Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
50
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 March 2017
Absolutely love this album and Gary Moore and blues fantastic combination.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2012
This album ticks so many boxes. I like the blues played with a bit of grunt and that's exactly what this album does. Not strictly a blues album but Gary Moore clearly knows the blues and plays it so.

He plays with some of the greats and knows his way around a guitar, if you like the blues played loud and hard then buy this album,
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 May 2007
This is in many ways the perfect blues/rock album. Purists say it isn't 'proper' blues because Gary uses a Marshall stack with the gain turned up. Well let me tell you, in my opinion this rocked-up reworking of the blues works really well! I love it! I love melodic, hard rock guitar and I love Gary's playing. Add this style to some blues classics, throw in a great production and the whole thing kicks muchos butt! I think Gary perhaps took the criticism to heart and wanted to be judged as a real bluesman or maybe he just mellowed with time but his later blues albums don't rock nearly as much as this one, which is a shame because for my money he got the formula spot-on with this release. Every song is a corker and the solos, wow! Check out the solos in 'Still Got The Blues' and 'Walking By Myself' in particular for true six string genius. If you're a fan of rock guitar you will not hear better licks and solos than this! The remastered version, as many do, suffers from the 'bonus tracks' stuck on the end. It isn't that they're bad but they detract from the original album. I always think these bonus tracks should be on a second cd, not tacked on the end of the album. Buy the cd and then burn a copy without the bonus tracks on! That way you'll hear the album as it was supposed to be heard.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2017
i was expecting Parisian walkways to be included and not the extra bonus tracks.....disappointed.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2015
Popular with a certain type of man...heavy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2000
What can I say about this album that has not been said before ? The biggest selling blues album ever, if you like rock or blues and do not have this album then I suggest that you buy it today. "Oh ! Pretty Woman" features Blues legend Albert King, "Too Tired" features the late Albert Collins, and Brian Downey plays on a few tracks as well. This album is rock blues at its best so add it to your collection and see for yourself.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2012
Best Studio Album by Gary, absolutley loved it when i first heard it back in the 90s. Changed my perception on blues and guitar playing. Masterpiece.

PS Checkout a english Blues Rock band called "Snakewater", debut album produced by Grammy Award Nominee Chris Tsangarides (Gary Moore / Thin Lizzy / Judas Preist)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2017
I bought this on tape back in the day and it has languished in the back of my collection for years until I dug it out in a much needed clean up process today. Man what a talent Moore was and what a waste his death was at such a young age under such foolish circumstances. The album is full of top notch tracks led by the title track on which Moore excels himself with what has become his and to a certain extent rocks guitar solo! His guitar work is simple mesmerising and I never got over the fact that while he played right handed he was actually left handed! Buy this album just for the title track and be blown away by it and then just be taken away with the flow of one blinding solo after another!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
as on previous cd review - keep on rocking -will inspire a new generation of potential blues writers/players bless Gary R.I.P.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2011
This is a brillant, and The Best blues album by Gary Moore. If you have bought it yet, then go out and get a copy !
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)