Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
15
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.62+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 April 2003
I have found this album surprisingly excellent. I am not usually one for charity albums but Warchild and the Daily Mirror have got it right with this eccletic mix of covers and new tracks. The Spiritualised Track - Hold on is my favourite and is hauntingly beautiful. The Travis track - The beautiful occupation again is a surprise winner and is great to sing along to. Beth Orton's vocals on her cover of Ooh Child are stunning and Tom McRae's Border Song is just gorgeous. The Basement Jax track is a great and uplifting and the genius of having Yusef Islam (formerly known as Cat Stevens) come out of retirement to record the amazing Peace Train is just unprecedented. There really aren't any losers on this album which on the whole makes very good and interesting listening. All that and your money is going to an excellent cause so you can listen with a clear conscience. Well done to Warchild and the Daily mirror.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2003
Char-i-dee albums - always the scourge of anyone with a working pair of ears...that is until Warchild enter the fray!
The first track on this album sets the tone, a beautiful self-penned acoustic number about Iraq by Fran Healy from Travis. Other highlights include Bassment Jaxx, Spiritualised at their angelic best, Beth Orton covering 'Ooh Child' and, for me, a magical moment that ends the album and sees the return of Cat Stevens' (now known as Yusuf Islam) first recording for 30 years, singing 'Peace Train' with an African male voice choir - simply stunning.
Even the blurb inside the album is interesting. Can't recommend this enough...and it's all for char-i-dee.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2011
Charity CDs are not meant to be great musical statements-they are simply where a bunch of singers agree to support a charity and War Child is one of the oldest
With Paul McCartney on hand,a batch of covers including a Dylan song-this is the 2nd time Knocking On Heavens Door has been used for charity as it was on the Dunblane one-there's something for everybody
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2003
I felt purchasing this CD was the least I could do, knowing the proceeds would go to the War Child Charity. Its a good cause to support. I must admit I was quite taken back (in a good way) by the actual artists that supported the album. I mean for one, it would take something this big to bring back Yusuf Islam (formerly Cat Stevens) into the mainstream. The artists have turned a few heads and brought light to the plight of children of Iraq. Good on them.
The selected songs are brilliant as far as im concerned.
The songs arent as one would expect; depressing, heavy and all bluesy. David Bowie's song 'Everyone Says Hi' is quite up-beat. George Michael's cover of The Grave is very smooth and relaxing. Avril Lavigne does a great job with 'Knocking on Heavens Door'...best cover of that song yet. I dare say, even Ronan Keating was moving with his cover of 'In the Ghetto'. And again its good to have Yusuf Islam reprising 'Peace Train'... i personally perferred the original song. Beth Orton's 'ooh Child' is very very moving.
A few annoying songs the album couldve done without,I feel, are : 'Vietnam', 'Love is the answer', and 'Hold on'.
Otherwise money well spent... and it makes a difference.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2003
I originally become attracted to the album after seeing that Avril Lavigne gave a song not avaliable anywhere else. I listened to the rest with amazement. The track by Lee from Blue is the albums surprise, a well written a performed track. However, I found that I prefered CD one to CD two as it was more my 'type' of music. It could be suggested that those who prefer CD two may not warm to CD one.
The mix of music is fantastic and consdering recording took place in 25 days this CD really is a touch of genius from all involved. A new track from Travis will most certainly please Travis fans...it is one of their better songs. Re-mastered mixes from Bowie and McCartney also make a nice addition to the CD.
Overall a great album, which even if some of the music isn't to your taste it is guarenteed to blow you away. If not you can still own exclusive tracks from some of the best old and new artists around! The reason for only four stars...well the mix is great, but you may find that you don't listen to half of the album because of that thing that makes the album great! GO BYE IT!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2003
I must admit that when I bought this album it was purely for the charity aspect of helping the children of Iraq. At first glance, I did not recognise many of the songs or most of the artists but having listened to it, I can now say that it is one of my favourite CDs for relaxing to. The musical styles are varied and there is one rappish track that I don't particularily care for musically though I agree with the sentiments of the lyrics. The track 'The Grave' had me in tears as it is such a powerful and heartfelt song. I would recommend this album to anyone who likes a wide variety of music and cares about the world - even if you just buy it to help war child and never listen to it though to do so would be to miss giving your ears a real treat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2003
Definietly song "Stand Up As People" which is preforming by Lee Ryan from Blue is the best song in all album. Lee makes a one off solo outing especially for War Child with a self penned song. Eighteen of the world's top music stars - Blue's Lee, Avril Lavigne, Ronan Keating, Sir Paul McCartney, Dawid Bowie, New order,Travis and George Michel - have contributed exclusive new tracks to HOPE, a special CD relased to help the child victims of the war in Iraq. This album was recorded around the world in 25 days. As i said the best song is Lee's but there're good songs like Beverley's Knight or Avril's Lavigne.
Here you can listen all tracks from HOPE.
[...]
It's really beautiful album so buy it and help children in Iraq. Remember, they are waiting for your help...I'm really really recommending this CD especially Lee's Ryan song which is one of the most beautiful song i've ever heard...LEE I LOVE YOU!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2003
I think this is such a briliant idea to create an album with songs of hope by artists that will reach a wide range of people. I am a 17 year old girl and it's people like the lovely Lee Ryan that attracted me to this album, artist like Paul McCartney is a favourite of my dads, so this album has great potential to appeal to many people of different ages and interests. This is great because it means that lots of people will buy this album. Not only is this a geat album to buy that people will enjoy, but it will raise money that will hopefully help save lives and re-build families that have suffered and lost a great deal from the war. This album is great!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2003
The album hope is very good. All of the money that is raised form sales goes directly to the children in iraq. The album has many great songs on. My personal favourite is lee ryans song, which was actually written by him. Also miss dynamites duet with george micheal is also very good. Avril also puts in a very impressive song. Overall the song is a definate winner and should do very well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2016
a mixed bag of tracks that would have been b sides
if you can remember those, some brill and some trash
the usual quality for charity albums
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)