Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 July 2017
What a fantastic well made movie:...Emily Watson is in Oscar mode here and well deserved the cast storyline/script/acting and directorship is all top notch. A great movie that will have you right from the start to the very last second thoroughly engrossed but above all the rest Emily Watson acting is believe me just SUPERB and faultess...Do not miss this movie its much more than it seems what a PUNCH.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2017
I watched this years ago on TV although I couldn't remember too much about it but I enjoyed watching it again. It's a long film and far fetched but a good watch and Emily Watson is superb.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2017
I didnt find this disturbing or anti female, its a very unusual film, with great acting, saw it years ago and wanted to watch it again as I never forgot it, that speaks for itself.Emily Watson is one of my favourites, and she is brilliant in this.Only some of the men mistreated her in this, but it clearly shows that others loved her greatly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
Thought provoking, beautifully crafted film that stays with you. It is obvious great thought, care and deliberation has gone into this haunting film. Now I must read the book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
enjoyable and compelling story brought to life by fantastic acting. worth a watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2017
nice product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2015
Outstanding film
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2017
Great film! Will make you laugh and cry, as I did!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2011
firstly words cannot describe the performance offered up here by emily watson in her first movie role. Its simply a disgrace that she never won any 'awards' from the industry. but then again, the 'industry' always prefers to lap up the likes of lightweight bubbleheads such as angelina jolie and julia roberts rather than acknowledge true acting talent.

this is a truly bleak film. Shot in a hand-held style using grainy film stock (a truly inspired move), it has the feel almost of a documentary, and it certainly captures the feel of the early 1970's (along with the sublime music that introduces the various chapters) it is compelling, sad, shocking and powerful stuff. portraying unconditional love, mental illness and religious hypocrisy in uncompromising terms. At first i was somewhat confused and disturbed by watsons slide into sexual promiscuity and this side of the film is very uncomfortable to watch indeed. i was wondering if it was neccesary for the writer to go this far but after thinking about it i realized that it is an integral part of the story in order to demonstrate the characters intense love along with the depth of her illness. It is, however, exceptionally disturbing stuff

the only time i felt let down was by the ending where the husband, after being virtually paralyzed, in a coma, and at deaths door, is somehow up walking about on crutches with all mental faculties back to normal within a week or so of her death. This was pushing it a bit and i felt a bit cheated. i think this was a clumsy move and the ending could have been handled with more care. but still, this is a truly thought-provoking movie and highly recommended to those of you who prefer some depth in their viewing material rather than the usual tripe we're fed with
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2014
This review is of the new Artificial Eye blu-ray release, although I should point out that I rate the film itself as an astonishing piece of work and an unreserved five stars. This is one of the very rare cases where a blu-ray could be said to look *too* good. Breaking The Waves was originally shot on film, transferred to video and then back to film, which gave a characteristic low-res, washed-out effect. From what I can see, the HD transfer here has been taken directly from the source film - although some of the indoor scenes are very grainy, the transfer is sharp with a natural film look, and the tell-tale pre-HD video conversion artifacts are completely absent. The colours are still muted, which I assume has been achieved via digital grading. The transfer is also free from dirt and scratches which were present in the original Pathe DVD release. Whether Artificial Eye should have retained the intermediate video stage is debatable - the degradation of picture quality would certainly have been far more pronounced in HD. Personally I prefer the "straight" transfer used here. For a comparison, the deleted scenes appear to have been taken from a print with the original video conversion, as does the Pathe DVD. The HD transfer is 1080p 24fps, and features a DTS-MA 5.1 audio track. The blu-ray has some interesting extras including the aforementioned deleted scenes, commentaries and an Emily Watson screen test.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)