Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
8

on 22 October 2007
Like the man says in his own sleevenote; he just can't understand why this music did not sell.A true soul crime!
The classic album called 'Jeffree'had the two killer mid-tempo groovers-Love Is Gonna Last and Mr.Fixit.Both are featured on this fine set. Additional material from a few years later is included. Quality throughout for real soul fans.I am privileged to own a vinyl copy of the Jeffree album but I still had to get these grooves on CD.Looking at the sleeve Jeffree appears to still be out their singing-just hope he can keep it up til the world wakes up to this music. Sadly modern music fans will not appreciate this non-commercial approach.He would not get a vote on a TV talent show.Actually I lie-he would definately get my vote,no contest!.So true soul fans-lets keep Jeffree as our own little secret to enjoy.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 October 2014
Searched for this for many years was so glad I finally found it. What great memories. Loves Gonna Last and many other great tracks. So happy to finally have a digital copy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2015
Wonderful stuff
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 October 2014
i love it very impressed indeed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 December 2012
some fine tracks prefer the earlier tracks ie ... title track and call on me worth the purchase just for those beauties alone but over all fine soul music top quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 June 2003
Jeff Perry (Jeffree) is a superb singer who sadly never had the success he deserved. The sleeve notes tell a familiar tale of a great underground talent not getting the breaks, and make quite sad reading. This release will at least allow more people to give him overdue recognition.
Until now his recordings have been very difficult to get. If you've been lucky enough to hear any of them, you'll know what a musical giant this man is. This CD should not be missed by any soul connoiseur. All the material is mined from recordings in the 1970's and early 1980s. It includes his brilliant debut "Love Don't Come No Stronger" and some choice cuts from his brilliant 1978 album "Jeffree". Also present are some fine songs recorded around 1980 that were unreleased at the time. Best of all is the marvellous "Love Loan". There are no fillers here.
The only small gripe would be a wish that all of the 1978 album had been included. Longer sleeve notes would have been welcome as well. However it is the music that matters and you'd be hard-pressed to find better than this. Sublime!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2013
wonderfu,l love dont come no stronger got plays at Wigan casino. His Mr fixit album was a masterpiece, not a bad track here. Shame the whole mr fix it album is not on here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2015
Product came as described.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)