Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
173
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 February 2010
The most brutal film experience I've ever had. It's main purpose is to make violence the central point of the film. It starts with a despicable violent and truly sickening act, then goes back in time to what is the beginning of an evening, when everything was all la-di-da and happy. Most messages in this movie are about acts of male sexuality, all of which contain a hideous opposite. Every positive male sexual act also has a negation and any homoerotic act has a homophobic version; it is a horrible illustration of men's attitudes and of the penis itself.

This film is designed to make the viewer suffer. It tries to hide that aim behind some pretty images but in truth this is a thinly-veiled disguise if not a thinly-veiled attempt. This arty-fartyness is really a bluff to try and give the film an intellectual purpose. Don't be fooled. It's just an excuse to shock and brutalize the viewer like the victims of the story. I imagine the director sniggering, like a naughty boy, as he watches the faces of the audience; it's a mean attitude and a mean concept culminating into a very mean film.

The opening, non-stop twirling and twisting of the camera as it descends into the hellish gay club "Rectum", gives you some idea of the homophobia and the head-ache you are about to experience. The juddering noisiness quickly grounds the viewer down as a migraine would. I think this is a rough idea of the lack of respect the director has for his audience. They are like his characters; nothing more than objects to be abused and dumped. I felt violated.

I read that when Noe, the director, talked about filming the 9-minute rape scene he slowed the camera right down to a stand-still as he felt he would otherwise get aroused! Add to this the scene in the gay club that Noe takes part in as an extra, masturbating (literally) as he goads the beginnings of a male rape and then goads the murderer into action. If that doesn't say it all I don't know what does.

This really is a filthy, impotent little film by a filthy, impotent little man.
22 Comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
I've made more sense out of 'Skid mark Dave' the local wino than I did this film.

If you've ever trod on a upturned plug in the middle of the night while going to the loo, then you'll understand how painful this film was!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2013
overall, it's an awesome movie, but when it comes to this dvd, the quality is very poor, almost as if it was a bootleg copy.

I've also tried comparing it to a downloaded copy on my computer, still doesn't even has nothing to do. The is cropped and the quality is beyond grainy.

Have been waiting for this dvd for almost 3 weeks, for nothing, just to find out this.. Really Disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2015
Don't be taken in by the hype - this film is garbage.There is nothing here of value for the movie lover or for the film-art lover.
Direction is tedious(if you can call it direction),acting is third rate,story is juvenile.
Don't waste your time or your money.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2003
Powerfull, brutal, tender, inocent, poetry in motion and chaos all around.
If you haven't seen this, you haven't seen nothing yet.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2006
One wonders what the director was trying to achieve with this film. Perhaps it's a critique of an increasingly immoral society. Perhaps it's an attack on an audience that has grown desensitised to the power of cinema. Perhaps it's an attack on the way that violence is shown on screen.

I tend to think that this film is merely a sordid display of macho one-upmanship. Because Noe isn't concerned with the lasting effects of sexual violence upon women, he is far more interested in how such violence perpetuates yet more male violence. If he were at all concerned with the plight of the victims of sexual violence then surely he would have stayed with the Bellucci character following her assault.

It's an undeniably powerful film and contains scenes that are likely to stick in your mind like fishhooks. But I don't think it adds anything to the debate about violence against women. And if it doesn't do that, then what's the point of this film?
33 Comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2014
The film is well made, however the Rape scene is truly sexually violent, hats off to the actors in this scene for the realism it relays to the viewer. A film you won't forget in a hurry.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2011
This film started at the end, and finished at the beginning. I personally think that this just made the film unnecessarily complicated and very confusing.

I still cannot understand the very first scene, where a naked middle-aged man is sprawling on a bed and talking to another man. What was that all about? Who were they, apart from occupying a flat above The Rectum nightclub?

The parts of the film where the camera just moved around in never-ending circles, not showing anything, with a dreadful siren-like noise droning on and on and on was also completely baffling and unnecessary.

I had to watch the scene three times where Pierre batters someone in the nightclub (but not the man who raped Alex) to try to see what was actually going on, and to try to make sense of it. On my third attempt I could just about fathom the rapist standing smugly watching the innocent man's face getting smashed to smithereens. The lighting effects were dreadful.

The actual rape scene was graphic and horrific and left me feeling dirty and very uncomfortable for having witnessed it.

If only the lighting had been better, if only the story had been clearer, if only the film had gone from beginning to end. Too many if onlys for my liking. The film was rubbish, but for people who like to watch extreme violence, I guess this tops the bill.
33 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2007
Many posters on here who have written negative reviews about this film just don't seem to get it. They focus on the graphic physical and sexual violence displayed in the film and tend to condem the film for its content rather than understanding it.
The film is a love story, but rather than display this story of love in the traditional sense, the film uses the darker destructive side of human nature to compare and contrast against the beauty of the young couples love.
The violence spoken of is extreme, but it is not pervasive throughout the film. It is restricted to a small part of the film and used for dramatic affect to focus the mind and reinforce the contrast as outlined above.
Great film.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2014
Great film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)