I think Kosheen are like a good bottle of wine they get better with age. Doesn't dissapoint, may they keep going on and on for years!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2003
I bought this album at the same time as Kosheens first album 'Resist'. I found this album much more enjoyable than the superb first. Lots of guitar and vocals which is fantastic. Even more chilled than 'Resist'. 'All In My Head' is amazing, you must play this one very loud.
It is very different to 'Resist' which many people don't like, but I love it when bands perform different music styles.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2010
First album I have bought by these guys - really great stuff, solid tracks and if you do like the singers voice you will probably like all their stuff. Buy it and try it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2005
Having seen all the 1 star reviews I felt obliged to write as a music lover. Yes it is a change from their 1st album, yes it's not quite as good as the 1st album (hence my 4 stars not 5) but it seems Kosheen has unfortunately attracted a lot of chavs and the Vauxhall Nova set as fans from the 1st album who can't seem to handle change!!! If you can't handle change and a groups right to change then just shut up!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2003
This is the eagerly anticipated follow up to Resist and after two years you may ask yourself is it worth the wait? In a word, yes. Fans were promised "the dark edge of kosheen" in regards to the next LP and Kosheen have produced the goods. Sure, there are happy "pop/rock" tracks, like first single All In My Head and Suzy May for example. But Kosheen have NOT sold out but have evolved to the next stage of their music.
The appeal of Kosheen for me is that there music is original, different, somewhat genre-less and more importantly, good. Kokopelli is all of the above. Kosheen's unmistakable trademark sound is still as present today as it was in their debut album, regardless of the change in musical direction.
Avid Drum and Bass fans may be disappointed that this record lacks the Drum and Bass content that Resist contained but each track still demonstrates the band's d n b influences. Tracks like "Swamp" for example, which has no vocal content whatsoever, stays true to Kosheen's d n b roots. Whereas the track "Wish" has crossover potential between drum n bass and rock. But Kokopelli as a whole is a rockier album.
This is a natural progression for the band. Anyone who has seen them live would tell you that there strengths lie in acoustic vocal rock. Also, tracks on Resist such as Hungry and Gone for example contained the rock guitar elements present in Kokopelli. Kosheen have never hidden their "rock" side, so the rock characteristics of Kokopelli shouldn't really come as surprise. Perhaps if the band had stuck to their more breakbeat sound they would have been criticised for re-hashing the same old-same old. So it makes more sense therefore to evolve their sound. The key to success after all is introducing new fresh ideas and adapting. This is what Kosheen seem to have done.
Sian's vocals are as strong and as haunting as ever and this LP illustrates the full diversity of her voice. The album is rife with infectious guitar rifts as well, revealing the musical talents of Darren and Markee extend beyond the decks.
Stand out tracks on the album are Wasting My Time, Recovery, Crawling and Avalanche. All are down and dirty rock tracks but still contain the dark drum and bass influences. It would be criminal if Recovery isn't released as a single, as the remix potential is infinite with this song (my personal fave).
Like Resist, every track on Kokopelli has the individuality that allows that track to stand on its own. So Kokopelli should cater for everyone. Overall the genre of music Kosheen fits in may have changed but who cares. At the end of the day this album, just like its predecessor, is amazingly good. Good music is all people should be interested in, not what genre it fits into....enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2006
If your looking for a follow up album from Resist, then your going to be very disapointed indeed, long gone are the drum & bass beats from tracks such as Pride and Hide U from their first album, if your looking for a change then this might be the cd for you, but if your expecting the same type of quality dance as on Resist then you might just find yourself with another ashtray in the house..
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2014
Thoughly enjoy this album. Have two other kosheen cd's and I rate this highly.downloaded and uploaded to Amazon cloud and play through sonos. excellent production quality hence 5 star
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
I like Kosheen, so wasn't disappointed with this album. Arrived promptly and at a good price. If you liked 'Resist' you'll prbably like this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 September 2006
If 'Resist' was post-rave culturally aware sparky fun, Kokopelli is thoughtful and pastoral, but riddled with repetitive vocals in search of a digital remixer.

There's an interesting mention, in the inlay notes, that states how Kosheen are interested in the history and evolution of the Native American tribes. I hope this is true, 'cos there's nothing to show for that interest here. What you do get is some some nice post-rave culture ballads and Alanis style rants. A little ethnic apathy could have done wonders.

Surely all folk tales need to tell an important story? Kosheen seem to think saying 'put your lipstick on' (twice, in two different songs) is 'folk tale' for the post-rave people. The application of lipstick does not create the best anthems, unless Dennis Potter is writing the lyrics. So, come on Kosheen. I love the album, but let's sing, let's do anthem. Rave is over. You like the guitars, and the rythym, so break free and be the only band to survive the least desirable time in human history. Sian Evans has an amazing voice, so find something to sing about.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here