Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
24
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.02+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 January 2012
I like this 1962 film. With a title like that you know it's going to be at least a fun movie. Certainly not one of Elvis' best, but not as bad as some that he was to starr in later.

Without going into the very light-hearted plot much, be prepared to have ninety minutes of sun, sea, and song. Lots of girls too. Elvis, a deep sea fisherman more passionate about the boat he works on than the many girls he encounters everywhere he goes. But wait, there's more. There is a story line in there too, and fantastic scenery to boot (other than the girls of course). Oh and Elvis performs an interesting dance scene with his lady.

As you might expect, there are many 'made to fit' songs in this movie. Not the real Elvis songs of course, but songs manufactured strictly for the plot with the exception of Return to Sender. And the song titles are worse than the actual songs. I honestly enjoyed them (and I am a rock and R&B fan). I even found the ill-famed Song of the Shrimp endearing. A sweet and simple story of a shrimp sung with a soft Calypso beat on a boat. You can even see Elvis shake his head in disbelief and almost throws his guitar into the sea as he sings this song, but I actually like it. I admit: I LIKE SONG OF THE SHRIMP !!! There, it's off my chest now and I feel better for saying it.

It is worth reminding ourselves that Elvis did not write the scripts or the songs. Hollywood did. Anything you don't like about any of Elvis' legendary movies, blame Hollywood. But mostly blame his greedy over-bearing manager, 'col' Tom Parker. He put all the deals together!

Another bit of movie info, did you know that Jackie Wilson (a great soul singer to the uninitiated) was off-camera and sitting in the audience while they were filming the Return to Sender song scene? Elvis admired him much and even copied some of his dance moves for fun in the scene. You can even see Elvis turning towards him and laughing with every one of these moves.

Anyway, an all round pleasant film with Elvis looking his early 1960s best.

Recommended.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2017
I am happy with it and I will give you 12 out of 12
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
Item arrived on time, very good condition and quality. I am a very pleased customer as I received exactly what I ordered and wanted. Therefore, would recommend to use this company.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2017
The movie itself is standard Elvis output from the early 60's and the soundtrack features the worldwide hit Return To Sender. It follows on from the huge success of Blue Hawaii achieved one year earlier by being located in Hawaii and as such features a lot of girls, beach and boating scenes.
The downside is the transfer to DVD which is of such poor quality that it must have been done straight from a VHS tape and not from a genuine print. It is very grainy and the colours look unnatural. It is only marginally better when viewed using a HDMI DVD player than it does with a standard definition machine. Other Elvis movies of this era generally look and sound very sharp in DVD and one can only assume that Paramount just cobbled something together on the cheap. The audio is still in flat Mono despite the fact that Hi-Fi Digital Stereo would have been available. I have no idea if it is available on Blu-ray but if it is then one would hope that they make a better job of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 9 January 2012
Seems I'm one of the few here who are prepared to write that they dislike this picture. It doesn't have any particularly great songs to off set the staid nature of the plot and crude construction of the film. Basically we have Presley as Ross Carpenter, a guy who loves life working out on the sea. But when his boss announces that he's opting out of the business, Ross must find a way to buy the boat that is so dear to him. All that and he's caught in between two lady suitors from different ends of the social spectrum.

Nope, that's about it, I wish I could fire up some words of praise like I can for Jailhouse Rock and King Creole. Stella Stevens sleepwalks thru the film {even tho she's underused}, Laurel Goodwin just can't act, whilst the King looks a trifle embarrassed to be part of this mockery of his standing. Right I'm off to watch Creole to put me back on Elvis' side....3/10
33 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2011
This might not be his best, and it may be just another Elvis beach movie, but I think Girls! Girls! Girls! is generally superior to Blue Hawaii yet seems to suffer harsher criticism.

Firstly, we have empathy with the main character: down on his luck, trying to scrape enough dollars together to buy the boat he lives on but too proud to accept handouts. Contrast that to Blue Hawaii: son of rich parents who doesn't want to follow in the family business because, well he's just not inclined to? Who cares? Most of us would dream of having that dilemma.

I disagree with some of the criticisms here at Amazon. Laurel Goodwin is a relatively unknown actress (most noted in some circles for appearing in the original Star Trek pilot) but she's not without talent and makes a fine romantic lead. Yes, this is a very "60s" movie as depicted in the dance routines but then 1962 was very "60s". I think the sea-shanty-ish songs set a nice tone for a sea themed movie and emphasise Elvis' versatility as a singer and performer. The kids in Elvis' movies can be annoying (Paradise, Hawaiian Style anyone?) but I thought the two little Chinese girls here were enchanting.

Script wise, admittedly it's a bit hit-and-miss with some of the best dialogue reserved for scenes without Elvis, for example:

Customer: You must be the manager?
Manager: Yes, madam.
Customer: I'm Mrs Figgit.
Manager: Now, that's a name you don't fool around with.

Finally, there's "The Walls Have Ears" scene, a brilliantly choreographed number that's the icing on the cake of an above average Elvis movie.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
Cannot review this item as i did not receive it. However the seller was prompt in replies and i received refund. Just disappointed that it has not been received as it was for someone else.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
girls girls girls , this film will never be to old to carry on watching , bought for my sister who watches it over and over.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2016
Excellent movie. Includes the great Return To Sender song. Brilliant price and movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2009
which we'll come to shortly.

Unfortunately, by the end of 1962, and this film's release, making 3-4 films a year was putting a lot of strain on the King. He starts looking a little chubby, off-colour and bored about here in his career.

A damn shame, but the Corporation was running out of ideas &, even worse shame, there were a lot worse films to come. The soundtrack does contain Return to Sender & Where Do You Come From.

It also contains some daft songs like We're Coming In Loaded,Earth Boy, and the immortal duo,Song of The Shrimp & Thanks To The Rolling Sea. The latter pair have a rare camp value-later films novelty songs do grate very much more.

And the 2 good reasons? They belong to blonde Stella Stevens. Elvis doesn't make any moves with her in the movie-see what I mean about a damn shame for the King!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)