Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
9

on 12 November 2009
Even if your interest in soul music is thin as a slice of cheese, you STILL
got to gave this! An amazing collection of songs from one of the rawest,
sexiest, deepest, meanest, sweetest soul singers that ever lived, backed up
by the super tight Hi Rhythm section, a unit that put some serious weight in
for those of you who thinks less is more. They got that raw, funky edge to
their music, and never sound boring, calculated or too slick.
For me, they are only equalled by Booker T. & The MGs as the best backing
band from this period, and it`s easy to hear that someone like Bosco Mann
from Daptone Records has picked up a few tricks from these guys.

Ann Peebles, Good God! What a voice!
She's got to be one of the most under-appreciated singers ever.
She really should be mentioned alongside Nina Simone and Aretha Franklin.
If I had to recommend just one female soul singer for people who are more into
funk than soul, or think a lot of soul music is too smooth or sentimental , I
would go for Ann Peebles.

38 songs, and there is hardly a bad one amongst them.
It's impossible to pick favorites, the quality runs right through this one, but
nevertheless; "Trouble, heartaches and sadness" got to be one of the greatest
heartbreak songs ever made(It's been sampled for another masterpiece;
"Shadowboxin" from GZA's "Liquid swords".) and songs like "Make Me Yours",
"Somebody On Your Case", "I Pity The Fool", "I Take What I Want", "Heartaches
Heartaches", "I Can`t Stand The Rain" and "Run Run Run" are just smoking
good tunes.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 7 April 2015
Four original albums from 1969-1973, on 2CDs here. I suppose Ann Peebles gets most of her airings these days through various sampled hiphop tracks, these two albums contain the original material later lifted. Ann's roots are in gospel choirs and her phrasing, dramatic, often overwrought but surprisingly tender style, is reminiscent of Mahalia Jackson, infused with southern soul. Too many highlights - I'm Gonna Tear Your Playhouse Down and I Can't Stand the Rain are up with the best soul songs ever - so to say the other 37 songs or so stand comparison, and are not found wanting, is about as good a recommendation as I can give.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 December 2015
Great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 March 2015
superfast delivery. top quality as advertised. highly recommended seller
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 October 2006
Ann Peebles could be considered a female equivalent of Al Green, both had some success before moving to Hi records but their real high points (no pun intended) came on that label - that Anne Peebles failed to emulate Al's superstar status is something of a puzzle though.

On the first disc, there are workmanlike covers of well known tunes, which for me, do little for her, or those originals. It is on the ballads where she shines, tracks like "Walk Away" and "I Still Love You", where the Hi rythym section and their spare, pared back sound, really bring out the best in her delivery.

It is on disc 2 where this comes into it's own, on both ballads and uptempo tracks. Stand outs are "I Can't Stand The Rain", "Run Run Run" and "Somebody's On Your Case", but for me the quality runs right through this disc

This set shows that in the early 70's, other than Aretha, Anne Peebles was the equal of any other female Soul singer. Her stories (that's what they are) cover the usual love and pain scenarios, but in her hands they radiate feeling - "Feel Like Breaking Up Somebody's Home" for example fairly scorches out of the speakers as a tale of loneliness.

If there is a criticism it is that a double CD of this kind of intensity can wear you out !!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 January 2009
The Complete Ann Peebles On Hi Records, Vol. 1 contains her first four albums, as well as the additional B-sides up to 1974, and contains much of her best work. To find them collected and complete on just two CDs at a reasonable price should make it an irresistible first stop for anyone wishing to add some of Ann Peebles work to their collection on CD.

Ann Peebles of course continues to this day to be an important artist, and Volume 2 and beyond are recommended subsequent purchases, but for sheer quantity of gems, such as I Can't Stand The Rain, Feel Like Breaking Up Somebody's Home, I'm Gonna Tear Your Playhouse Down, I Pity The Fool, (You Keep Me) Hangin' On and A Love Vibration, all hit singles, this obviously is the place to start, and naturally you get to hear the albums as they were meant to be heard as well as two B-sides that did not appear on albums. Ann Peebles' third album, Part Time Love, named after her hit version of the Little Johnny Taylor track, is an exception to this at it was largely a repackaging of previously released material, and the duplicated tracks are not repeated, but the four new tracks complete disc one, following This Is Ann Peebles. This was her debut album and contains far less original material than her other albums. However I have no complaint at hearing Ann Peebles singing Bettye Swann, Fontella Bass, Aretha Franklin or the untypically funky Isley Brothers hit It's Your Thing.

Disc two is essentially Straight From The Heart, a title that sums up Ann Peebles vocal style, and her fourth album, I Can't Stand The Rain. Both contain a number of songs written by Ann and her partner Don Bryant, and some by Hi staff writer Earl Randle.

All the tracks were recorded at the Royal Recording Studios in Memphis, produced, engineered and arranged by Willie Mitchell, and hugely benefit from the combined forces of the Hi Records studio band, the Memphis Horns, the Memphis Strings and the backing vocals of Rhodes, Chalmers and Rhodes; the same team of course that created those great Al Green sides.

Mastering is very good considering the age of the masters and stereo album mixes have been used throughout, with the strange exception of I've Been There Before. This was also the B-side of Somebody's On Your Case, so possibly the mono single mix has been used in error, as the stereo mix has turned up on previous CD pressings that include the album Straight From The Heart. Both the non-album B-sides, Heartaches Heartaches and I Can't Let Go, are also mono, presumably because they were never mixed into stereo.
11 Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2011
I can only repeat what has been said by all the other reviewers ...this is a marvelous opportunity to purchase a double album containing 38 stunning tracks.....I can promise you after listening to them you will immediately need to buy volume 2 1974-1981 which also consists of 38 tracks on 2 cds.....great, great, real gutsy southern soul music.......and at this price its virtually being given away free ,considering what your getting in return.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 November 2003
Ann Peebles work on Hi Records is about as classic as earthy southern soul gets. This CD, and the other volume, are therefore essential to any lover of soul. The house band do tend to stick to similar grooves at times, but theyre so damn good, that it's not to the musics detriment. Theres a touch of Ike and Tina Turner and Denise La Salle to the songs except the quality is higher and the recordings are fresh and clean.
She's definitely become a favourite in this household.
This 1st volume includes some of her early covers which are less succesful than the later tracks in general.
Vol 2 is also excellent and a bit more varied.Buy both, you will not be dissapointed. Ann Peebles is one of the best of the 70's soul singers, and her sound stays in a classic 60's/early 70's vein throughout, without veering into much disco or other lightweight formats. Soul almost all the way!
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 12 October 2011
Ann Peebles was born in 1947 in St Louis Missouri, and sings with a voice dripping with not only soul but something urgent and gritty that marks her out from most other singers. If Aretha is, by many people's reckoning, the greatest, Ann P is not far behind. There's a hint of Ms Franklin in her delivery, a gutsier echo of Gladys Knight, and a less fulsome Etta James can be discerned at times too. Ann Peebles is her own woman though, and has a special magic that is hers alone. Some days I don`t want or need to hear anyone else.
There's not one song on this magnificent, nicely packaged 38-track compilation that hasn't got something going for it, and many are classics of the genre, for example I Pity The Fool - easily as good as the great Bobby Bland's version - the utterly gorgeous ballad I Still Love You, her superb debut single Walk Away, the wonderful I'm Gonna Tear Your Playhouse Down, and of course the best ever version of the gloriously funky I Can't Stand The Rain (another great reading of this unique song was done by Little Feat's Lowell George on his only solo album). My own favourite is perhaps the sexily soulful A Love Vibration - which I quite simply never want to end.
Willie Mitchell, who oversaw much of Al Green's early career, is producer on most of these tracks, with a small group of backing musicians who play with more fluid soulfulness than you could shake a stick at.
The sound on all these tracks is pristine, with an apt graininess that perfectly complements the singer's voice, who sounds at times like she's singing in a much earlier era than the late 60s/70s.
She exudes soul from every note she sings, and she always sings with clarity, precision, incisive urgency, and dollops of subtly restrained emotion.
Underrated? You bet. She should be far more famous and highly praised than she has been.

Ann Peebles - one of the best.
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here