Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
27
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.46+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 August 2005
Ok iv'e just finnished listening to the album. i settled down and really listened and it is sheer brilliance! from the first harp chords of "noctuary," to the fade out of "light pattern," i was constantly interested. I havn't listened so intently to an album since i got Geogaddi By Boards Of Canada! this album is set to sore in my list of personal favorites. I recomend this as ESSENTIAL LISTENING for any one who is into Boards of Canada, Kruder and Dorfmeister or Diplo but also for any one just getting into the genre of Chill out electronica. I would advise anyone listening to this for the first time to settle down and really set aside some time to listen to it properly. Don't analise it first time round just let it take you where it goes. be prepared to be blown away by this album. overall a stunningly chilled album that makes me extatic about the fact that i own ear drums!
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 June 2003
Well Bonobo aka Simon Green is back and a welcome return to the king of chillout. Concocting what some might term organic hip hop this master of the genre has continued to redefine this genre. Dial 'M' For Monkey certainly doesn't dissapoint. There are eastern influences apparent throughout the album and they add an additional dimension to the overall sound. Yes this is definitely chillout at its best and all of the tracks on this album would grace any chillout compilation. This album is definitely an organic sounding masterpiece.
From the moment I put the CD on and heard "Noctuary" I knew that I was in for a listening treat and I have been rocking my head in appreciation at the carefully crafted beats coming together to form a magnificent whole most of today. There are cinematic experiences of film noir such as on "Wayward Bob" with its orchestral leanings and a great range of various flavours from cinematic to funky such as on "Pick Up" which could just as easily have appeared on a 70's Blackploitation film (seriously funky). This album really whet's the appetite and soothes. It is great when you can't pick an actual favourite and don't have the desire to skip a track on an album and Bonobo has done it again. My only gripe is that I would like a bit more music as it is just over 40 minutes but that is minor as the music takes care of everything.
All I can say is keep it up and we'll keep buying.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2003
Bonobo just keep getting better! It is not often the second and third album are as good as the first but Bonobo have proved that theory wrong. This magical masterpiece of relaxing tunes with body moving beats works a treat.
If anyone is into Royksopp or Lemon Jelly this is definitely worth considering. Dial 'M' for Monkey is the best album i have bought in a long time!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2004
What a superbly brilliant album! I was pleasantly surprised after never owning any of his releases before. As far as Ninja Tune Records, I've every release possible by Cinematic Orchestra (best band in the world says me!), but have found most of the labels' catalogue to be a little thin on the deeper funk. This was then most encouraging, maybe I'm just a little ignorant as of late??!
Running a bit on the short side (~ 45 mins) but not too worry, all tracks are fresh, inventive, (at times) upbeat, funky and MUSICAL with some highly orginal eastern intrumentation gelling into the mix. The depth of vibe created is wonderful with often a heavier feel, which I personally look for (Cinematics!).
I like this so much I'm to look into his previous releases too. Recommended!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2004
If you haven't heard Bonobo before, it's a kind of chilled-out music with a beat. This album is more like One-offs and B-Sides than Animal Magic.
The music sounds like it's painting a beautiful picture, but it keeps your mind active and doesn't send you to sleep like Animal Magic. Using the picture analogy, I'd say it's a picture album of places, not people. There's no vocals on this CD, just pure melodic rhythmic music.
A superb album which will last a long time in anyone's CD collection.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is Simon 'Bonobo' Green's first release on Ninja, and while a change of label can be bad news, a move from Tru Thoughts to Ninja was never going to upset the apple cart.
Dial 'M' is a very percussive affair. There is a constant sussuration, insects flitting in and out of the scene. Against this there is a rich backdrop of tone and shade. Melodies pass through, sometimes they linger, but Green has matured his style and no longer worries about structure. The music just happens. No samples, no lyrics.
Inevitably, I must compare Dial 'M' to Animal Magic. And it boils down to this...
Animal Magic was intelligent. It appealed to the higher order of things. And in this way it stood above the crowd.
Dial 'M', while undoubtedly similar, takes a different tack. It is visceral, not cerebral - it goes straight to the heart. This is a deeply emotional CD. Its a mother's embrace, a broken heart, a lover's touch.
In making this CD Simon Green has opened his heart and soul. He asks you to do the same while listening. But its ok, he will take good care of you.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2005
Ok Ive Just listened to this album and its awsome! im a huge fan of electronica and general chill out and this kept my mind active throughout from the first chords of "Noctuary," to the fade out of "Light Pattern." Id say this album is set to sore in my list of favorites, but it will take many a late night session for it to grow. If you like Kruder and Dorfmeister, Diplo or (my personal Favorite at the moment) Boards Of Canada this album is well worth an evenings listening. be prepared to be taken away on some beautiful journeys from the comfort of, well where ever you like to chill!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2003
Animal Magic was good and B-sides even better. This album brings more of that Bonobo style again that as the album kicks off has a great hook with the first couple of tracks and follows with a bunch of slow burners. Not a world changing album but very pleasant and good stuff nonetheless. Steering away from being stereotypically chillout, but keeping it minimal with focus on rhythm more than anything else, this one should be on the player for a while.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2003
"Dial M for Monkey" is my first Bonobo cd and to be honest, is quite impressive. His electronic tempos are a delicate mixture of smooth melodies, varying volumes and innovative sounds. His originality lies in playing with those three elements to suggest music rather than affirm it. This sophistication is not esoteric nor pedantic. It is just extremely enjoyable. The musical richness of their album compensates for the lack of lyrics. "Noctuary" for instance mixes harmoniously harp and electronic beats to create a mysterious carrousel of music that is simply enchanting. "Nothing Owed" is a cool walk in the night, poetic and refreshing, that free your mind from the hurdles of life.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2011
How many times has this happenend to you? Friends start talking about a band you know nothing about. You monitor their conversation closely, hoping to catch the name of this mystery act. Then on another occasion you find you ear being turned onto a tune or two, the titles of which are unknown, let along what record, or band has produced the tracks. That was how I got into Bonobo.

I usually find myself in the classic rock and blues sections of record stores (are there any left?) but this caught my ear. You can't listen to screaming guitar solos and crunching riffs all day, espcially when its late at night and you want something to soundtrack an evening with chums or summer BBQ. Step forward, Simon Green for he is Bonobo.

As I touched on, the tunes are whistful, delicate, melodic and quite wonderfully produced. I was wary of other low star reviews but if you are a fan of Air, Broken Bells, Mr Scruff or are an open minded rock fan then this is certainly worth a purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)