Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars

on 11 February 2010
Together, Deep Dish make for an intriguing and involving mix outfit, and this album is one of their best. Individually they have no apparent talent above that of a toothbrush. So enjoy their collaborative mixes and give Deep Dish 5 stars at every opportnity. You might just want to pop down the newsagents for some chewing gum when you put individual mixes on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 July 2015
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 September 2003
Global Underground's series reaches #25 with a 4 CD spesh from Deep Dish, inspired by their DJ set in Toronto's club, Guvernment. The Global Underground series is home to mixes from top big name DJ's such as Sasha, John Digweed, Danny Tenaglia and this is Deep Dish's second one to date. The first being #21 Moscow. Now, I found Moscow a bit of a murky affair, very dark, very tribal. It had some fairly big name tracks on it, such as their grammy award winning mix of Dido's Thank You and their version of Iio's Rapture, but I found it just a little bit TOO murky at times. The 2nd CD (which CAN be a trouble area with these mixes) just didn't sit together nicely for me. Started off promising but lost it in places. Toronto on the other hand, is a whole lot lighter and a much more melodic affair. Also, big name tracks have been steered clear of (many surprises to see P Diddy's Lets Get Ill, Triple D's Nobody Listens To Techno and Coldplay's Clocks left off there ... all big tunes in Dish sets worldwide). What you end up with, however, is a superbly crafted mix, and with 18 hour days over 3 months doing this, it should be too!
Disc 1 starts off with a dirty little breakbeat number, spiced up by Dish dropping a Julie McKnight (of Finally/Love Story fame) acapella over the top of it. From then on, we head into some lush light house music, less emphasis on tribal drums but subtle synths and melodies. Yoshitoshi artist Sultan appears on this disc many times, and his tracks provide the highlights for me ... especially the reworking of Valentino's Flying. Soft moods take a step into more 'Moscow' territories halfway through before a timely drop of Flying to lighten the mood. Moony's Doves also makes an appearence here.
Disc 2 shifts through some lovely moods, whether its the wonderful Planet Funk remix of Elisa's Time, Sander Kleinenberg going for the NY tribal sound on Work To Do, a nicely done Paul Rogers medley, which brings back memories of UK house such as Gat Decor, or the fooking fantastic Detroit/Slam-ish track by The Youngsters & Part 1 by Lowriders. Where Moscow failed, Toronto's second disc is amazing, managing to shift from progressive, to funky house, to electro with vocals and dubs sitting alongside each other nicely. The mixing itself, is amazing, but thats to be expected of DJs THIS good.
The GU series is really hitting high gear recently, #25 had alot to live up to after the frankly amazing #24 ... looking forward to whoever decides to take on #26. And I do hope the Afterclub series that accompanies #25 carries on from here on! Can imagine Digweed doing a fine fine chill out set.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 June 2003
For their all important 25th release GU have opted once more to go trans-Atlantic, wisely leaving household names Warren, Seaman, Sasha, Digweed and Emerson on the bench and passing the batton to Washington based giants Deep Dish. This is what the series needs in my opinion as the finest releases to date have both been from the US in the form of Tenaglia's Athens mix and Deep Dish' Moscow release, both of which showcased a refreshing move away from the trad progressive sound ploughed by the aforementioned names. Whilst the likes of Sasha and Digweed are undoubtedly superb DJ's, a series like GU needs variety in order to keep it vital and relevant.
For the hotly awaited follow up to their Moscow release, Deep Dish have certainly surpassed themselves with their Toronto set. Maintaining the tradition set by Dave Seaman with his Melbourne mix, this offering showcases plenty of local producers, once again giving their public the opportunity to hear plenty of tracks other than those doing the rounds in every big A list DJ's box. Of particular note are the tracks by Sultan and the Greek, both Toronto based producers whose tracks, 'Nitevisions', 'Rezin', and remix of Valentino's 'Flying', define the sound of CD1 as a tight, muscular yet compulsively melodic affair. Also worth mentioning is 'Sacred Dance' by Electric Mood, another gem amongst gems. CD2 has a tough act to follow, and whilst typically lapsing into a more upbeat, proggy flavour in accordance with the tradition set by the GU series, it pulls this off successfully offering up such standout tracks as GPals Seaside mix of Paul Rogers' 'Krafty', Miro's 'The one I run to', and of course probably the biggest track on the CD, the huge 'Nothing' by Holden and Thompson, although tellingly Deep Dish opt for the more obscure 93 returning mix which sums up their approach to this mix, confounding expectations yet delivering the goods on their terms. A strong addition to the series at a time when it needed it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 May 2008
I bought this several months ago unwrapped it played it and didn't think it was that good, put it away and never played it untill now!..... WOW! put it on tonight over a glass or two of wine and a takeaway with my girl and both of us thought it was simply amazing!!!!!!!... Very cleverly put together and mixed, really deep quality tunes. You just can't help but be sucked in by the mellow deep trance tunes that turn to beautifull melodic enriched vibes. Its just one of those cd's you put on and find yourself drifting away while tapping your feet or nodding your head its simply sublime... I am a really big trance fan and own loads of excellent mixes collected over the last 18 years and i have to say this is defo up there with the best of them and makes my top5. Buy it now and give it more than one try because its one of the best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 June 2003
The 25th release in the pioneering Global Underground series sees Deep Dish providing their 2nd GU mix. Their previous effort, Moscow, saw them showcasing a more progressive sound than usual. It was as though they'd made a conscious effort to fit the GU style, instead of letting their own sound speak for itself as previous contributors James Lavelle and Lee Burridge (Nu Breed series) had done to good effect. However, Toronto sees Deep Dish reverting to the luscious, funky deep house sound with which they've become synonymous.
This is especially evident on CD1 which is full of smooth house tunes that continually build throughout the mix. Things kick off with a punchy DD remix of Stephane K's "Numb", overlaid with a Julie McKnight vocal. The second track in also features a female vocal - Kuwaiti-born, Canada-based producer Sultan's "Nightvisions", which is an emotive, gliding track containing a hauntingly beautiful female vocal. This sets the tone for the rest of the mix as track after track boasting deep dreamy grooves and rolling beats passes by. Sultan weighs in with two more stunning tunes, "Rezin" and "Flying", both of which have an exotic, Middle Eastern feel to them. The mixing is spot on throughout, and CD1 definitely succeeds in putting the "Deep" back into Deep Dish.
As befits GU tradition CD2 is more uptempo. Right from the start DD display a harder edge by dropping several tougher tracks backed by feisty, soaring female vocals - most notably "Time" by Elisa, remixed by the excellent Planet Funk. Another early high point is the dropping of Sasha & Junkie XL's "Breezer" with its spine-tingling Balearic guitar. As the mix progresses the tougher, more progressive feel becomes more evident but DD always retain their funkiness and melody. The direction of both mixes is sublime and the surprisingly frequent (to me anyway!) use of vocals on CD2 gives it an extra dimension. All in all I can't speak highly enough of GU Toronto - it's definitely one of the better releases in the series and captures Deep Dish at the top of their game.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2003
Upon first listen to this album, I was very confused! The detail and class of the tunes left me wondering "what is this all about..." As I listened again and again I became addicted and found myself playing it on every car journey and at every spare moment I had. This is as good as, if not better, than the fairly recent Moscow album. I have since been out and bought both after-club mix CDs and both are of the same high standard. If you like it progressive and deep then buy this CD.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 June 2003
The boys from Iran, Dubfire & Ali deliver another masterpiece of quality Deep Progressive House Music that will yet again stand the test of time. I never thought they could match the brilliance of their other GU mix "Moscow", but they've proved me wrong. From the opening track "Diamond Life", you know you're on the right track to a long journey of brilliant musical experience. And it keeps getting better and better as you listen along. CD1 also includes a classic remix of Moony's "Doves (I'll Be Loving You)".
CD2 even gets better with tracks such as "Way2Tite", "Breezer" and "Work To Do". But the track that really stands out on CD2 for me is Miro's "The One I Run To". I straight away started looking for the sinlge version and am going to buy it when its available. Its a classic.
All and all, this is a hot mix and you know that DEEP DISH never fail to disappoint. I just wish I could've been there in Toronto to witness the whole party. Well done guys, you really know how to do it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2003
As someone who’s collected the GU series since they were single digit and who’s been waiting for something to come close to Sasha’s 013 Ibiza CD for nearly five years, I can’t recommend this enough.
It’s all excitement and big smiles here with two CD’s jammed packed with tunes. LIke Sasha’s 1999 masterpiece, this is another gorgeous journey into house music. I usually skip tracks and pick my favourites but it’s not possible with this offering. If you’ve been disappointed with GU before, renew your faith with this superb release.
Well done the Boxed Boys and Deep Dish for making the 25th Anniversary CD a classic. This unfit, old clubber wants to go out again.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 August 2003
A compilation that every prog dance music dancer, listener, producer, cluber, friend should have. this is deep prog. in its best and it is sure that its outstanding quality of sound will influence and affect many minds. Listen and feel! Feeling that cannot be discribed by any kind of words. You have to listen to it. Feelings' progression, mind's expansion, view's relocation, WITHOUT DRUGS! Pure quality dance music. its friends will love it, the ones that hate it sometime will regret their mistake. Years infront!
Feel free in you!
Theo Tag
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)