Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
37
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.76+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 October 2016
I wanted to see the original of this show as I went to see the stage play at Lichfield theatre a few weeks ago ( my favourite classical singer was taking part as the mad dentist - namely Rhydian Roberts - as I belong to his fan club since he appeared on x-factor. I can tell you that I enjoyed both immensely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2016
The film has undergone a reboot and has even been made into a musical. Seymour's (Jonathan Haze) plant has a taste for humans. The film spoofs "Dragnet" with Det. Sgt .Joe Fink (Wally Campo) and Det. Frank Stoolie (Jack Warford). Jack Nicholson has a minor role as a creepy masochistic character. Jackie Joseph who played Audrey would later appear in "Gremlins" 1 and 2 and "Police Academy" 2 and 4. She was also the voice for Melody in "Josie and the Pussycats" TV cartoon series. Dick Miller, the man eating carnations would make a living out of playing a character named "Walter Paisley" in a half dozen films or episodes. I enjoyed it, and I can see where the remakes would appeal more to a younger crowd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If you liked The Rocky Horror Picture Show, then you will love this little gem, except not a lettuce, this time its a giant venus fly trap with an attitude to die for!
The film is captivating from the very beginning, the musical side of the story accentuates the rather irrelevant plot with wit and ease. The DVD itself is fine, there are a couple of good features but to be honest if you buy this DVD then the film itself is enough of a "special feature".
It is a must have for any half decent DVD collection, it's just "one of those films", please... buy... enjoy, and tear down that greenhouse in your back garden!!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2005
This is pure genius. The sheer ludicrous nature of the story.. the fast pace.. the randomness.. it's fantastic. I love this movie.. it's still funny even today.. in a deranged black kinda way. the musical's pretty damn good too.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2003
This is a brilliant film made in a very shoty time and on a low buget. Its fun and quirky and delivers some great lines. Acting is bad but its supposed to be and adds to the satire of the film. Jack Nicolson is chillingly familiar in casting type, a mad funeral director who likes pain!!! Look out for the sterotypical bimbo who works in the flower shop who is forever getting words wrong, really OTT! a fun family film and a classic
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2017
No comment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
I am very confused about this film and its reviews.I decided to watch this film because after reading the reviews I assumed it was a musical? However upon watching there were no songs what so ever? I did like this film and it did have some humor in it....my daughter thought it was dated and did not really enjoy it? The film played well until the last few minutes and it started jumping etc, so it took me 3 attempts to re-start the film in order for me to see the end.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2015
Just so you know this is the black and white version, made the mistake of buying this thinking otherwise... good film though
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2003
From the first till the last minute, this movie brings you a nice view on what greed, stupidity, and being insane can generate, a horror first class. Although the effects are clearly low-budgeted, and so is the general setting, the story itself and the nice (over)acting provides the viewer an amusing view on the sixties and brings back the time of the true low-budget films. An absolute must!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2000
This low - budget film is not your average low budget film.
When the owner of a flower shop gets hold of a flower, which needs human blood to survive, then you have a funny comedy.
An excellent cast, full of humor, and one of those films which have been forgotten about, but should have been listed along with the classics!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)