Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 6 June 2005
I bought this album because, unlike everyone else, i heard Instrumental on the internet first, I finally found out who created the classic, Rob Dougan, so on an impulse i bought the 2CD version about march 2004. The best thing ive done in my life (all 17 years of it). Since then i've always listened to it, nobody understood why i liked it so much, they thought it was bland, unusual. Until i virtually forced my friend to listen to it, now they love it. Ive even become good friends with my friends father because of me lending it to him!
this alum doesn't really have a genre, but i would say its more electronic/classical/dark(if its a genre). its so diverse theres bits of everything, this will appeal to everyone, maybe not the first time around, but after a week or so, you wouldnt know what to do without it.
Its all amazing, but Pause is something people would skip, as there is 33seconds of silence, and Prelude is at the end of numerous song on the instrumental disc.
best songs :- Furious Angels, I'm Not Driving Anymore, Clubbed to Death
the best song is Clubbed to Death II, although theres 1minuite of silence at the start, its a great chillout/classical track, the drums are a little heavy, but its still one of the best tracks ive heard in eons. If Rob was to release a track (he did release Clubbed to Death, but unfortunately only reached 11 in the UK charts over 5 years ago), Clubbed to Death II would be easily no.1 (how hard can it be, with a frog ringtone at the top?!)
Most of these tracks may seem familiar as they have been in so many movies, shows, adverts, you name it, he's probably made a backround track for it.
utter bliss. i did have something good to say, but there's no real words to describe the feelings you get from this ablum. the only way to know is to buy it and listen to it, preferably somewhere quiet( loud places will ruin the mood)
BUY IT, then force your friends to buy it!
a true hidden gem
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 May 2016
This came early than expected, great service from the seller, well protected. I don't have to say a thing about the CD, nice to have it back in the collection. Fantastic Music from a talented Bloke.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 May 2017
5 stars, it came in perfect condition and worked fine. As for the music one of very few albums I would break the rules on and give a 6 out of 5. Espeially for long drives, this music is unrivalled.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 April 2017
great chill out music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2018
Album good free for me if wanted was a gift and second hand and a bargain
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2017
Amazing!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 July 2015
Love the instrumental CD! It's a classic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 September 2005
I first heard of Mr Dougan through the tracks Furious Angels and Chateau on the Matrix Reloaded Soundtrack. I decided to get the CD on the spur of the moment, and I can safely say that it has changed my views on music ever since.
Not only does this album have the power and soaring sound of an orchestral backing, it also has the personality of Rob's deep, gravelly tones. Dark is a bit of an understatement for the lyrics (Speed Me Towards Death is not a feel-good song), but he could be singing about dancing wombats for all I care, his voice would make it sound serious and compelling.
Right from the opening notes of the choir on Prelude until the final beats had faded on Clubbed To Death 2, I was hooked. Dougan crafts his songs with originality and immense skill, and the result is astounding... This CD would really enrich your life, believe me. And all I've described so far is the first CD. I agree with another reviewer, who described CD2 as a soundtrack for your life; it is that and so much more. It's easy to see why the Wachowski brothers chose Dougan's music for their films. And you should choose it for your collection.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2003
Rob D is now famous for his "Clubbed To Death" track featured on the soundtrack of the successful film "The Matrix". This particular track consists of a solid slow beat blended with an orchestral symphony of sorts.
Rob D also recently put pen to paper with "Furious Angels (Instrumental)" to be featured on "The Matrix: Reloaded" soundtrack. Using the same ingredients, he again produced a masterly piece that somehow contains a good degree of originality. The composition flows perfectly and after a couple of minutes listening you'll be banging your head gently to the music.
If you admired the Matrix soundtrack you will no doubt love this album. Rob D has integrated a real orchestra into all the tracks, blending some powerful string symphonies with deep bass lines and straight-forward dance beats, mostly low-tempo. Be warned, there's a good degree of head rocking as a result of listening to this album, and i'm pretty sure fans of Classical, Dance and Chillout will no doubt love it.
It's particulary worth getting this edition, which includes the bonus instrumental CD. Most of the tracks on the first CD have vocals, which in itself has its merits, but it's even more interesting hearing the instrumental versions.
Overall, 5 stars because there's simply nothing as enthralling of its genre out there at the moment.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2003
After hearing Clubbed to Death in the Murphy's advert and then in the Matrix, I wanted to know who made it and where I could get more of the same music. It was a long wait, with practically nothing in the meantime.
Finally after many joint efforts with other artists and the release of the second Matrix film, Rob has released his first album. The music has come a long way from the first mix of Clubbed to Death (not that good) and is on par with the Kurayamino Variation of the same song (the one you've probably heard). You can tell there's progression in the music too with a greater use of original orchestral work (especially violins) instead of using the theme from Elgar's Variations and has far greater depth of sound. The Orchestra is slow in it's playing, with few intricate bits.
It is a good, entertaining CD. Why not 5 stars then? Perhaps his singing doesn't quite fit with what we've heard before and takes some getting used to. The instrumental CD is great, but one person commented that it's interesting but gets repetitive and (dare I say it) annoying. There are likenesses to a Chilled Ibiza album, with some of the tracks fitting in nicely to that category. The only thing that is missing on the second CD is the Kurayamino Variation.
I like it and it's my CD of the moment. The instrumental CD is better than the main one in my opinion and Furious Angels (instrumental) is something special. I would recommend this CD.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Album
£14.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)