Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 29 November 2017
ace product very happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2015
Underrated and underappreciated album, actually much better than most might have remembered and thought when it was released a good few years ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 May 2016
Excellent Massive Attack cover.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2014
The album is great but the bonus disc is an awesome collection of covers.
Played it senseless for two days.
Great album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2017
Underrated and full of excellent metal songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 March 2015
Excellent thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 May 2003
Unlike some, I welcomed the new and revived Sepultura, as they took their sound into a new, brutal dimension post Max. And this, their debut for SPV, is confirmation that they are standing proud at the top of the metal tree. In case you were wondering Roorback means 'A false or slanderous story used for political advantage", and the Seps continue on the trail of highlighting wrongs and misdemeanours.
If you wnat proof of the unrelenting power of this release then listen to the triple blow of "Godless", "Apes Of God" and "Corrupted". Metal at its best. And if you get in early and grab the limited edition 2CD set you get the pleasure of the "Revolusongs" Brazilian only EP featuring the Sepultura take on songs by Hellhammer, Massive Attack, Public Enemy, Devo, Jane's Addiction, U2 and Exodus.
Derrick Green has emerged from a long shadow, and now has confirmed that he is the ideal frontman for Sepultura with "Roorback" being a master statement of intent, building on from the base that was "Against" and "Nation".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2006
nation was an album that pleased me and bored me in equal measures and that seemed to be standard formula for sepultira releases in the post max era,i aint sitting here wishing max would rejoin sepultura as soulfly havent set my world on fire either but when i heard roorback i started to sense that sepultura were becoming their won band again and that derrick green had something to say that we needed to hear and roorback is a fine album that has the punches and the kicks that sepultura spat out on chaos ad and arise,yes its that good.

the band truly sound focused and hungry again and instead of an album with fifteen or sixteen songs which outstayed their welcome we have a set of leaner ,meaner and shorter more precise album,excellent songs such as opener come back alive,mindwar,bullet the blue sky and leech can be found here,its an impressive album and as welcome as a cheque from your auntie when you are broke.keep up the good work lads!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 May 2003
Since 2001's Nation, little had been heard from brazilian metal kings Sepultura. By the end of 2002 a mini-covers-album hit Brazil and Japan, but it wasn't an worldwide release. Therefore, we can consider Roorback as being their first effort since Nation.
And how well they did it! Roorback is fast, furious, angry and, yet, considerably different.
The album kickess off with "Come Back Alive". It's by far their angriest and fastest song since 93's Refuse/Resist. The initial riff reminds somehow "Roots Bloody Roots", while the rest of the song is completely insane.
"Godless" slow things down a little, with some percursion work in its end. Good song, though not one of the best in the record.
"Apes of Good" begins with a thrash-riff which could've easily been taken from a Slayer album, and continues with same violence. Killer!
"More of the Same" is a bit more slow and, sometimes, melodic. Gets very heavy by the end. Great song.
"Urge" is probably the worst song in the entire album. It seems they put together a whole bunch of riffs, which didn't work out. Bad song.
"Corrupted" is so heavy that as soon as the drums kick off you begin to imagine the mosh pit blowing away, once the song is played live.
"As It is" is just a regular song, though not bad.
"Mindwar" had already been released in the internet, and it's awesome.
"Leech" is completely hardcore, 2 minutes long.
"The rift" is a masterpiece.
"Bottomed Out" contains a long guitar-solo, which is very good. Slow song, completely different from the rest of the album, reminds me of "The Ways of Faith".
"Activist" finishes the hell of a great album, their best since 93's masterpiece "Chaos AD". Sepultura are coming back.
Come back alive!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 July 2003
You somtimes feel sorry for sepultura becuse max left the band and Derrick Green did not find his feet on the last 2 albums.
But every thing is diffrent now becuse with a new label SPV
sepultura return with a masterpiece of a album.
The songs on the album use diffrent vocals on each track
from screamy vocals on come back around to melodic on as it is
Derrick green vocals are way better than maxs vocals becuse derrick has so many vocal ranges plus Andrea Kisser guitar skilll are amazing on this album with Paulo brillent bass lines and Igor Cavalera (in my opinion) is the best drummer in the world of metal.
with this album you get revolusongs which is full of cover version from exodus piranhato massive atacks angel.
But my favorite cover version is publc enamy(sorry about the spelling) black steel in the hour of power.
Over all a brillient album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)