Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 22 August 2011
I have both the 1988 and 2009 met versions on DVD. Of course, the trick is to get to see the performances live, and for those lucky enough to do so, both performances will have seemed wonderful experiences.

The 2009 version, also with set design by the genius Franco Zeffirelli, is available in near-HD or Blu Ray. The colours and resolution are very much better and far less dark than the 1988 version and many of the supporting performers are equally good. For example, Ping, Pong and Pang (Hopkins, Stevenson and Valdes) appear the equal of the 1988 performers (Schexnayder, Glassman and Laciura).

The main advantage of the 2009 version is the high quality video which brings home just how ornate and beautiful Zeffirelli's production is. However, the singing by the main performers in the 1988 is a league above that of 2009. Eva Marton is quite outstanding and Domingo, if not quite at his very best, is very strong throughout. Both performers display high levels of acting to their roles and the closeups of Marton in particular, reveal subtleties which might be lost to the live audiences. In such company as these, the performances of Maria Guleghina and Marcello Giordani in the 2009 version start to pale. Marina Poplavskaya, surely a super star in the making, is impressive in the 2009 version, yet Leona Mitchell operates at an even higher level as Liu in 1988. Goodness, what talent was available in 1988.

Both performances are so entertaining in their own ways that I recommend both! Whilst the 2009 version contains some excellent treats for the eye, the 1988 is close to the highest quality singing ever heard on DVD. The 2008 version contains a wonderful set, brilliant costumes and dancing that even improves, albeit slightly, on Zeffirelli's 88 masterpiece. The quality of the 2008 film is also very substantially better. But if its singing you want on your DVD, the 1988 is the one to have.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 November 2013
Puccini's Turandot is one of my favourite operas, but rarely I find a dazzling production with excellent performers. This performance is one of them. Firstly, Zeffirelli's production is the best production ever made for Turandot, with awesome settings and costumes by any aspect. Secondly, the performers are amazing; Eva Marton is the best Turandot I have ever seen and heard (both on CD and DVD) and Placido Domingo is a great Calaf. Leona Mitchell is a wonderful Liu -because of her magical singing and acting . The Metropolitan Chorus sings with so much intensity and passion the choruses and James Levine conducts so good! So, if you're an Opera fan this is an essential you musn't miss!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2016
Beautiful, just beautiful. The costumes were terrific, the singing as you would expect from such names. Lead stars so believable. I just loved it. Sometimes the picture could have been a bit sharper, but that's a minor detail. As for the seller, only praise, ordered on the 22nd Aug, arrived on the 24th well packaged and shrink wrapped.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 February 2012
I just can't fault this. Really really good, I love it. The production from Deutsche Gramaphone is brilliant, the voices are very how do you say, come from the depths, and if you are into loud music, well, this is your DVD. All I can say is Buy It!!! and Amazon is very good at getting goods to you, just make sure that they have the European No 2 Region or you won't be able to play it. Mine waqs No 1, but I have a No 1 PC so I backed it up to an MP4 thanks to E-Z software, Enjoy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 January 2015
I saw a production of this opera for the first time in Verona and it was staged by Franco Zeffirelli and what a production it was the singers on this recording are top rate and the production also. So pleased I purchased it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 January 2011
Bought this because it had 5 star reviews and they are usually very accurate --This had WOW factor ! Liu was quite exceptionally good as of course was Placido Domingo ( I never expect anything else from him) but the surprise for me was Eva Marton.She has a big voice which is not always comfortable to hear,but her acting ability was remarkably good and she subtly managed to put humanity into a difficult role,showing cruelty , confusion and eventually understanding and love- very impressive.The production is lovely with extravagant costumes which I loved.I shall take pleasure in seeing this again and again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2017
excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 November 2017
very good most impressive production
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 November 2014
Wonderful music and costumes. Amazing singing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2017
It was good, very much enjoyed by my family and I.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)