Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
21
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 June 2003
If you remotely like 999 (or 1977-1978 punk bands for that matter), buy this double offering, it's great value. The band's first two albums are included in full on this 'two for the price of one' offering. Both albums have stood the test of time well and like The Buzzcocks ~ Another Music in a Different Kitchen, still sound fresh with their clean guitar riffs and distinctive vocal style. Both albums were originally released in 1978 and include the bands singles like Crazy, Emergency, Homocide and Feelin alright with the crew. But unlike a lot of albums from that era the other tracks on the album are far from "fill in's", tracks like Rael Rean, Brightest View and I'm Alive outshine their more famous cousins in many respects.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2007
How this takes me back! As a childhood punk (well, lifetime punk in spirit!) I used to listen to both these albums endlessly. As happens to us old punks, we have to give in and buy our beloved vinyl treasures on cd or other digital means these days to keep up with the times;-) This cd is amazing value, and, unlike some other old favourites, the songs appear to have stood the test of time. Homicide and Emergency are two of the greatest songs of their era and still sound brilliant in 2007. If you don't know 999 (maybe too young to remember them) they were hard to classify. If you look at the covers and the very strange dress sense, you might wonder why people refer to them as a punk band. They're not in the mould of the Pistols, SLF, Clash etc, but they have their own sound that endures. Not sure about some of their later albums, though... don't think I'll be buying them again on cd... but this bargain compilation of 2 of their best albums is a must-have.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2007
Anyone starting with 999 after 31 years can't go wrong with this cd gives the first two releases a full airing and shows 999 at their best, from here you can jump on to Death in Soho, Takeover and dancing in the wrong shoes and if you can get hold of it You Us It
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2008
I have loads of mixed punk albums and now Im trying to fill the holes.

This album is brilliant for doing just that and reminding me of those great days.

Live they were awesome though the bruises have just gone. I really recommend you to try it. It's fab.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2005
This is a quite good album from 999, probably one of the best considering it is a 2-lp collection on 1 cd. I highly reccommend this album for anyone into early UK punk at its best.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2009
The eponymously titled first album by 999 must surely rate as one of the lost classics of British guitar music. Perfect punk, poppy, well recorded, energetic and fun. Really, if you're 14 and you want to learn some brilliant songs, just buy this.
That clean rock n roll bass line, a few well chosed chords, Nick Cash's instantly addictive whine, Labritain's high energy drums.

Albums still had variety back then, so contrast the slightly creepy 'Your Number' with the Punk White Reggae (sort of) of Emergency or 100 mph R'N'R of Crazy.

Separates is corking, if slightly overshadowed by it's older brother.

'Dont Leave Town In a Big...Black...Car' good advice from Homicide and there's jumping around post punk jagged guitar on Feelin' Alright With The Crew.

Unique band. If you want to know what British punk was really about...well, here it is. Proper. So good that it should be on now!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 April 2012
Being something of a punk/new wave completist, I thought I'd take advantage of this cheap two album package. I remembered a few of 999's songs and had a couple of live tracks on the superb Hope & Anchor Festival double set. These were 'Crazy', which was quite good and 'Quite Disappointing', which was quite disappointing.

Nick Cash had been part of Kilburn & The High Roads, a striking collection of characters who recorded an album shortly before The Sex Pistols rode into town. Cash, possibly impatient to move out of Ian Dury's shadow, formed his own band. 999 certainly had their chances: they had a reasonably high profile, but their records met largely with critical dismissal or indifference. They just weren't as good or as distinct, in my opinion, as the bands who made it. About half of the music here consists of three-minute adrenaline rush offerings similar to what The Boys and The Vibrators, who I prefer, recorded and is much of a muchness. The best songs are more in the vein of beaty guitar pop, all of it backing Cash's waspish vocals.

Highlights are the aforementioned 'Crazy', which is a sub Chuck Berry number, 'Emergency', the superb 'Homicide' and the ska-tinged 'Feelin' Alright With The Crew'. It isn't a bad package, but next to what else is on offer from the late 1970s, it sounds ordinary.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2016
Two classic los on one CD from one of the most consistent of the original punk bands with early classics emergency, feeling alright with the crew, homicide and others make this disc a must have for any fan of honest street punk.........
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2016
I think this is one of there best albums it is great punk music. I grew up listening to this band in the 80s I would recommend this album it is wall worth the money. If you are in to punk then I would bye it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
Bought these on vinyl when they were originally released. Don't get to play my vinyl much these days and have replaced them all with cds for convenience. Anyway, finally got round to replacing these and heard them again for the first time in almost 20 years. Amazed at just how good these albums are/were. As a now middle-aged lover of the punk era, I appreciate much more the superb vocals, lyrics and melodies. You will not be disappointed with this; 2 albums of sheer class.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)