Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Martine McCutcheon Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars
14
3.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 February 2007
[...] In a way it's a different animal to the american pie franchise, slackers is more surreal. The basic premise of the film is a group of guys cheating their way through college using innovative ways, but alas, they get found-out and held to ransom buy the geek on campus. Either the gang hook him up with the target of his affection, or he will get them kicked out of school. The plot is a bit thin on the ground, but hey if your into these films your not really hooked up on 'plot', what you want is cheap laughs and this has plenty of them all served up in a well directed, well characterised and very off the wall comedy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2003
'Not another teen movie!' I hear you cry, but this is way different than films such as American Pie and Road Trip. This is not a bad thing though.
Jeff, Sam and Dave, 3 typical 'party-first and study-later' guys are in their final year of University. Upto this point they have managed to cheat their whole way through high school and college, but their little secret is about to blown wide-open by the campus geek Cool Ethan (Jason Schwartzman). Cool Ethan catches them cheating and threatens to get them kicked out of Uni, unless they get him Angela, and girl who he holds an wierd and twisted obsession for.
However, Dave (Devon Sawa) finds himself falling in love with Angela and must decide to choose the girl and face getting him and his friends kicked out of Uni, or helping Cool Ethan and missing out on true love.
Despite the romantic tendencies this film has, I recommend this film to anyone who likes to laugh as this is guaranteed to having you laughing from start to finish, all thanks to Cool Ethan!
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2013
the first time i watched this film i thought it was okay, but i watched it again and enjoyed it a lot more the 2nd time round. it is different to other films of the same genre. what sets it apart is it's rather quirky sense of humour that admittedly won't be to everyones taste. there are some highly amusing moments mainly delivered by Schwartzman who plays the stalker nerd character excellently. jamie king is always solid, but isn't really given much of a role. devon sawa is a little disappointing as the lead, and not as good as he is in idle hands, while segel too, isn't really given enough quality dialogue to do anything with. on the whole the film is okay and worth a punt if you fancy something a bit different to the normal team film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2003
Never before in the field of human film making has a film starring so few, made me laugh so much. Insane in parts, just crazy in others, this film will make you laugh so hard you might loosen your bowels.
Devon Swaha shows again that he can be brilliant in a comedy (see Idle Hands) and Jason Schwartzman hasn;t been this good since Rushmoore. With a supporting cast of funy, funny people this film delivers on all levels, just don't watch sober.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2005
This is one of my FAVOURITE films! It's great. Nothing but clever, harmless fun with plenty of laughs. My 2 most favourite scenes are the hair doll and the spongebath! They are hilarious/quite surreal! The song that plays along with the spongebath scene (and end credits) is excellent, although I can't for the life of me figure out who sings it! If you're unsure about buying this film, do not hesitate. You wont be disappointed!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
The two stars is nothing to do with the quality of the packaging or service, as this was very good. The DVD is just very boring and not as funny as I thought it would be. I would not recommend this film to a friend it is terrible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2012
I love comedies, got all American Pie, Van Wilder and tonnes of others.
But I can only say that this is complete and utter crap.
Don't waste your time or money on this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2014
Good Film to watch when nothing on tv
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2014
Love this movie so funny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2012
For a comedy this film is very sparse on humour... some fart jokes, some falling over, nothing remotely witty about the dialogue or the characters. Ethan is a nutjob but just comes across as annoying rather than amusing and I felt no love for any of the characters. I thought due to liking films such as American Pie, Role Models, Dumb and Dumber that I'd be on to a winner but honestly this film doesn't even make it to the stadium in time for the race. I watched it solely on the reviews on here so beware if you read them, by all means make up your own mind, I just felt very mislead by these reviews as this film should not even have a 3 star average let alone 4 :/
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)