Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
253
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.45+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This new 'Augmented Reality' edition is essentially the previous Blu-ray transfer on a new disc, and so on first inspection, is not really noteworthy. However, like all the latest Universal 100 products, this is a damn fine release that works out excellent value. What you're getting for under eight quid (at the time of writing) is the film in a stunning transfer, brand new HD documentaries and a great selection of special features from the previous releases - both DVD and Blu-ray.

Both 'The Mummy' and it's sequel are the two gems of the saga that, in time, started to falter with some poor productions. I'm delighted that Universal have selected this original film as part of it's centenary celebrations as it has clearly become a modern day classic. The juxtaposition of the swashbuckling but ultimately careless Brendan Frasier and focus on historical themes is absolutely spot on, and makes for a hugely entertaining movie. I know many people that have watched this film who normally wouldn't touch anything with such a combination, but they loved it. And as a deep lover of Ancient Egypt myself, I get a great sense of release* from watching Rachel Weisz battle with history! Boy, she's beautiful and deadly...

... In short however, this release of The Mummy is flawless and I'll certainly be flicking through Universal's other '100' titles as they're all the same price. In case you're wondering what the 'Augmented Reality' deal is, you're given the opportunity to hold an Apple iOS device (iPhone/Pad) and point the built-in camera at the slipcover of this product. The Universal App (which you must download) then creates a 3D image on your screen of... well, I won't spoil it, but it's fun if you want to pass a minute or two.

*The release I refer to is PURELY cognitive.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2016
This movie is scary, fun and clever. I always have fun when I watch this one, it doesn't get old no matter how often I watch it. It is superior to the sub par sequel which was really only made for Universal because this one was so successful. No annoying child always getting into trouble, no bitchy reincarnated woman who wants to kill people and rule the world (a dragged put cliché in several movies) and it also has better effects. The plot is also quite simple and works and this is the one I stick with of the trilogy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2017
It's a good enough film, it wont be appearing on any top 100 lists any time soon(including mine), but it doesn't try to be. It doesn't take itself too seriously, is very entertaining and it is quite cheap to buy. So overall a film worth buying, but maybe not worth watching more than 2 or 3 times.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2016
An awesome film, with a great cast and great acting. The story is well woven and seems original and even though it's a remake, it's well done. Lots of action and adventure and some great moments of comedy in there too. My favourite is when the Mummy screams and Fraser just yells right back at him. The chemistry between Fraser and Weisz is also a high point of the film. And the scenery and CGI for its time is just breathtaking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2016
This movie is so much fun to watch.

It never set out to be a classic or cinematic masterpiece. It just provides a couple of hours of entertainment and as it cost less than £1 delivered, I easily got my money's worth.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a good film starring Brandon frazer as an archiologist in Egypt looking for past historical items but finding more than what he bargined for the story is strong a bit like indiana jones the special effects are good there are some strong characters in this film the only problem I jhad with this purchase is I bought Second hand and ended up with a region 1 copy rather than region 2 so I think one must buy brand new but the film is highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2015
This film is brilliant and doesn't really loose its appeal over time. I had the original on VHS so wanted the DVD to replace this. Amazon are brilliant with delivery and this was no exception. I have enjoyed this film many times since and it is an amazing price and easy to find on Amazon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
A classic! Good fun to watch shame it's again part of amazon video which is an absulote bump. Pay for prime but half the movies aren't included.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
Love this! It's one of my favorite movies and this DVD has some good extras. Value for money and arrived quicker than I expected too so I'm very happy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
Stephen Sommer's 1999 action-adventure flick The Mummy is a loose remake of the 1932 film starring Boris Karloff.

The year is 1926 and we follow American treasure hunter Rick O'Connell (Brendan Fraser) who leads librarian and amateur Egyptologist Evelyn "Evy" Carnahan (Rachel Weisz) and her con-man brother Jonathan (John Hannah) to find the mythical City of the Dead, Hamunaptra. What they don't know is that high priest Imhotep (Arnold Vosloo)'s corpse is buried there. Due to his sacrilege he was cursed and buried alive 3000 years ago. When Evy accidentally resurrects him he is endowed with supernatural abilities and craves only to resurrect his love Anck-su-namun (Patricia Velasquez) even though it could destroy the world.
Unlike its 1932 counterpart, this film is a wacky summer blockbuster with a mix of action, horror and humor. In the original Imhotep was a tragic character while here he's a loud, bombastic villain portrayed menacingly by Vosloo (though he does lack the immense presence of Karloff). Rick is essentially Indiana Jones without the books (think Nathan Drake from the Uncharted game series) and pulls off his bits well - humor, charm and action.
Score: 4/5

Video quality is high and even though you hardly see any grain the detail is still unbelievable. The colors are vibrant and the shots of the Sahara desert are breathtaking. The visual effects still work - especially Imhotep's CGI rotten-corpse form.
Score: 5/5

Audio quality is something I can't really judge properly since I don't have the right sound system but on a stereo HD-TV it all sounds great - especially Jerry Goldsmith's beautiful score.
Score: 5/5

Extras are aplenty. You have a documentary about the 1932 original, another about the visual effects and many more. You have a "Visual Effects Breakdown" feature which shows the development of VFX for several key scenes. Then there are three commentaries: First is by Director/writer Stephen Sommers and Editor Bob Duscay; the second is by cast member Brendan Fraser and the third is by cast members Arnold Vosloo, Kevin J. O'Connor and Oded Fehr.
Score: 5/5

I highly recommend this to fans of the film and action-adventure films in general. Even if you already have the DVD this is a repurchase that you must own if you have a Blu-ray player.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)