Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 12 June 2017
A little dated now but brought back many happy memories. This film sparked my interest in photography so it has a special place in the memory.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2014
My favourite Hitchcock film, with his inimitable blend of suspense, comedy and romance. It's a masterclass in technique, keeping the action limited to a sinlge setting without any sense of strain. In fact everything seen from the rear window of the title, apart from the odd shot, is a single set built in a studio - to get the necessary height the ground floor had to demolished so that a basement used for storage could be incorporated.
Grace Kelly, the archetypal cool blonde shows an unsepected warmth in her scenes with James Stewart and the lesser roles are equally well played, particularly by Thelma as the insurance company's nurse who assists Kelly with her sleuthing.
The restoration used for the Blu Ray, though not quite up to modern standards. is a big improvement on the prints shown on televison or DVD in the past, which had suffered severe fading. At last we can appreciate the film as it was meant to be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 December 2017
At last I am trying to catch up with some "must see" movies. Rear Window was my first. Loved the feel of the shooting. Grace Kelly was amazing but I was expecting a bit more, not sure what. Still giving it 4 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2014
I had seen this film many years ago on tv and knew it was good, but had forgotten the plot. It was excellent with excellent performances from James Stewart and all other actors. It is `different` and because Stewart is house bound (or flat bound) because of his injury, he takes to spending his time watching the activities and comings and goings of his neighbours through his windows which look onto back gardens and other flats. He believes a murder has been committed. The atmosphere is claustrophobic and the tension builds slowly and surprisingly. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 October 2017
Fabulous film. James Stewart is brilliant as the incapacitated photographer and Grace Kelly is luminous as his girlfriend. The tension gets you every time! A true classic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2015
Wonderful film, taking place on the same set throughout, like a stage play. None the worst for this though.very menacing at times, style introduced by Grace Kelly, what dresses! What a cool blonde! Only thing I have against her is that she plays the same character in every film, and with amazing woodeness not achieved by any other actor before or since. Nice to look at and she makes her male lead work harder than they ever had to do before. Great film though
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 July 2015
Bought it because it is one of my all time favorite films. A lesson to modern filmmakers on how to build tension and build sympathy for different characters. No violence, sex or bad language so probably 'boooring!!!!' to modern viewers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 April 2013
Not much to be said or written on this Hitchcock classic that hasn't already been mused over the years. It is possibly one of those films people have not watched due to indifference rather than a distaste for the genre. All i can say is BUY it, at an Amazon price its a deal ans thee quarters, as a film it is pure Gold from the very first frame you are met with so much visual information that you will enjoy watching it again without qualm. A superb film and worth the purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 December 2014
Rear Window is a fantastic Alfred Hitchcock classic, definitely one of his best films. Full of tension and suspense, standout performances from James Stewart and Grace Kelly make this film a must-watch for Hitchcock fans.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 May 2012
I enjoyed this movie. The acting is great as always and the set pieces really draws you into the environment of the film. The editing and photography is perfect and it feels real. It really does.

I can't come up with anything that hasn't already been said. The rumours are true, it really is one of the best films ever made. You should see it.

Among the bonus material are two interesting documentaries about how they made the movie. Don't miss those.

It's one of Alfred Hitchcock's best. Enough said.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)