Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
25
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.62+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 July 2003
I was pleasantly surprised to hear that this "live" album really did sound live. Let me explain that - a lot of the live albums I've heard lately, particularly by world-famous artists, have tended to sound very "edited" - so that in fact it winds up sounding like a studio album with some audience applause on. This live recording by The Who, however, certainly doesn't do this - while the quality of playing throughout is as excellent as their studio work, it's noticeable at some points that there hasn't been much editing. For instance at the start of "Pinball Wizard" the bass is far too loud, almost drowning out Roger's vocals.
There's some new material on here too - the song "Relay" which Pete explains is "about the internet" but also written in 1974. The band still sound as good as they ever did, Townshend in particular giving it plenty of welly on the guitar. There's some funny bits of dialog with the audience too - for instance when Roger announces "My Wife", he says "And this next track's from "Who's Next".. if only I had a thousand quid for every time I'd announced this." and Pete chips in "You have!"
For fans of live rock I recommend this album. For those used to over-produced live albums, such as Metallica's "S&M", or Pink Floyd's "Pulse", you might find this a little too raw.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2010
This live concert cd (and the DVD), feature THE WHO at their very best, with some guests, such as Eddie Vedder and Brian Adams among others. It contains a third cd from the very last WHO show with John Entwistle. Some rarities here: 'I don't even know myself a song originally recorded in 1969-70 for a WHO "Tommy" follow up album that was never released (they also recorded Naked Eye, Postcard, Now I am a Farmer, Water, Heaven and Hell, The Seeker and others). The band re-recorded the song again, in 1971 for LIFEHOUSE, another unreleased album that became WHO S' NEXT.

Also here, is The Relay, a 1972 hit single from the aborted and still unreleased LONG LIVE ROCK-ROCK IS DEAD album that never was.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2015
I saw the DVD of this in a supermarket oddments bin for £3. Yes, THREE QUID !!
I bought the DVD, and was so impressed that I had to see if it was available on CD for the car. Amazon came good, and now the cars door panels vibrate to John's bass, Zak's drums and Pete's lead. Roger's voice is fading a bit, but still enough to put across a great show, and all the special guests add weight to a great recording.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2009
This Live album is probably the best Who live album out of them all, Entwhistles solo on 5:15 is mind blowing, this is the reason i got the Album, because I already watched the DVD, so it was just a case of listening to the bass solo whenever I'm out and about! Although if Kieth were in the band still, the Album would be alot better, not that Zak Starky is a bad drummer!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 March 2014
Although we have a host of live Who albums to choose from, this one is special because of the cause it supports - Teenage Cancer Trust.

This is a three CD 'worts 'n' all' performance which includes some very special guest appearances plus a few unusual live tracks that don't often crop up elsewhere.

Despite their advancing years, the Who remain a powerhouse with an abundance of energy, a few wobbly vocals and bags of character.

If the price is right, add it to your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 March 2014
Although we have a host of live Who albums to choose from, this one is special because of the cause it supports - Teenage Cancer Trust.

This is a three CD 'worts 'n' all' performance which includes some very special guest appearances plus a few unusual live tracks that don't often crop up elsewhere.

Despite their advancing years, the Who remain a powerhouse with an abundance of energy, a few wobbly vocals and bags of character.

If the price is right, add it to your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2004
This lovely 4LP german only set is the complete royal albert 2000 show, as seen/heard on the DVD, plus four excellent bonus tracks recorded at the RAH two years later.
It is an excellent performance, one of the best in their career and the superior sound quality, including between-tracks-dialogue makes for an exceptional buy.
The whole set is nicely packaged in a gatefold sleeve, with lots of pictures on the record sleeves as well. Heavy vinyl is a plus as well.
Even if you've already got the DVD, the bonus tracks are worth enough. A blistering version of 'I'm free,' followed by 'live at leeds' like renditions of 'summertime blues' and 'I don't even know myself,' ended by one of the best verions of 'Young Man Blues' ever!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2012
As usual a good live performance from The Who and excellent reworking of their old standards; like totally new but appreciable tracks. Loved this version of Magic Bus, as different as the Live at Leeds version as the original was to that, will probably learn to love Behind Blue Eyes which is one of the few Who tracks I prefer from the studio. Only complaint was disc 2 info was all in Japanese on the disc; all in all if that is my only complaint it must be good, if you like The Who, you'll like this; buy it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2003
A three disc set of live Who material from their triumphant 2000 Us and UK tour sounds like a ball, but it isn't. It's ruined by a terrible mix and a dull, lifeless mastering. Brilliant guest performances by Nigel Kennedy and Noel Gallagher can't save it. This music was released a couple of years ago as a DVD with much better audio content. Buy that instead
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2003
Another Who live album ? To be honest, it's the last thing we need. Fans have been peppered with them over the last couple of years. First came the "Blues to the Bush" in 2000, and then last year their ENTIRE U.S. tour was released as double cd's.
And the most of the music on these discs were released on the DVD with the same name. So what do we get ?
An outstanding performance by one of the greatest bands of all time, and some interesting guest stars, such as Nigel Kennedys take on Baba O' Riley, and Noel Gallaghers guitar work on Won't Get fooles Again.
Ufortunately, the music is buried in a dull and lifeless mix which grows irritating after just a few songs. The audio on the DVD was just fine and one can only wonder how they managed to make such a mess out of this.
Disc 3 is little better, but it cannot save this from being a missed opportunity for that band to make a good live document from their 2000 tour. Buy the DVD instead.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)