Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 December 2009
Satanic Rites of Dracula [DVD] [1974] [US Import] [NTSC]Sir Christopher Lee's final - to date - appearance as the Count is in `The Satanic Rites of Dracula' in 1973, again directed by Alan Gibson for Hammer. This time the film is a mixture of motorcycle Afghans, black magic, big business and cellars filled with female vampires. Lee is suitably impressive both as property millionaire D.D.Denham, and when unmasked as the snarling Count himself. Peter Cushing acquits himself as admirable as ever in the part of Lorimar Van Helsing, this time called into battle not only by his old friend, Inspector Murray of Scotland Yard, but also at the request of Colonel Mathews, head of the Secret Service Department, M.I6! But the concept of Count Dracula sponsoring a deadly bacterial research programme aimed at world dominination, "mod" motorcycling thugs as protection for the Vampire, and black magic never settle into a unity, and the film literally ends on a dying fall. Dracula, in pursuit of Van Helsing, who has already failed to kill him with the traditional silver bullet, stumbles and falls into the - for him - deadly embrace of a Hawthorn bush. Christopher Lee combines even in his least satisfactory movies, a grace of action and a mesmeric charm and fatal attraction to Count Dracula, while never failing to bring out the true and very real `evil' of the man. Lee's Dracula is not a love - smitten Vampire prince in search of `eternal love' like film - makers of recent years have portrayed him. He is an extremely cruel and evil Lord of the UN - Dead and Master of Corruption as described by Van Helsing (Peter Cushing) himself gazing at the portrait which hangs in the professor's library.
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
55 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2000
Don't buy this video. It's cut. Nearly all the gore and blood has been removed.(3 minutes in total). The result is that a lot of the horror in this movie is gone. The original film was a good Hammer Production, well directed and starring 2 of the best actors: Peter Cushing and Christopher Lee. I would rate this movie at least 3 stars in the uncut version. Even the version I once saw on TV was uncut. Therefore this video was a waste of money. I could have taped the full version from TV instead.
0Comment| 64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2014
I was not so sure on it when I first put it on. Aye, like some folk, Dracula was best depicted in period settings, but overall, I thought it was an okay film. A wee bit weird but okay. Christopher's performance as Dracula was awesome and the acting was okay.

All in all, I would recommend you buy a different film to this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2015
This is, without doubt, the worst DVD transfer of a Hammer film that I have ever seen. As an ardent fan of the genre, I purchased this copy as it was one of the few still required to complete my collection. So, on Saturday night, I slipped the disc into my player and settled down in eager anticipation; it wasn't long, however, before my heart began to sink at what appeared on the screen before me. From the outset, the picture quality was poor; it was grainy and the images blurred, very akin to a pirate copy. Even worse, a company advertising logo (Platinum disc management) lodged itself at the bottom right hand corner of the screen, not just over the opening credits, but at various stages throughout the film's duration. I don't know about you, but I object to paying £19.99 for a DVD only to see an inane logo pop up every 15 minutes to interrupt the flow and spoil my enjoyment of the film.

Aside from the irritating logo and the poor quality graphics, the editing was abysmal with several critical scenes at the denouement being wildly jerky. By then, poor Michael Coles was having a bad enough time trying to rescue Joanna Lumley from Dracula, without the film editor giving him St Vitus Dance to contend with as well. Such sloppiness is inexcusable and I found this continuity fault incredibly distracting. The sound quality was also below par with the dialogue in a number of scenes sounding very muffled. All these faults combined to make viewing this film a chore rather than the pleasure it could have been, if the company concerned in producing the DVD had given a fig about their paying customers. So, if you are a dyed-in-the-wool hammer fan like me, do yourself a favour and don't touch this version with a barge pole. Hopefully, in the fullness of time, somebody else will release a decent transfer of this classic, latter day Hammer film, which it deserves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 February 2005
Many don't like Dracula in the modern era,but what were the producers to do,yet another gothic Transylvanian castle setting? I don't think so. It starts with a black magic ritual with the obligatory naked blonde being sacrificed(well this was the soft porn 1970s).Dracula wants to con some thrill seeking establishment types into making a virulent plague in order to wipe out the human race. There are some subtle digs at the politics of the 1970s also. As ever Van Helsing is at hand to fight Chris Lee (Dracula).I love it.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2009
For me, this is one of the best later entries in Hammer's Dracula series. It is incredibly underrated and far superior to Dracula AD 1972. Currently, it's out of copyright, which explains why there are so many awful, incomplete editions available on DVD. If you're a fan of this film, then write to Hammer Film Productions and see if they're willing to buy back the rights. I for one, would love to own an uncut restored copy of Satanic Rites Of Dracula.

This edition - 1/2 star. A restored version - four stars.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This film was originally released in Britain as "The Satanic Rites of Dracula," but that is apparently a very bad adjective to use for a film title (the original U.S. release title was "Count Dracula and His Vampire Bride"). Whatever the title, this 1973 film is again set in "modern" London like the previous Hammer Dracula film, "Dracula A.D. 1972," and has the same writer (Don Houghton) and director (Alan Gibson). Dracula (Christopher Lee) is once again back from the dead, although without any explanation, now calling himself D. D. Denham, a billionaire recluse who owns lots of property and is engaging in satanic rites (hence the title), including human sacrifies (a form of fasting for vampires?). Scotland Yard turns to Professor Lorrimer Van Helsing (Peter Cushing) and his daughter Jessica (Joanna Lumley), who figures out the Count is trying to wipeout all of humanity with a mutant strain of the plague. From there things muddle along to a slightly new twist on an old way of dusting a vampire.
Once again the script has little to do with either established vampire lore or the unique take on Dracula from the earlier Hammer films. This is a shame since the cast also includes Freddie Jones as Professor Julian Keeley, who plays Dracula's mad scientist and provides one of the finest bit parts you will find in any Hammer film. Of course, Lee is again given very little to do as the title character in his final Dracula film for Hammer, while Cushing once again provides a strong presence as Van Helsing. "Rites of Dracula" again proves the simple rule: if you want to watch a Hammer Dracula movie catch one of the films made in the Sixties, not the stuff they put out in the Seventies.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Having recently watched the rather poor 'Scars of Dracula' I wasn't expecting much from this, the last of the Hammer Dracula films to star Christopher Lee. How refreshing to find this is a vast improvement in every respect and I would have given it 3 and 1/2 stars if it had been possible.

Starting like an espionage film with Torrance (William Franklyn) and Inspector Murray (Michael Coles) investigating an MI6 agents capture and torture by a mysterious group. The group it turns out consist of some the most eminent people in the country (the UK). Of course Dracula is at the heart of matters. Dracula keeps himself out of view using the cover of a property development company. He is the head of the company D D Denham. Scotland Yard of course call in Prof. Lorimar Van Helsing and soon we are into more standard Hammer territory.

The other reason the film is so much better than say 'Scars of Dracula' is the return of Peter Cushing as Van Helsing. Once again Christopher Lee's Dracula has an opponent worthy of mention. Cushing delivers another typically intense performance.

OK so this isn't a touch on 'Dracula' (aka Horror of Dracula) or even the first sequel with Christopher Lee 'Dracula Prince of Darkness', but it is far better than I expected, and at the right price I wouldn't hesitate to buy it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
this isn't a bad final "dracula" film for christopher lee to finish on but i understand the actor's reasons for wanting to cease playing the character.
"the satanic rites of dracula" has a bit more incident and action than "dracula a.d 1972" and a more engaging story. once again, peter cushing is back as van helsing(the relative of the van helsing who died in the previous film) to do battle once more with the undead count. freddie jones is effective playing his usual nervous, on edge character as one of the devil worshippers.
i like the front cover for this dvd, such an imaginative design, it expresses so much that words can't.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2016
Sadly this was a very poor quality DVD-R that even had the recording software name popping up from time to time in the bottom left corner. Such a shame as it's a great film that deserves better treatment.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)