Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
11
4.6 out of 5 stars
Gothic
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.72+ £1.26 shipping


on 24 March 2017
Excellent atmospheric and dark melodic death metal album from paradise lost.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2015
The overall feel of "Gothic" is lighter then it's predecessor and not nearly as darkly atmospheric but is still an excellent effort. Nick Holmes' vocals are as feral as ever and the addition of female vocals give the album an unexpected but enjoyable contrast. The Guitars are moody and sinister but lack the Death Metal punch of "Lost Paradise". The change in direction took me a while to get used to but the album did eventually grow on me and I still play it quite often. Much of the doom and gloom of "Lost Paradise" was lost on this album even though "Gothic" is darkly atmospheric in its own right. I still prefer the first album but "Gothic" is a very close second as one of my Favourite Paradise Lost albums of all time. "Gothic" had a sense of despair and rage that seem to be moving toward catharsis unlike the soul shattering despair and anguish of "Lost Paradise", if "Gothic" was a Merlot then "Lost Paradise" would be blood! I have to recognise the influence that "Gothic" would have on the underground community and whole heartedly agree with the statement that it is one of the very first Gothic Metal albums ever created. I can recommend "Gothic" to anyone who loves dark, doomy, moody , heavy and atmospheric music. "Gothic" is not just an album it is an experience!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2001
Supposedly the very first 'Goth-metal' album, this mixes the brooding heaviness of their first album, 'Lost Paradise' with a sweeping dark and sinister edge. Strangely catchy, some of the songs have female vocals used to great effect, but the album as a whole is quite hard to get into, especially if you have got into PL through their more recent material, which is very different. However, I grew to like it and now it is easily one of my favourite albums. It's quite strange how some of these songs that seem so inaccessible at first can become completely lodged in your brain, like some annoyingly catchy chart song.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2009
one of the best and original doom metal albums from the early 90`s,
great vocals mixed with female vocals and some killer catchy melodies and riffs!!

highly recommmend
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 March 2001
To be honest, this isn't really my style, I prefer industrial stuff and Paradise Lost's brilliant last-but-one album 'Host', but that said this is quite good. The vocals don't appeal much to me - Nick Holmes has definitely improved. This, however, was the start of a journey that led to later (and better) output, like 'Draconian Times' and 'Host'. If you like My Dying Bride or Fields of the Nephilim you may like this. It seems inaccessible at first, but it does grow on you. Standout tracks are 'Gothic' and 'Falling Forever'.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2016
Very good album, all great songs especially rapture and falling forever (not too big on angel tears and desolate though, instrumentals) I would recommend most metalheads give this a go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2012
A slightly different direction than the death metal stylings present on their debut, Gothic exhibited a new sense of melody that Lost Paradise was sorely in need of. It is not perfect by any means but Paradise Lost are interesting as their career can be mapped, album by album as they became more seasoned and confident, their influences far more evident as the years progressed.

The best tracks hear are the title track, the now classic 'Eternal' (it is excellent) and 'Shattered'. The rest are all good but some do not have as much to enjoy as others. The new goth-metal sound was a perfect transition from their sludge-doom/death beginnings that evolved again on their next release to embrace more conventional metal as well as industrial leanings, all the way to their eventual Depeche-Moding after One Second.

But Gothic was the beginning of a stretch of excellent albums.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2015
Masterpiece
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2015
AAA+++
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Icon
£7.09
Medusa
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)