Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
10

on 23 May 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 July 2003
this reminds of school so much!
if you were a fan or even just had one of their albums, i would say buy this, it is worth it for the dvd alone. It has all the rare tracks and also the more well known ones, split onto two cds.
high points for me were to find the rare tracks all on one cd. low points are the decidedly dodgy cover versions. All in all, a must for anyone who was in to the 'madchester' baggy scene all those years ago.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2003
As the Amazon reviewer so astutely points out, the Inspirals are generally regarded as also-rans of the Madchester era. That's not to put them alongside the likes of Northside or Top, but it's the Happy Mondays, The Stone Roses and even The Charlatans (West-Midlanders thru and thru!) who are always held up as the cream of Manchester's early 90's explosion.
Well bollocks to that, quite frankly. The cool people know who the cool people are, and the fact that The Inspirals always had too much taste to chase musical trends is both what kept them from crashing and burning on the rocks of super-stardom, and what will keep their back-catalogue evergreen for years to come.
The group's early stuff owes more to the raw garage-pop psyche-outs that you'll find on the Nuggets compilations than any passing fad, and lest we forget that when Madchester was in full-on baggy bloom they were releasing hit singles with miltary style drum beats (This Is How It Feels, She Comes In The Fall) and waltzing tempos (Biggest Mountain)
Life (1989) was a big hit through the sheer force of the band's own momentum, and rather than hire a "name" dance producer to rave up their next album for maximum chart potential, on The Beast Inside (1990) they turned into the flippin' Doors for an album of dark, brooding pop genius.
As the Roses disappeared up their bums (and John Squire's nose) in the studio and the Monday's trip turned sour and nasty, The Inspirals revved up their guitars and sharpened their melody sticks for perhaps the most accessible and instant record of their career, Revenge of The Goldfish (1992)
Generations, Dragging Me Down, Two Worlds Collide, Bitches Brew -that's possibly more classic singles on one record than the Monday's had in their whole career!
Even with Britpop about to explode in 1994, thanks to ex-Inspirals roadie Noel Gallagher's beat combo Oasis, the Oldham lads prefered to plough their own back-to-basics furrow, revisiting the garage-pop of their past for the Top 10 album, Devilhopping. The genius of Saturn 5, I Want You and Uniform provide all you need to know about the quality of this album, which to these here ears contained at least another 2 potential hit singles (Party In The Sky and The Way The Light Falls)
And then they were gone. After putting Mark Smith on Top Of The Pops for a legendary performance of I Want You, they took an extended vacation while still on top of their game.
2003's reunion concerts proved that the band can still stand tall above any of the current crop of indie plodders that pass for talent these days (and I'm only 25, so don't call me old and cynical - yet!) and if you still need convincing that the Inspirals were the hidden gems of Madchester, just buy Cool As and spend an afternoon in their company. Essential stuff.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 July 2004
I came across my Inspirals cds from years back after a tidy up. I thought I'd give Goldfish a spin and I haven't looked back - I couldn't get over how good these songs still are. Those choruses made me go a bit wild on the merchandise front, and the spare door key now sports a great cow face keyfob! Then I spotted this and I have to say, there's a lot of real rare clasics on here (Trainsurfing ep anyone?) For any IC fan, this collection rocks and is a bargain!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2008
Very often seen as the poor cousins of that era, The Inspiral Carpets prove here what a great band they were or even are. Back on tour in March 2008, this mega compilation will convince you to snap up tickets to see them in a host of small atmospheric venues. The "Cool as" CD hardly has a weak track on it. Granted, the "Rare as" CD is not much to shout about but the DVD is fantastic - a maelstrom of colour and keyboard driven indie pop in its purest form. This band have chalked up so many classic 3-4 minute ditties that they deserve to be remembered and welcomed back. The highlights for me are "Please be Cruel", "Saturn 5" and "Joe". This set is a must for anyone who swarmed to worship in the beer sodden, substance-fuelled bars and clubs from 89-95. Enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 December 2008
Disc 1 Cools as certainly lives up to it's name, such a good album, it's worth having for this disc alone. Admittedly I usually skip through the first couple of tracks but from there on it's proper good.

Then we move onto disc 2 Rare as, I for one was not expecting much from what I considered to be a bonus disc, I was wrong. Again as with disc 1 the first couple of tracks aren't great but it does improve as one progresses through the disc, to the point where I would say it's better than disc 1.

Spool as, the DVD, is again cool and well worth a watch. If you are thinking of getting an Inspiral Carpets best of album, and there are a few out there, then I really do recommend opting for this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2003
A gem of a cd/dvd that deserves pride of place in your collection, not only for the reminders of the Inspirals VERY SIGNIFICANT contribution to the 'Madchester' scene, but the fantastic never-seen-before extras such as the surreal video which accompanies their soon-to-be-released single.
Don't believe anyone dragging up the boring comparison with the Roses and the Mondays again, and try to see them live if you can - there is a reason that they are still selling out gigs.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2017
I got into the Carpet's when the stated up with the "Joe" & "Full as F***" record's , as soon as I got it I put in on my iPod Classic with all the space to love it all .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 October 2014
What a bargain and a great double set too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2016
It skips on a few tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Customers also viewed these items

The Beast Inside
£4.27
Life
£6.03
Devil Hopping
£8.48
The Singles
£8.47
Greatest Hits
£6.10

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)