Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
15
All About Lily Chou-Chou [DVD] [2002]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 2 March 2016
This film is very different to anything I've seen before, but in a positive way.It deals with some very heavy topics but unlike many other films , it actually effected me emotionally. The timeline and order of events can be a little confusing but I think this adds to the experience. Throughout the characters confusion we , the audience, are also onfused and bewildered and how the students are wearing eachother down.

All About Lily Chou-Chou is an interesting watch with beautiful music, cinematic choices and should be more recognised .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 December 2015
Very very confusing but so beautiful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 February 2004
As my title suggests this film doesn't move at the pace of a Shinkansen. However, it's so much easier to lap up the story being told in it's less-than-frenetic pace which makes the ending all the more surprising and out of the blue. Some excellent acting makes it easier to tune into young Yuichi's life. the story is from his eyes and the excruciating problem that many of us can empathise that of shyness but Yuichi is crippled by this, it really does affect all his Life, it made me feel awkward watching him (and as I said before it isn't the acting that's bad, it's actually superb) stumble through Life. There is a bad guy in it, a fellow teen who went completely the other way, from shy to outrageous, it's his behaviour that shadows Yuichi. A truly beautiful film.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 July 2004
Ok so i have just watched this film, an it was.......is amazing...
being still a teenager myself it really dug deep, an i could relate to Yuichi's character............
this film at times made me feel at some points utterly depressed an other points uplifted to the point that i could feel like i could fly...........
this film is amazing and i advise anyone and everyone to watch this...........
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2004
All About Lily Chou-Chou is definately a film you'll never forget. Set in Japan, it illustrates the torment and suffering of a sensitive teenage boy named Yuichi, as he struggles to deal with bullying and isolation. The beginning of the film reveals that Yuichi is an avid fan of the indie pop star Lily Chou-Chou. He manages a website dedicated to the diva, but gradually becomes more and more detatched from society, using the website and his love for Lily as an outlet for his suffering. We see in flashback how he changed from a normal teenager into a shy almost reclusive character as a former friend becomes his worst enemy. Anyone who has seen any top quality Japanese films will know that any good Japanese director loves great cinematography, and this film is certainly no exception. With absolutely stunning images (check out Yuichi and others standing in the tall field of lucious green grass, listening to Lily) and some cool tunes (I love the ode to Debussy), this is a virtual feast for the eyes and ears. Although this film covers very serious topics such as bullying, shyness and isolation, it does make you think, and gives you an insight into the Japanese pop culture. There are a few funny moments in amongst the darker stuff (look out for the 'capella', a form of human karoke!). I would highly recommend this film, but only for people who can deal with tough topics, because it is not a very cheerful film; in fact, at times it was rather depressing! If you like Japanese films that are quite arty and floaty, then you'll like this, but don't expect a cut and dry ending. The only downpoint to this film is that it was a tad long, and the DVD extras are nothing special (only includes scene selection and trailers).
Buy it if you want to really feel and 'Breathe' in Lily, or if you think cult culture is intriging.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 May 2008
I'm not going to go too deep into the film, because if you're reading this it's probably because you want to know whether it's worth buying and not for somebody to spoil it for you.
So yes, buy buy buy! But be prepared to think. The film doesn't give you much of a chance to fall behind, but if you keep up it's well worth it. Beautifully presented, fluent story telling and although somewhat slow in places, you won't get bored.
I love this film, although i didn't really appreciate it until the day after i watched it and remembered certain scenes.
What are you waiting for? [:
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 January 2015
Favorite movie as teenager
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 July 2009
I had heard so much about this film and didn't really know what to expect. 'Inspired by a Faye Wong concert', 'Gorgeous', 'hyperreal', 'lovely'?
The blurb on the back of the DVD case alongside the snapshots from the film paint a mesmerising, enigmatic first impression of the film.
Once you begin watching the film, the music instantly feels like something out of this world. Using a lot of Debussy and songs from Japanese artists who supposedly are Lily Chou Chou, I think it might be by someone called Salyu in reality, the music ascends the images on screen (however simple) to an ethereal level. The songs may not even be that likeable outside of the film, I tried listening to it earlier and it wasn't the same experience. But the film demonstrates a union of music and imagery that feels chilling and hynoptic, also in a different sense to what you would experience in Western films with good soundtracks such as an indie-type film or a Tarantino film for example.
The marriage of the aesthetic and the aural is a perfect model for contemporary cinema, and I say this meaning it really is unique and something which would have influence on a new generation of filmmakers.
All about Lily Chou Chou cannot be defined!
I could list all the issues it homes in on, but the film is just made for you to decide yourself. In typical terms, it is challenging and engaging.
I mean, fair enough you can decipher a plot, but the protagonist is so distanced from the audience, from the truth of the realities inside the film world and obsessed with the 'ether' which is far removed from the brutal, tragic and unjust incidents which he is involved in. You'll see what I mean by the 'ether'(Not really a reference to recreational drugs!).

If you are considering whether to buy it or not, please do not hesitate. I mean, if I have mislead you, then sure you can sell it on. No regets!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 December 2003
Shunji Iwai's visually sumptuous and achingly beautiful cinematic style is employed to stunning effect, in what can perhaps be described as the definitive 'coming-of-age' drama to appear in Japan. The genuinly moving story is played out to a backdrop of vibrant colour depicting both the dark and light of rural Japanese culture. The use of Debussy's romantic piano pieces to highlight the shockingly brutal reality of the film is quite masterful, as is the skillful touch of blending this with the etheral tones of the fictional Diva Lily Chou-Chou. The film handles strong issues seen through the eyes of Yuichi, the introvert central character, with flair and compassion, allowing both the actions and consequences to be seen in full. As a piece of cinema it is mezmerizing, yet as a social comment it is inspired. All About Lily Chou-Chou is truly a masterpiece of modern film making, it's hauntingly powerful images long remaining in memory, a testament to the films brilliance.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 June 2011
The two stars refers only to the transfer which has been set-up for a 4:3 TV and can't be watched in full 1.78:1 on a widescreen TV. Why? Because in their infinite wisdom, Optimum transferred Lily Chou-Chou in 4:3 letterbox format and then hard-burned subtitles with the second line falling below the film. Oh, and the transfer is also interlaced - far from ideal for progressive displays. So when you view Lily on your widescreen plasma or LCD you'll have to accept a tiny picture in the middle of the screen to be able to see the second line of the subtitles.

If the R1 DVD is as specified on Amazon (16;9 anamorphic) and if the subtitles are soft, go for that version rather than this one.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)