Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
20
4.2 out of 5 stars
My Life [DVD] [1994]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 16 October 2017
Good movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2000
Please don't let the summary put you off as it is not my intention to do so. This film charts a period in a man's (Michael Keaton)life from when he is diagnosed as terminally ill. His wife has recently conceived their first child and the film chronicles his battle to stay alive long enough to see his child born. There is more to this film though. His desire to leave a legacy for his child and to resolve his long term, from childhood, issues with his parents not to mention the obvious love that he and his wife have for each other. Don't forget that Michael Keaton plays the comedic and staight roles extremely well and in this film he is both funny and sad. The film has an unhappy theme but he will still make you laugh and cry.
I'm no soft lad but this film is so touching that writing about it now I can feel the emotions build up inside me. I challenge anyone to watch this film and remain dry eyed. What's the message this film conveys ? Well that's down to the individual to discover. Enjoy.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2012
This is a true gem. Michael Keaton shows his qualities as an excellent dramatic actor. He plays Bob Jones who has a successful career, a beautiful and loving wife (Nicole Kidman), a newborn baby on the way, and incurable cancer to compete with the pregnancy. Bob starts making a video diary of his life for his unborn child.

Bob's idea is for the video to show his child what his father's life was like, and who he was. Through this video, Bob is able to reach beyond his years and share with his child some life lessons and family history that he would normally miss out on because of his death. What follows is an unexpected journey into his own heart, searching for the true meaning of life.

This is an excellent drama probing the essentials of life: family, love, commitment, health, happiness, life and death. It never becomes schmaltz or cliché. It is deep, penetrating, sensitive. A movie that moves.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2012
one of my top 5 fav films! I watched this as a kid and still watch it every couple of years. its has a couple cheesey moments i.e. the chinese healer bit that one reviewer mentioned but on the whole its brilliant! Please buy and recommend to all your friends as I think its a film everyone should watch!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2005
I watched this film with my mum and i have to say im not one of nicole kidmans biggest fans but i love this film. Micheal keaton is brilliant in it and if your like a good cry at a film then this would be the one to watch!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2004
MIchael Keaton is one off my favourite actors and this film sees him at is very best. If you have ever loved someone or someone you loved has had cancer then you'll feel your heart strings pulling as this is so realalistic you find yourself getting lost in the film. It's just amazin.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2011
Very emotional film, but very worth the watch. One for the collection. I'm really glad I was able to find it again on here, as I have trouble tracking it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
It's a great film, brilliant acting, spiritual and good family entertainment. It absorbs you into wanting to start a family and that love is there for you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2001
Michael Keaton, from my point of view, the best actor ever and Nicole Kidman not one of my favourites, but I see her in movies once in a while...like Batman Forever to name one. The movie is simply something new, better to be called a masterpiece. If you want to feel and see what the world is like, for certain people at certain times, this is the movie you should 'own' and not just watch. It's got a 5/5 at other places where it's been rated and I'd give it the same. Not one of the best, but 'the' best movie ever of such genre. It's got everything in it. When you've watched it, you will definitely log on and type a review on this movie. The movie's definitely worth owning. Michael Keaton's best performance.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2010
Good film, very moving.
I was slightly concerned the DVD was going to have foreign language on the cover, but this turned out not to be the case
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)